Community discussions

MikroTik App

quarky42
just joined
Topic Author

Possible Setup? Point-to-Point WiFi Bridge - NetBox 5 - VPN Encrypted

Thu Dec 03, 2020 10:02 pm

Can I get help understanding if an automatic VPN link can be established in RouterOS between two point-to-point NetBox 5's that are simply bridging a couple of computers over to an existing LAN please?

I have basic experience with RouterOS and have setup some basic features such as being able to VPN into my own router from the outside world, port forwarding, and a little bit of QOS prioritization for VOIP traffic. I am VERY far from an expert, but with a bit of help I can learn.

CONCEPT / SETUP:
Building 1 has an LAN network connection that reaches the outside world and a bunch of computers that connect to it already.
Building 2 has 2 computers that need to be bridged over to Building 1's LAN, just over a mile away.

A radio link between those two buildings should be pretty easy with line-of-sight and will be established with minimal power to get a reliable link. I would use 2 NetBox 5's to achieve this (yes, there would likely be cheaper solutions, but the 5 degree beamwidth of the mANT30 PA is desirable as part of this setup and the added one-time costs are negligible in this situation long-term.) I've looked at the cheaper radios and the wider FOV is not desirable in this situation.

So, given 2 NetBox 5's bridging the LAN from Building 1 over to Building 2, is it possible for the 2 radios to be running that bridge across an automatically established VPN link across the wifi connection? When Radio 1 connects to Radio 2, I'd like them to auto-connect a VPN link between the two of them, and then route all bridged traffic between the two locations, with the VPN being added security on top of the WPA2 / NV2 schemes as well?