Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
someone2
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 9:52 pm

Ptp v.s p2mp

Thu Dec 31, 2020 8:04 am

Hello
1.How to config p2p and p2mp wireless in mikrotik
2. How to convert p2p to p2mp and p2mp to p2p
Thanks
 
User avatar
bpwl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1221
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 1:16 am

Re: Ptp v.s p2mp

Thu Dec 31, 2020 3:45 pm

PtP and PtMP is the same technology in 2.4GHz and 5 GHz. You have an AP and one or more stations.

There is a license difference between PtP and PtMP.
As for PtP there is only one client (station) , and a special mode "bridge" for the AP side exists. "Bridge" only requires license level 3. (e.g. SXTsq 5 ac). Only one station can connect.
To connect more stations to the AP, mode "AP bridge" is needed. This requires RouterOS level 4. (e.g. SXT SA5)
Of course PtMP mode (AP bridge) can be used for PtP installation.
To use a level 3 PtP as PtMP, a license upgrade does not exist. You need to buy a full license level 4, and that is relative expensive compared to an already level 4 new device.

PtP setup can be done with "AP bridge" (or "Bridge" with only level 3), and clients in "Station bridge" mode. There is normally no need to use WDS (unless you want interface specific filtering).
The "Station bridge" can be set on protocol "nv2 nstreme 802.11", and will follow whatever is set at "AP bridge"/"bridge" it connects to. (This can be "802.11" or "nstreme" or "nv2")

There is also the 60GHz PtP and PtMP. (No experience with this yet).
 
someone2
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 9:52 pm

Re: Ptp v.s p2mp

Thu Dec 31, 2020 11:30 pm

Thanks for complete explanation.
1.You said that we can setup p2p with ap bridge. Could you tell more about it.
2. What happens if we Change ap bridge to bridge (for security reasons and changing the conection to p2p )
 
User avatar
bpwl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1221
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 1:16 am

Re: Ptp v.s p2mp

Fri Jan 01, 2021 12:58 am

1.You said that we can setup p2p with ap bridge. Could you tell more about it.
.
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:W ... tion_Modes
.
Mode station-bridge
This mode is safe to use for L2 bridging and is the preferred mode unless there are specific reasons to use station-wds mode.

.
The setup is very simple : create a bridge in each of the P2P or P2MP devices and add ethernet and WLAN interfaces to that bridge. All ethernet ports on all devices will be one L2 broadcast domain.
.
Do not disable 'bridge mode' in the WLAN wireless "AP-bridge" or "bridge" configuration.
Disable 'station roaming' on the "station bridge" (as there is only one AP to connect to, repeated scanning for a better AP has no benefits and weakens the connection while scanning)
Stay away from any "pseudo" bridge implementation
WDS misses quite some speed optimizations that are used in the 802.11n and 802.11ac AP-to-station connection
Mode "AP bridge" and "bridge" could be on a virtual WLAN (e.g. where the master WLAN is a "station" or another "AP")
.
2. What happens if we Change ap bridge to bridge (for security reasons and changing the conection to p2p )
There is no benefit by reducing "AP bridge" to "bridge" if you are allowed to use "AP-bridge".
As far as I remember the SSID of the "bridge" is not visible (hidden SSID ?). Everything else remains the same.
.
This bridge-method does not work with non-Mikrotik devices in this P2P/P2MP-link setup ! (but you can add other brand devices to the ethernet ports)
 
someone2
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 9:52 pm

Re: Ptp v.s p2mp

Fri Jan 01, 2021 10:28 am

1. Is it possible to use routing instead of bridge for ether and wireless? Routing to for preventing L2 broadcast ?
2. I mean that we can change ap bridge to bridge for removing p2mp possibility? Is it reasoble?
 
User avatar
bpwl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1221
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 1:16 am

Re: Ptp v.s p2mp

Fri Jan 01, 2021 12:22 pm

1. Is it possible to use routing instead of bridge for ether and wireless? Routing to for preventing L2 broadcast ?
Yes , it would even make the setup simpler and more flexible. You wouldn't need the wifi bridge connection. It can be disabled on either the AP or station side, or on both sides.
On the AP side by disabling 'bridge mode'
On the station side by choosing "station" and not "station bridge".
Then you do the routing as needed.
Even non-Mikrotik wireless devices can join this PtMP.

Remember that quite some protocols need broadcasts. (Bonjour, mDNS, NBT (Netbios over TCP), discovery protocols like Chromecast, many Home Automation devices,....)
Broadcasts can be reduced by removing the 'forward' in the default wireless setup or in the access list in the AP where appropriate.
In multiport bridges, setting all ports on the same 'horizon' (except for the uplink) will also eliminate sideways broadcast propagation.


2. I mean that we can change ap bridge to bridge for removing p2mp possibility? Is it reasoble?
Yes you can. Is it reasonable? I would not do it personally. Have been too long in security. The intruder could be in and lock you out.
Set tight security. Use WPA2/AES-CMM , long password. Hide "SSID" . Set "access list" in the AP , with MAC addresses. Extend the log and collect in a syslog (/system logging add topics=wireless action=syslog,memory) . Check the log from time to time.
 
someone2
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 9:52 pm

Re: Ptp v.s p2mp

Fri Jan 01, 2021 5:33 pm

Thanks alot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], bpwl and 46 guests