Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Madrox
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:24 am

My first 5ghz Ap mikrotik. Ping unstable

Mon Oct 15, 2007 11:48 pm

Hey i have sett up my first mikrotik ap, but i got a ping problem.
And i do not now what is a good signal and a bad singal.
All this things is new for me.
Will try to give you all the info that i now about so u mabe can help me.

Its 2.17 km bettwen the client and AP

AP Hardware:
Routerboard 532A
Super Range 5 400mW 802.11a 5.8GHz
Gigasector1690 antenna Gain 16 dBi Frequency 5,450 - 5,750 GHz

Client Hardware:
Routerboard 133C
Super Range 5 400mW 802.11a 5.8GHz
GigaEter18 antenna Gain 18 dBi Frequency 5150-5850 MHz

Ap config:
name="wlan1" mtu=1500 mac-address=00:15:6D:53:7F:F7 arp=enabled
disable-running-check=no interface-type=Atheros AR5213
radio-name="GGnet_fjell" mode=ap-bridge ssid="ggnetfjell" area=""
frequency-mode=manual-txpower country=no_country_set antenna-gain=0
frequency=5745 band=5ghz scan-list=default rate-set=default
supported-rates-a/g=6Mbps,9Mbps,12Mbps,18Mbps,24Mbps,36Mbps,48Mbps,
54Mbps
basic-rates-a/g=6Mbps max-station-count=2007 ack-timeout=dynamic
tx-power-mode=default noise-floor-threshold=default
periodic-calibration=default periodic-calibration-interval=60
burst-time=disabled dfs-mode=none antenna-mode=ant-a wds-mode=dynamic
wds-default-bridge=bridge1 wds-default-cost=100 wds-cost-range=50-150
wds-ignore-ssid=no update-stats-interval=disabled
default-authentication=no default-forwarding=yes default-ap-tx-limit=0
default-client-tx-limit=0 proprietary-extensions=post-2.9.25
hide-ssid=yes security-profile=default disconnect-timeout=3s
on-fail-retry-time=100ms preamble-mode=both compression=no
allow-sharedkey=no

Client config:
name="wlan1" mtu=1500 mac-address=00:15:6D:53:7F:F7 arp=enabled
disable-running-check=no interface-type=Atheros AR5213
radio-name="GGnet_fjell" mode=ap-bridge ssid="ggnetfjell" area=""
frequency-mode=manual-txpower country=no_country_set antenna-gain=0
frequency=5745 band=5ghz scan-list=default rate-set=default
supported-rates-a/g=6Mbps,9Mbps,12Mbps,18Mbps,24Mbps,36Mbps,48Mbps,
54Mbps
basic-rates-a/g=6Mbps max-station-count=2007 ack-timeout=dynamic
tx-power-mode=default noise-floor-threshold=default
periodic-calibration=default periodic-calibration-interval=60
burst-time=disabled dfs-mode=none antenna-mode=ant-a wds-mode=dynamic
wds-default-bridge=bridge1 wds-default-cost=100 wds-cost-range=50-150
wds-ignore-ssid=no update-stats-interval=disabled
default-authentication=no default-forwarding=yes default-ap-tx-limit=0
default-client-tx-limit=0 proprietary-extensions=post-2.9.25
hide-ssid=yes security-profile=default disconnect-timeout=3s
on-fail-retry-time=100ms preamble-mode=both compression=no
allow-sharedkey=no

Signal info AP to client:
Signal strenge: 73-76 dBm
Tx Signal strege: 74-78 dBm
Signal to noise: 21 dB

Ping:
2-5 ms normaly
but go up to 30-100 ms random just for 1 one ping and its go down agen.
2-9 times in minuts
and when i take a bandwidth test its just goes to 12 Mbsp and the ping will be up to 30-50 ms and the ping will stey so high and drops som pings. so realy unstable.

Have try to change freq but the ping will not be good, have fonde one freq where i can get up to 20 mbps but the pings stey bad and more i use the bandwhidt. ping just get hight and higher.
 
ovkiller
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2007 2:32 pm
Location: Bulgaria - Kazanlak

Re: My first 5ghz Ap mikrotik. Ping unstable

Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:30 am

well...ping gets higher whe bandwith is transferred coz u fill up the actual speed your APs can reach...
Its like if u have a internet connection of 1mbit and start downloading...whe u reach 1 mbit DL speed ur ping to the web gets BIG :)

But about that pings that come when no traffic is passed...i have the same problem so if ANYONE :) can help... we both are going to buy him a beer :).
 
Madrox
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:24 am

Re: My first 5ghz Ap mikrotik. Ping unstable

Tue Oct 16, 2007 2:28 am

ok, but ping chage up to 30-100 ms just on 20 mbits its that real hight?
So if i chage my ap to be from routerbord to a pc?
Whill i have better ms then?

But have i good signal or bad?
 
Madrox
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:24 am

Re: My first 5ghz Ap mikrotik. Ping unstable

Tue Oct 16, 2007 8:25 am

Now i have ben here in 23 hours and have try evrey thing. :P
I dont know if im going crazy or that i fact did get it littel better .
I did get the system about 1 week ago.
Did i think its was finsh full upgradet firmware and software.
But when i did type system routerbord print

AP
current-firmware: "2.8"
upgrade-firmware: "2.6"

and
Client
current-firmware: "2.8"
upgrade-firmware: "2.6"

That do note make any sens that i have a 2.8 v and the higst is 2.6.
So i did upgrade both to 2.6. than i was loging agen then it was.
AP
current-firmware: "2.6"
upgrade-firmware: "2.9"
and
Client
current-firmware: "2.6"
upgrade-firmware: "2.9"
And i try agen.
and now both got firmware 2.9 and ping is stable 2 ms.
and then did upgrade from 2.9.36 software to 2.9.46
but its alwaye have to be a but :P i got still som jups upp to 50 ms.
other problem that if i change the clock time, and reboots its just jups back to Jan/01/2000?
 
jcremin
Member
Member
Posts: 360
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 7:57 am

Re: My first 5ghz Ap mikrotik. Ping unstable

Tue Oct 16, 2007 9:49 am

the 133's don't have a battery to keep the time so you need to set them up to get the time from an NTP server if you want them to have the correct time.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mladents and 80 guests