Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
MarTux
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Casablanca - Morocco

MT Routers as a NLOS equipement???

Tue Aug 07, 2007 2:53 pm

Hi all
We deploy wireless Networks (indoor and outdoor).
Our main problem with Outdoor links is obstacles in urban areas.
I wonder if MT product support NLOS, if yes how can we do that.
If not what is the alternatif??
Any ideas??
Tell me about your succes experiences with NLOS on MT products??
Thx
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6623
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: MT Routers as a NLOS equipement???

Tue Aug 07, 2007 4:01 pm

RouterOS supports 802.11 a/b/g standards, look at the standard specification/description to get more information about this topic.

Clear line of sight is necessary for links.
 
User avatar
MarTux
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Casablanca - Morocco

Re: MT Routers as a NLOS equipement???

Tue Aug 07, 2007 10:54 pm

That's exactely what i'am looking for: specifications and description of NLOS Technology.
I wander how work NLOS Products, like RedLine for example??
Is there any special technology to make NLOS Links??
Is just WiMax technology able to make NLOS??
Can we make NLOS Link with Wifi Products??

If any body have documentation about this technology share it with us
Thx
 
User avatar
Gunzoid
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 6:21 am
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Contact:

Re: MT Routers as a NLOS equipement???

Wed Aug 08, 2007 4:23 am

Your basic choices are 5 Ghz, 2.4 Ghz and 900 Mhz.
The lower the frequency, the better the obstacle penetrating ability.
5 Ghz is really only good for unobstructed line of sight.
2.4 will do a few trees or a couple of walls close in.
900 Mhz will go through quite a few trees or 4-5 walls.
You can use MT on a Routerboard to power all all of the above radios.
What determines your success is radiated power and receive sensitivity (radio card+antenna) on both the AP and Client and the amount of obstruction in the fresnel zone.
 
webspinner
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 3:38 am

Re: MT Routers as a NLOS equipement???

Wed Aug 08, 2007 6:05 am

We're just setting up a 900mhz WISP with the SR9's in a very rural area, and so far NLOS performance has been great and reliable. I can get three about 1 to 1.5 miles of solid trees, and even through some terrain issues. Ive also seen 4 miles or more NLOS if the path is mostly open fields. No experience with urban setting with buidlings. I suspect your main issue would be multipathing off buildings and such, I can't imagine homes being too much of an issue. Another concern would be noise. If it's out of band noise, the Ubiquiti cavity filters will clear it up, in band noise may prevent you from using 900mhz. Only way to tell is to order a couple of cards and give it a shot. Talk to Paul or Carl at Streakwave, good guys, and they will give you a good deal.
 
User avatar
ivaring
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: MT Routers as a NLOS equipement???

Wed Aug 08, 2007 7:06 am

If u are looking 4 something without Line of Sight, u'll have to migrate technology.

Regards.
 
KennyB
newbie
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 4:57 am
Location: North East Louisiana
Contact:

Re: MT Routers as a NLOS equipement???

Thu Aug 09, 2007 5:21 am

I dont post much on the board lately as testing is taking up most of my time. We currently have a 900mhz nlos link at 9.85 miles running 1.2mb download and 300k consistent upload. Using 153 board tx settings 21db, datarates set to 24mb configured and ack timeout at 79 set. Link is stable. snr is 20db tx/rx signal strength 77/79. Using 15db grid 900 antenna. ccq is 50-60 on tx and receive. Not the ideal link but it works for our clients.
We have found that 900mhz is very sensitive in that some links have very good signal and ccq but will not transmit or receive much data. We are currently putting in a 900mhz line of sight as a backup link between 2 towers to see what kind of thruput we have.
Just a experience we have had with 900. Hope this helps.
Kenny

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 0202007407 and 34 guests