Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
firebat
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 8:38 am

RB333 and three R52s?

Wed Aug 29, 2007 12:15 pm

Anyone have an RB333 running with three wireless cards as of yet? How is the performance? Any issues with router OS v3 and this config?
 
User avatar
stephenpatrick
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 12:26 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RB333 and three R52s?

Wed Aug 29, 2007 5:34 pm

Not tried, but having 3 Atheros cards on top of each other, I'd suggest avoiding closely spaced channels, otherwise interference between them is more than likely.

Regards
 
firebat
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 8:38 am

Re: RB333 and three R52s?

Thu Aug 30, 2007 12:27 am

Yeah, that's what I'm afraid of. I was hoping Mikrotik might have some input themselves as well from their testing.
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3428
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: RB333 and three R52s?

Fri Aug 31, 2007 10:30 am

there should not be any problems whith 3 R52s.
 
netrat
Member
Member
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 1:16 pm
Location: Virginia

Re: RB333 and three R52s?

Tue Sep 11, 2007 6:31 am

Wonder how three high power cards would work? R52h, SR2/5, XR2/5

Could the RB333 supply the power?
 
illiniwireless
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 12:36 am
Location: USA

Re: RB333 and three R52s?

Wed Sep 12, 2007 2:37 pm

Three XR2's would require about 13 watts and the RB333 can supply up to 19 watts of power so it shouldn't be a problem. I'm getting ready to order a rb333 and 3 r52h's for one location. If I have a problem I will be posting.
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3428
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: RB333 and three R52s?

Wed Sep 12, 2007 10:09 pm

not that you can't physically put more than 2 XR2/5 cards as they are too thick. But you can put 3 R52H cards.
 
Reefbum
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2006 12:00 am

Re: RB333 and three R52s?

Thu Sep 13, 2007 3:36 am

R333 - 3xR52H - ROSrc4 - 17dBi Sectorized Omni Array with (3) 120° Sectorial Antennas
wlan1 - 2412 - Sector 1 - Client Access
wlan2 - 2437 - Sector 2 - Client Access
wlan3 - 2462 - Sector 3 - Client Access

Bridge = NODE1 with ports ether1/wlan1/wlan2/wlan3

ether1 feed from Motorola Canopy 5.8 SM back to main tower with MT 2.9.46 Hotspot DHCP server located in tower equipment room.

Have been testing for about 4 days, R333 seems to be stable so far with aprox 60 concurrent users.
Unit has locked up and became unresponsive 2 times and had to be power cycled, not sure if this was due to an issue with the R333 or with our setup.
Still testing and can post more results in a few days. Would be interested in also hearing about any issues from others.
 
digicomtech
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 5:03 pm
Location: Alma, Qc, Canada
Contact:

Re: RB333 and three R52s?

Fri Sep 14, 2007 7:08 pm

Are you using Fan ? Could it be a temperature issue ?
 
Reefbum
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2006 12:00 am

Re: RB333 and three R52s?

Fri Sep 14, 2007 8:09 pm

Have not been using a fan, R333 has locked up 3 more times since my first post and had to be power cycled.
The unit is located in direct sun inside an 12x12x6 outdoor enclosure. I will install 2 fans to see if heat could be the issue.
 
jo2jo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 969
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:25 am

Re: RB333 and three R52s?

Mon Sep 17, 2007 2:32 am

i have some RB133s in very severe heat, outdoor enclosures, with 3 cards, running great.

many xr2 or sr9s

no crashes, no apparent heat issues.....i dont think you should have heat issues on a 333, as its much bigger than 133.

maybe im just lucky.
 
maxfava
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 12:30 am

Re: RB333 and three R52s?

Wed Sep 26, 2007 12:38 am

Hi,
I have terminated the real environment performance test on the new RB333.
I would like show results for continuos improvement on wireless performance, for the nice guy from mikrotik.
The configuration is:
one rb333, 3 minipci R52, one ftp server, 3 clients.
Router os beta 3 rc 5

first result:
client connected to eth1
server connected to eth2
eth1 and eth2 bridged
Speed download from server 98 Mbit

second result:
client connected to Wlan1
server connected to eth2
bridge with eth2 and Wlan1
Speed download from server 21 Mbit

3° result: client1 connected to Wlan1 2.4 ghz
client2 connected to Wlan1 2.4 ghz
distance 3 meters

server connected to eth2
bridge with eth2 and Wlan1
Speed download from server 21 Mbit, client balanced 10/10 Mbit

4° result:
client1 connected to Wlan1
client2 connected to Wlan2
distance 3 meter

server connected to eth2
bridge with eth2 and Wlan1 and Wlan2
Speed download from server 21 Mbit, clients not balanced 3/17 Mbit


From the above results, seems that the RB333 has more powerfull processor(same ethernet test on RB532 results 50 Mbit).
It is still the problem that each Wlan has not 20 Mbit, but 20 Mbit are subdivited via the wireless interfaces, this important performance need for use rb333 to support 3 AP Wlan.
The worst condition, is that when is downloading from 2 different Wlan at same time Mk beta 3 does not support autobalance. in some case one client downloading at 200 kbit while the other client is downloading at 20 mbit.

Ciao
Massimo
 
maxfava
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 12:30 am

Re: RB333 and three R52s?

Wed Oct 17, 2007 1:04 am

The same test with route instead of bridge show 20 Mbit for each miniPCI, 5Ghz +2.4Ghz and also 2.4+2.4 a part that you have to use non overlapping channels.

ciao
 
User avatar
samsoft08
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 617
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 10:52 pm

Re: RB333 and three R52s?

Mon Oct 22, 2007 2:26 am

RB333 + 2 X R52H + XR2
1st RH52 5.8G recieving internet from the main tower
2nd RH52 5.8G linked to other customer tower
XR2 for 2.4 normal clients
bridge1 = RH52 + XR2 + eth1

using power adapter + injector 24V / 0.8 A

many times power cycle is needed !!!
 
doush
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 3:11 pm

Re: RB333 and three R52s?

Mon Oct 22, 2007 2:31 pm

3x R52 never worked for me on RB532A (R5) ...
dont know about 333
 
tully
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 505
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:07 am

Re: RB333 and three R52s?

Mon Oct 22, 2007 2:48 pm

It may be that you need more amps on your power supply. 0.8A for 24V and 3 x high power cards could be on the edge. The standard power units only guarantee 80% of the rated power for continuous use -- 100% is for peaks only.
 
User avatar
samsoft08
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 617
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 10:52 pm

Re: RB333 and three R52s?

Tue Oct 23, 2007 6:35 am

its the highest amp i found for 24V wich is the highest voltage for POE for rb333..
 
tully
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 505
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:07 am

Re: RB333 and three R52s?

Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:07 pm

They do exist. Probably a laptop ~20V power supply will do. MikroTik will offer a 30W 24V power supply in some month or two -- same price as the 48V power supply.

John
 
doush
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 3:11 pm

Re: RB333 and three R52s?

Tue Oct 23, 2007 6:06 pm

R333 - 3xR52H - ROSrc4 - 17dBi Sectorized Omni Array with (3) 120° Sectorial Antennas
wlan1 - 2412 - Sector 1 - Client Access
wlan2 - 2437 - Sector 2 - Client Access
wlan3 - 2462 - Sector 3 - Client Access

Bridge = NODE1 with ports ether1/wlan1/wlan2/wlan3

ether1 feed from Motorola Canopy 5.8 SM back to main tower with MT 2.9.46 Hotspot DHCP server located in tower equipment room.

Have been testing for about 4 days, R333 seems to be stable so far with aprox 60 concurrent users.
Unit has locked up and became unresponsive 2 times and had to be power cycled, not sure if this was due to an issue with the R333 or with our setup.
Still testing and can post more results in a few days. Would be interested in also hearing about any issues from others.
I had the same issue with RB532 when bridging 3 Wireless interfaces.. it worked for a few hours and stopped...
Maybe we could enable the STP (or even RSTP ) on the bridge ?
 
oz_gr
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 8:57 pm

Re: RB333 and three R52s?

Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:37 pm

dont you think that this could be a power related issue ? coz i remember that your quotation was you were using 18v power supplies, insted of passive poe, go for af.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests