Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
franco
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2005 6:26 pm
Location: Germany

WDS disconnect /connect Problem

Thu Jun 28, 2007 4:04 pm

Hello,

I have a great problem.
My customers (MT in client wds mode) are connected to the Acess point (MT) with WDS.
If a customer connect at the AP now, because he had lost the connection to the AP or he turned the terminal equipment on, all other users get a very high ping and time out.

What can be this and how I can remove this fault?

Sorry for my bad english.
 
believewireless
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:30 pm

Re: WDS disconnect /connect Problem

Sun Jul 01, 2007 2:56 am

We see the same problem. Mikrotik told us to turn on RSTP but that didn't help either. We still have an open ticket on it.
 
User avatar
ivaring
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: WDS disconnect /connect Problem

Sun Jul 01, 2007 11:36 am

Did u take attention 2 your SNR int this case?.

I had same problem with much power on antennas or a wireless card.

Regards.
 
franco
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2005 6:26 pm
Location: Germany

Re: WDS disconnect /connect Problem

Sun Jul 01, 2007 1:37 pm

I look for SNR.
It's normal.
I don't have much power on Antennas.
I hope Mikrotik find a solution for this problem.
 
Diganet
Member
Member
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 9:30 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: WDS disconnect /connect Problem

Mon Jul 02, 2007 2:27 am

We see the same problem. Mikrotik told us to turn on RSTP but that didn't help either. We still have an open ticket on it.
I see the same problem whenever a WDS is joining. I get 4-5 seconds of very high pings on that particular radio (SR5).

/Henrik
 
believewireless
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:30 pm

Re: WDS disconnect /connect Problem

Mon Jul 02, 2007 2:48 am

The problem is not SNR related. As has been mentioned, just having a client associate causes the problem. The more clients connected, the longer the timeout or high ping times. We are seeing up to 20 seconds and longer where the radios can't be pings.

Another frustrating problem is that if you have multiple APs plugged into a simple switch, every AP connected to the switch will have this problem! We setup VLANs on one of our switches to fix this problem, but we'd like Mikrotik to get it fixed in the AP so it doesn't happen at all.
 
Diganet
Member
Member
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 9:30 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: WDS disconnect /connect Problem

Mon Jul 02, 2007 12:50 pm

The problem is not SNR related. As has been mentioned, just having a client associate causes the problem. The more clients connected, the longer the timeout or high ping times. We are seeing up to 20 seconds and longer where the radios can't be pings.

Another frustrating problem is that if you have multiple APs plugged into a simple switch, every AP connected to the switch will have this problem! We setup VLANs on one of our switches to fix this problem, but we'd like Mikrotik to get it fixed in the AP so it doesn't happen at all.
I have 7 RB532a's connected to one switch and when this happens it is only the single radio on a single 532 board that experience timeouts. Maybe because everything is routed!?

/Henrik
 
franco
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2005 6:26 pm
Location: Germany

Re: WDS disconnect /connect Problem

Mon Jul 02, 2007 9:41 pm

I see the same problem whenever a WDS is joining. I get 4-5 seconds of very high pings on that particular radio (SR5).
This is a big VoIP problem!!!!
 
believewireless
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:30 pm

Re: WDS disconnect /connect Problem

Wed Jul 04, 2007 6:19 am

Please be sure to contact Mikrotik support about this and let them know it's a problem. The responses we've received back about this from our trouble tickets indicate they seem to think this is normal behavior.
 
believewireless
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:30 pm

Re: WDS disconnect /connect Problem

Fri Jul 06, 2007 2:39 pm

In working with Mikrotik support, I think I've narrowed down what may be the cause of the problem. Clients in station-wds mode are what are causing the problem. So, if you are using a CPE other than Mikrotik, you probably won't see this issue.

The only solution I think might help is putting the CPE in pseudobridge mode using V3. I've noticed that this doesn't add a WDS interface on the AP when the client associates. Actually testing this in the field has been an issue since we haven't found a V3 Beta that would work on RB112, RB153, RB133s. We did install Beta 10 on a RB133 without a wireless card that is still running so I'll test that and see if it helps.
 
User avatar
ivaring
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: WDS disconnect /connect Problem

Fri Jul 13, 2007 10:08 pm

The problem is not SNR related. As has been mentioned, just having a client associate causes the problem. The more clients connected, the longer the timeout or high ping times. We are seeing up to 20 seconds and longer where the radios can't be pings.

Another frustrating problem is that if you have multiple APs plugged into a simple switch, every AP connected to the switch will have this problem! We setup VLANs on one of our switches to fix this problem, but we'd like Mikrotik to get it fixed in the AP so it doesn't happen at all.
How wrong ar u man. SNR is critical.
 
believewireless
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:30 pm

Re: WDS disconnect /connect Problem

Sat Jul 14, 2007 12:52 am

How right I am. A customer with a -61dBm signal and SNR of 30 unplugs their radio and plugs it back in. EVERY radio on the AP cannot be pinged or has high latency for 20-30 seconds. How is SNR the problem?

Also, every other AP connected to the switch sees the same issue. SNR has nothing to do with radios connected to other APs!

Routed networks won't see this, only networks using station-wds and Mikrotik as CPE experience this problem.
 
User avatar
airstream
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 6:33 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: WDS disconnect /connect Problem

Sat Jul 14, 2007 9:38 am

Is this on SR2 cards?
 
believewireless
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:30 pm

Re: WDS disconnect /connect Problem

Fri Jul 20, 2007 5:08 pm

We are using R52s, CM9s, and SR5s.
 
User avatar
ivaring
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: WDS disconnect /connect Problem

Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:06 am

How right I am. A customer with a -61dBm signal and SNR of 30 unplugs their radio and plugs it back in. EVERY radio on the AP cannot be pinged or has high latency for 20-30 seconds. How is SNR the problem?

Also, every other AP connected to the switch sees the same issue. SNR has nothing to do with radios connected to other APs!

Routed networks won't see this, only networks using station-wds and Mikrotik as CPE experience this problem.
Okay, u are right........ if u say....

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: InoX and 34 guests