Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Giftslayer
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:23 pm

Bonding setup help

Sun Dec 06, 2020 10:54 am

hi all

I have a setup I want to do where I bond 2 CPE's to one AP is this possible and if so how would I go abode doing it.

I was thinking of using the interface bonding in mikrotik.

id like to increase the speed.
in my mind this would increase download but not upload that much but that's ok with me

I'll attach a bad drawing of wat my idea is.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
Giftslayer
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:23 pm

Re: Bonding setup help

Thu Dec 10, 2020 6:30 am

Anyone?
 
vladimirslk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:03 am
Location: Estonia, Tallinn
Contact:

Re: Bonding setup help

Thu Dec 10, 2020 5:16 pm

bonding is done for bridge. income from taking from same device 2 routes=0.
in your language/drawing - 2x AP 2x CPE and then wiki ..
 
accarda
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2019 4:06 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Bonding setup help

Sat Dec 12, 2020 8:38 am

Hello,
from your diagram it's not a bonding setup, but a load balancing one.
With bonding you will increase the capacity of a single Ethernet line by combining more than one interface from one device with the same interfaces on the main router.
In your case you need to load balance the traffic from the 2 CPEs into the hAP; this is not going to be the sum of ETH1+ETH2, but traffic gets spread across ETH1 and ETH2 based on concurrent streams generated by different users on hAP lan.
You can read more about this subject here: https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:PCC

Armando
 
Giftslayer
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:23 pm

Re: Bonding setup help

Tue Dec 15, 2020 4:38 pm

ok well thx

I hoped bonding would work Bc its the same network

i usually use PCC for 2 separate ISPs

is there any way i can do this so that one connection from
phone/laptop can get the full bandwidth from both links?
 
Giftslayer
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:23 pm

Re: Bonding setup help

Tue Dec 15, 2020 5:02 pm

just to add this setup is all my equipment the ISP router is a mikrotik router and its my router I have access to is also
 
accarda
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2019 4:06 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Bonding setup help

Tue Dec 15, 2020 7:42 pm

In term of port aggregation the use case it's different from what you are looking for.
Let's say your CPE does have 2 ETHs=100mbits but your radio link is capable of 300mbits, then you can limit this bottleneck by bonding both ETH1+ETH2 at CPE and connecting 2 cables to your router you can get almost 200mbits capacity on WAN and keep up with your radio link.

On the case that you are looking for, other than load balancing, you can see just for study purpose this lecture about VLAN bonding where you can aggregate traffic from different devices in your network. But this will imply adding switches and extra things, which I don't think is what you are interested into.
It's just for reading and learning.

https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:C ... with_Bonds

Armando.
 
accarda
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2019 4:06 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Bonding setup help

Tue Dec 15, 2020 7:50 pm

Also this link could be useful to see what bonding is about and some use case scenario to get some idea based on your equipment.

https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual: ... e/Bonding

As said in the article it's a matter of load balancing and failover setup that you will get.
You can try to check on implementing mangle rules in your hAP to manage such load balancing with your current setup, otherwise you will need to manage this with the use of some switch, like in the shown cases.

Armando
 
Giftslayer
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:23 pm

Re: Bonding setup help

Wed Dec 16, 2020 11:29 am

Thx i read this thou and get back to you after i done some experimenting
 
Giftslayer
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:23 pm

Re: Bonding setup help

Fri Dec 18, 2020 6:55 pm

Ok i found something interesting that seam to work for my confg

i will make instructions on what i did then you all can test it or if you know the config, maby tell me what issues i can encounter with it.
 
Giftslayer
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:23 pm

Re: Bonding setup help

Sat Dec 19, 2020 2:45 pm

ok here is my config as best as I can explain.

I have 2 433RouterBoards.

the station RouterBoard have 2 wireless cards.

the AP RouterBoard have one radio card.

AP ssid is Test.

station Both radio cards connect to Test.

Wireless cards are NOT in a bridge.

Ip are dhcp clients.

Bonding is running on bonding RR.

the are 4 vlan in total 2 on station, 2 on AP.

ok what I did was connect both the stations wireless cards to the same radio card on the AP

Then I made 2 vlan's on the station. Vlan1 ID 501 is attaches to Wlan1. Vlan2 ID 502 is attached to Wlan2. Then I bonded Vlan1 and Vlan2 together And added the bonding interface into a bridge with the ether ports.

Then on the AP I added the Vlan1 ID 501 on Wlan1. next I added Vlan2 ID 502 to the same Wlan1, Bonded Vlan1 and Vlan2 and added the bonding interface to a bridge with the ether ports

Remember Wlan's are not in Bridge they are acting as slaves to the Vlan's.


with this I get a downloads increase and a small upload increase with no complaining abode loops in the log
on the station I get 7 to 9M download and a 1.5M upload per radio card(not strong radio cards)
if I run both vlan links at the same time with this bonding setup I get 18 to 20m download and a 3.5M upload.

was this ever done before what issues can I expect from this setup.
If this is a workable idea how can I improve on it?

Hope my explanation makes sense.
If theirs anything you need to understand better tell me what it is or how to give it and ill send it.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 39 guests