Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
maiios
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2020 6:54 pm

Poor network performance with wireless bridge

Mon Jan 04, 2021 2:40 am

I have set my RB2011UAS-2HND-IN up to be a wireless access point that I can use at a hotel. While I have it working, I am getting internet speeds of less than 1 Mbps, and doing a file transfer between two laptops basically kills the internet. Connecting directly to the hotel wireless gives me speeds of 10-15 Mbps.

Essentially, I took a factory reset of 6.48, and did the following:
* removed wlan1 from the bridge
* connected wlan1 to the wifi (station mode)
* created a wlan2 (ap bridge)
* added wlan2 to the existing bridge
* put a dhcp client on wlan1

It works, but not very well. The CPU doesn't seem overly taxed either. What am I doing wrong?
[admin@MikroTik] > export 
# jan/03/2021 19:22:58 by RouterOS 6.43.8
# software id = PU2E-I8KV
#
# model = 2011UAS-2HnD
# serial number = 419F022D473E
/interface bridge
add admin-mac=D4:CA:6D:E6:47:7D auto-mac=no comment=defconf name=bridge
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] band=2ghz-b/g/n disabled=no distance=indoors ssid=xxxxx wireless-protocol=802.11
/interface list
add comment=defconf name=WAN
add comment=defconf name=LAN
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
add authentication-types=wpa-psk,wpa2-psk management-protection=allowed mode=dynamic-keys name="repeater" supplicant-identity=MikroTik wpa-pre-shared-key=starzerg wpa2-pre-shared-key=xxxxxx
/interface wireless
add disabled=no mac-address=D6:CA:6D:E6:47:86 master-interface=wlan1 name=wlan2 security-profile="repeater" ssid=xxxxxx wds-default-bridge=bridge wps-mode=disabled
/ip pool
add name=default-dhcp ranges=192.168.88.10-192.168.88.254
/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=default-dhcp disabled=no interface=bridge name=defconf
/tool user-manager customer
set admin access=own-routers,own-users,own-profiles,own-limits,config-payment-gw
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether2
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether3
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether4
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether5
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether6
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether7
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether8
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether9
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether10
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=sfp1
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether1
add bridge=bridge interface=wlan2
/ip neighbor discovery-settings
set discover-interface-list=LAN
/interface list member
add comment=defconf interface=bridge list=LAN
add comment=defconf interface=wlan1 list=WAN
/ip address
add address=192.168.88.1/24 comment=defconf interface=bridge network=192.168.88.0
/ip dhcp-client
add comment=defconf dhcp-options=hostname,clientid disabled=no interface=wlan1
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=192.168.88.0/24 comment=defconf gateway=192.168.88.1
/ip dns
set allow-remote-requests=yes
/ip dns static
add address=192.168.88.1 name=router.lan
/ip firewall filter
add action=accept chain=input comment="defconf: accept established,related,untracked" connection-state=established,related,untracked
add action=drop chain=input comment="defconf: drop invalid" connection-state=invalid
add action=accept chain=input comment="defconf: accept ICMP" protocol=icmp
add action=drop chain=input comment="defconf: drop all not coming from LAN" in-interface-list=!LAN
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept in ipsec policy" ipsec-policy=in,ipsec
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept out ipsec policy" ipsec-policy=out,ipsec
add action=fasttrack-connection chain=forward comment="defconf: fasttrack" connection-state=established,related
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept established,related, untracked" connection-state=established,related,untracked
add action=drop chain=forward comment="defconf: drop invalid" connection-state=invalid
add action=drop chain=forward comment="defconf:  drop all from WAN not DSTNATed" connection-nat-state=!dstnat connection-state=new in-interface-list=WAN
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment="defconf: masquerade" ipsec-policy=out,none out-interface-list=WAN
/lcd interface pages
set 0 interfaces=wlan1
/system clock
set time-zone-name=America/New_York
/system lcd
set contrast=0 enabled=no port=parallel type=24x4
/system lcd page
set time disabled=yes display-time=5s
set resources disabled=yes display-time=5s
set uptime disabled=yes display-time=5s
set packets disabled=yes display-time=5s
set bits disabled=yes display-time=5s
set version disabled=yes display-time=5s
set identity disabled=yes display-time=5s
set bridge disabled=yes display-time=5s
set wlan2 disabled=yes display-time=5s
set wlan1 disabled=yes display-time=5s
set sfp1 disabled=yes display-time=5s
set ether1 disabled=yes display-time=5s
set ether2 disabled=yes display-time=5s
set ether3 disabled=yes display-time=5s
set ether4 disabled=yes display-time=5s
set ether5 disabled=yes display-time=5s
set ether6 disabled=yes display-time=5s
set ether7 disabled=yes display-time=5s
set ether8 disabled=yes display-time=5s
set ether9 disabled=yes display-time=5s
set ether10 disabled=yes display-time=5s
/tool graphing interface
add
/tool mac-server
set allowed-interface-list=LAN
/tool mac-server mac-winbox
set allowed-interface-list=LAN
/tool user-manager database
set db-path=user-manager
 
quackyo
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 10:14 am

Re: Poor network performance with wireless bridge  [SOLVED]

Mon Jan 04, 2021 4:40 pm

My guess is that you are trying to get your wlan adapter to do two things at once. on a crowded frequency (the hotel frequency).
Repeaters don't work very well.

Is speed OK when using RB2011 as a client for the same hotel network? (disable wlan2, use cabled connection to rb2011 which is connected to hotel wifi).
 
kalamaja
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed May 23, 2018 3:13 pm

Re: Poor network performance with wireless bridge

Mon Jan 04, 2021 4:50 pm

What speed do you get when you connect directly to the hotel Wifi? 1Mbps/client sounds quite usual for hotel networks.
 
maiios
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2020 6:54 pm

Re: Poor network performance with wireless bridge

Mon Jan 04, 2021 7:59 pm

My guess is that you are trying to get your wlan adapter to do two things at once. on a crowded frequency (the hotel frequency).
Repeaters don't work very well.

Is speed OK when using RB2011 as a client for the same hotel network? (disable wlan2, use cabled connection to rb2011 which is connected to hotel wifi).
Good point. It did improve when I did that, so it must be that. Thanks.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests