Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
genesispro
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 12:33 pm

LHG 60 does not connect at 2150m with los and perfect weather :(

Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:01 pm

Did anyone made it work at such distance?
It won't even scan it at all!
Password is correct because when i have them next to each other it works/connects.
Any magic solution?
I want to remove an overcrowded 5ghz link which only does 15mbs when it used to do over 70mbs
 
User avatar
bpwl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1252
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 1:16 am

Re: LHG 60 does not connect at 2150m with los and perfect weather :(

Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:44 pm

"The effective point-to-point distance between two LHG 60G units is up to 1500 meters, point-to-multipoint – up to 800 meters." (https://mikrotik.com/product/lhg_60g )

"... up to ..." not very promising ;-(
 
sup5
Member
Member
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 12:37 am

Re: LHG 60 does not connect at 2150m with los and perfect weather :(

Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:46 pm

Also make sure to set the channel to the highest frequency. This channel will slightly escape the atmospheric attenuation.
 
User avatar
genesispro
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 12:33 pm

Re: LHG 60 does not connect at 2150m with los and perfect weather :(

Tue Oct 20, 2020 9:44 am

It was worth a try... if only I could achieve 20-30% of its capability at that distance I would be excited!
Does anyone know if it could improve in the near future with a software upgrade like in the past with the wap60g?
It would be great... I left the antennas on the spot waiting for something to change and hopefully use them there!

Marketing wise a photo of the LHG60 with the caldera and the volcano of Santorini in the background would be great ;)
 
User avatar
bpwl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1252
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 1:16 am

Re: LHG 60 does not connect at 2150m with los and perfect weather :(

Tue Oct 20, 2020 10:34 am

 
timotei
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: LHG 60 does not connect at 2150m with los and perfect weather :(

Tue Oct 20, 2020 12:01 pm

Running Wireless Wire Dish 2080m, today is snowing and signal -60, speed 1155. Normally -58 and some 1800-1900.
Also 1600m with -55 and 2310 at 64800, even in same snow as above.
 
User avatar
genesispro
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 12:33 pm

Re: LHG 60 does not connect at 2150m with los and perfect weather :(

Tue Oct 20, 2020 2:48 pm

Latest stable 6.47.4, should I try testing 6.48beta48?
 
User avatar
genesispro
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 12:33 pm

Re: LHG 60 does not connect at 2150m with los and perfect weather :(

Tue Oct 20, 2020 2:50 pm

could you tell me the version that you are using? I couldn't even scan it at all!
Any special considerations for installation? It is my first LHG installation
Running Wireless Wire Dish 2080m, today is snowing and signal -60, speed 1155. Normally -58 and some 1800-1900.
Also 1600m with -55 and 2310 at 64800, even in same snow as above.
 
timotei
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: LHG 60 does not connect at 2150m with los and perfect weather :(

Tue Oct 20, 2020 8:24 pm

could you tell me the version that you are using? I couldn't even scan it at all!
Any special considerations for installation? It is my first LHG installation
They have been up and running for some time, and not upgraded. Versions are 6.44beta61 (1600m) and 6.46.3 (2080m).
Select highest available channel, 64800 or even better 66000 if legal in your country. (Search forum for 66000 to find CLI commands)
Originally setup with standard LHG mount, later added solidMOUNT in one end of each link. Not really needed, but easier to adjust in small steps.
 
Tapiya
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2014 12:20 pm
Location: Lagos
Contact:

Re: LHG 60 does not connect at 2150m with los and perfect weather :(

Mon Dec 07, 2020 6:33 pm

Good afternoon guys,

I know this has gone on for sometime but I have a problem with the Wireless Wire nRAY, I wanted to use it at a distance of about 900meters clean line of sight, I had two units actually one is to be used on a link that is about 1.8KM but none of them could connect when I brought the devices down they connected but when you take them to sight they do not connect at all, and its not about the line of sight because I could see the other end with my eyes and could take a picture of my climber on the platform so am wondering if there is something that needs to be done I upgraded the software to 6.47.1 wondering if that could be the reason I really need to get those devices working and I will appreciate any help I can get to get those working

Thanks in advance
 
velk1001
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 4:01 pm

Re: LHG 60 does not connect at 2150m with los and perfect weather :(

Tue Dec 08, 2020 4:23 pm

Hi Tapiya,

Could i ask does your Nray show degree's over 0.8 in any direction? or have i got a faulty unit????
I noticed the aiming tool is a total waste of plastic as it does not point near the correct direction

Regards

Paul
 
Tapiya
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2014 12:20 pm
Location: Lagos
Contact:

Re: LHG 60 does not connect at 2150m with los and perfect weather :(

Fri Dec 11, 2020 10:50 am

Hi Tapiya,

Could i ask does your Nray show degree's over 0.8 in any direction? or have i got a faulty unit????
I noticed the aiming tool is a total waste of plastic as it does not point near the correct direction

Regards

Paul
Hi Paul,

Thanks for the response, it does not show anything at all.

I have tried everything but nothing seems to be working.
 
velk1001
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 4:01 pm

Re: LHG 60 does not connect at 2150m with los and perfect weather :(

Sat Dec 12, 2020 3:57 pm

I must say these units are very hard to align and the plastic alignment tool just forget it

In my case the antenna at the remote end is -1 degree but the antenna is tilted backwards + 2 degree which is strange, i thought it would be pointing down -1 degree like my 5ghz link does.

I hope this helps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bpwl and 46 guests