Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
davidw
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 11:11 pm

Routing Problem

Thu Oct 18, 2007 6:52 am

Hi There,

Hoping someone can help me with this issue.

I have the following layout

Image

I can't seem to ping from AP2 to the outside world.

I can ping from AP1 to the outside world.

anyone got any ideas ?
 
jcremin
Member
Member
Posts: 360
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 7:57 am

Re: Routing Problem

Thu Oct 18, 2007 11:03 am

I think you'll need a static route on the dsl router (it looks like from your config that it is actually acting as a router and doing NAT) for 10.0.0.0/24 to 192.168.1.1.

I'm assuming you have a default gateway AP2 pointing to AP1. The problem is that when you ping from AP2 to 192.168.1.254, the ping gets routed to AP1, AP1 then sends it to the DSL router, but it can't get the reply back to AP2 because it doesn't know how to get to the 10.0.0.0 network.

Make sense?
 
davidw
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 11:11 pm

Re: Routing Problem

Thu Oct 18, 2007 11:10 am

I think you'll need a static route on the dsl router (it looks like from your config that it is actually acting as a router and doing NAT) for 10.0.0.0/24 to 192.168.1.1.

I'm assuming you have a default gateway AP2 pointing to AP1. The problem is that when you ping from AP2 to 192.168.1.254, the ping gets routed to AP1, AP1 then sends it to the DSL router, but it can't get the reply back to AP2 because it doesn't know how to get to the 10.0.0.0 network.

Make sense?
Yep already got that, I forgot to mention that I had a route of the following already there. .

network gateway
10.0.0.0 192.168.1.1

So the modem should say anything for 10.0.0.0 send it to 192.168.1.1
 
User avatar
mipland
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 4:02 am

Re: Routing Problem

Thu Oct 18, 2007 3:27 pm

You have to put the following static route on the following devices:

Network.....|.Gateway........|.On
192.168.0.0.|.10.0.0.1.........|.ap2
0.0.0.0.......|.192.168.1.254.|.ap2 (default gateway)
10.5.50.0....|.10.0.0.2........|.ap1
0.0.0.0.......|.192.168.1.254.|.ap1 (default gateway)
10.5.50.0....|.192.168.1.1....|.dsl
10.0.0.0......|.192.168.1.1....|.dsl
Bye

IZ3HAD, Mirco

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: SiB and 26 guests