Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
Belyivulk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Contact:

Connecting two radios to one antenna

Sat Oct 20, 2007 11:44 pm

Hi Guys,

Im looking at ways to build in a backup for our core routers, and the stumbling block i keep hitting is transferring the radio configuration. The problem being a failover router will need to have radios in it, in order to keep links up, but i can only connect one antenna to one radio.

Does anyone know of a viable solution?
 
User avatar
tgrand
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 2:57 am
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Re: Connecting two radios to one antenna

Sun Oct 21, 2007 5:09 am

Signal Splitter/Combiner
 
User avatar
Belyivulk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Connecting two radios to one antenna

Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:46 am

Thanks, can you point me in the direction of a splitter that is for this use? all the combiners / splitters ive found are not suitable for this application
 
steveloomis
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2004 1:56 am
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Connecting two radios to one antenna

Sun Oct 21, 2007 10:48 pm

In my opinion, use two completely redundant systems, antennas, powersupply etc. Keep it simple and it will work. Backup links I've run were this way, one in standby, the other active. I even manually switched them over to keep it simple. I used a pager for failure notice so I could respond quickly if necessary.
Steve Loomis
 
User avatar
Belyivulk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Connecting two radios to one antenna

Sun Oct 21, 2007 11:08 pm

Hi Steve,

Thats all well and good, except many of our links are good two hours drive from where we reside, so a manual switch over would be a huge inefficiency. I had hoped two run to seperate everything with the exception of the antenna. This would help us deal with 99% of problems we encounter
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Connecting two radios to one antenna

Mon Oct 22, 2007 1:44 am

How much money will you save not buying another antenna? You'll probably spend more for a splitter/combiner...
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1819
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: Connecting two radios to one antenna

Mon Oct 22, 2007 8:13 am

Splitters are bad for your signal
Here was a discussion on dual-polarization
antennas. Try these.

Stefan
 
User avatar
promind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:26 am
Location: Rousse, Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Connecting two radios to one antenna

Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:43 am

you need this:
1 antenna + dual polarized feedhorn.
3 boards per side
first board simple wds bridge to the other side
second board the same as the first
thirb board uses 2 ethernet ports with bonding over them
you can setup balance-rr for more bandwidth or in your case you need failover link or mode 1/active-backup/.
make sure you put miimon and if one of your board fails the other will take it's place within less than a second.
I've done this using Linux haven't tested it yet with mikrotik but I'm looking forward to replace my current equipment with mikrotiks.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 40 guests