Page 1 of 1

Anyone know of a frequency converter???

Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 6:37 pm
by eclipse
Looking to use a high end system with ntreme dual, 5ghz filters. I want to place the system in a building and I am trying to find a piece of hardware that will convert my 5ghz output to something that will travel over rg6 coax to an doutdoor unit and upconvert it again to 5ghz. Does anyone here know of such a product???

Thank you in advance

Brandon

Re: Anyone know of a frequency converter???

Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:30 pm
by Lollo
I'm interested in such an hardware too, for your same reason !

Re: Anyone know of a frequency converter???

Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 11:56 pm
by bushy
Can SR9s do the same throughput ? If so maybe 2 of those would be a start , just have to make something to convert it back up.

Re: Anyone know of a frequency converter???

Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 10:00 pm
by eclipse
I know proprietary systems like Redline and Motorola use this type of setup. It allows them to run a high end backhaul and use coax up to 1000ft up the tower to the outdoor unit. I am guessing it uses frequencies in the cable modem type of band.

Re: Anyone know of a frequency converter???

Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 9:56 pm
by ejansson
you should be able to do it using a couple of SR9's, you will most likely require a attenuateor unless you have a very long run. Please note to that RG6 is a 75ohm cable not 50ohm so if you were to use an RG6 you will in an impedance matching circuit/transformer.

Erik

Re: Anyone know of a frequency converter???

Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 10:38 pm
by bushy
I know proprietary systems like Redline and Motorola use this type of setup. It allows them to run a high end backhaul and use coax up to 1000ft up the tower to the outdoor unit. I am guessing it uses frequencies in the cable modem type of band.

Whats needed at this end of the market is a radiocard that does the same and has the high frequency part up the tower with power over the coax . Maybe Ubiquity/Mikrotik will come up with something ? It would be THE radio to have.

Re: Anyone know of a frequency converter???

Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 11:03 am
by rickard
Why don try RF over Fiber ?? then you can have cabel runns like 1 km :-)
try to Google for RF over Fiber,

//Rickard

Re: Anyone know of a frequency converter???

Posted: Wed Aug 29, 2007 5:06 pm
by stephenpatrick
What's probably easier, an adaptor for PCI-E Atheros cards. PCI-E Atheros cards already exist for laptops.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ExpressCard
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PCI_Express_Mini_Card

PCI-express uses serial signalling at 2.5Gbps, with 8b10b coded data, with the clock information embedded with the data.
x1 cards (single data stream) which normally goes over copper/PCB backplanes, but could go on fibre
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pci_express
x1 PCI-E should be able to run on MM or SM fibre no problems, with a fibre transceiver each end connecting.

what's interesting, some people are looking at this already ...
http://www.magma.com/products/pciexpress/index.html

What would be excellent about this solution is that it doesn't have any distortion or distance limitation, and electrical isolation makes the "downstairs" router proof from lightning strikes etc. Power for the "upstairs" PCI-E radio could be via a DC feed (24-48V) either separate or running in a hybrid cable with the fibre optics.

Regards

Re: Anyone know of a frequency converter???

Posted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 3:39 pm
by InoX