Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
markthepadrone
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 08, 2019 6:37 pm

LtAP with Verizon

Fri Dec 11, 2020 6:53 pm

Hello all, I'm new to this forum but have been using Mikrotik for some time now. . .

My question is: has anyone used the LtAP with a Verizon certified LTE modem? I'm not locked into the LtAP but I like the form factor. The modem must be Verizon certified. No sim switching.

Thanks for any help.
 
User avatar
jspool
Member
Member
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 4:06 am
Location: Oregon

Re: LtAP with Verizon

Sat Dec 12, 2020 1:48 am

Approved / Certified device does not mean it will work without a SIM switch. The reason is that the IMEI's are loaded into the carriers database by the final device manufacturer not the modem manufacturer. The modem could be used in a phone, ATA, or Hotspot so the carrier would have no way of knowing how to treat the device until its IMEI is loaded and classified as a hotspot etc.

I use Quectel EC25-AF & the EM12-G modems with Verizon. While they are listed as certified & approved modules their IMEI not being loaded and classified prevents direct activation. Thus why you typically switch SIMs. Been down this road many times. I import modems directly from Quectel and they work quite well. Currently Sprint is the only US carrier that I know of that won't allow a SIM switch. If you use a MVNO you generally have much more flexibility as I don't typically see such restrictions on initial device IMEI for successful activation.
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: LtAP with Verizon

Sat Dec 12, 2020 3:05 am

jspool have right.
At some help project I participient in USA I can confirm:
Fibicom - no documentation, no proper support - not used.
Telit LM940/960 - works but not have a Cell Lock feature but works with Verizon & ATT & Sprint but T-Mobile at General firmware give Danied and it's hard do run without contact with TMobile Businnes channel.
Quectel EC25-AF & EC25-AFX & EP06-A & the EM12-G - they just work.
MTCNA + MTCRE + MTCINE | ~600 users at ~150 RouterBoards in EMEA | Telegram: @SiB_PL
WinBox Tip: F6 works as ALT+TAB | Gliffy.com - free network schematic | prnt.sc - free ScreenShot software
At vacation until 15.jan.2021
 
gotsprings
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1039
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 9:30 pm

Re: LtAP with Verizon

Mon Dec 14, 2020 12:22 am

Buy a static IP from VZW for the SIM... Then it will work in a Mikrotik radio.

But I gotta tell you... In the US Mikrotik Cellular radios don't support the most commonly used VZW frequencies.

So I don't bother anymore...
I just pony up for the Cradlepoint.
"It ain't what you don't know that gets you into trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so."
Mark Twain

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 38 guests