Page 1 of 1

Connecting two radios to one antenna

Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 11:44 pm
by Belyivulk
Hi Guys,

Im looking at ways to build in a backup for our core routers, and the stumbling block i keep hitting is transferring the radio configuration. The problem being a failover router will need to have radios in it, in order to keep links up, but i can only connect one antenna to one radio.

Does anyone know of a viable solution?

Re: Connecting two radios to one antenna

Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 5:09 am
by tgrand
Signal Splitter/Combiner

Re: Connecting two radios to one antenna

Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:46 am
by Belyivulk
Thanks, can you point me in the direction of a splitter that is for this use? all the combiners / splitters ive found are not suitable for this application

Re: Connecting two radios to one antenna

Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 10:48 pm
by steveloomis
In my opinion, use two completely redundant systems, antennas, powersupply etc. Keep it simple and it will work. Backup links I've run were this way, one in standby, the other active. I even manually switched them over to keep it simple. I used a pager for failure notice so I could respond quickly if necessary.

Re: Connecting two radios to one antenna

Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 11:08 pm
by Belyivulk
Hi Steve,

Thats all well and good, except many of our links are good two hours drive from where we reside, so a manual switch over would be a huge inefficiency. I had hoped two run to seperate everything with the exception of the antenna. This would help us deal with 99% of problems we encounter

Re: Connecting two radios to one antenna

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 1:44 am
by jwcn
How much money will you save not buying another antenna? You'll probably spend more for a splitter/combiner...

Re: Connecting two radios to one antenna

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 8:13 am
by ste
Splitters are bad for your signal
Here was a discussion on dual-polarization
antennas. Try these.

Stefan

Re: Connecting two radios to one antenna

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:43 am
by promind
you need this:
1 antenna + dual polarized feedhorn.
3 boards per side
first board simple wds bridge to the other side
second board the same as the first
thirb board uses 2 ethernet ports with bonding over them
you can setup balance-rr for more bandwidth or in your case you need failover link or mode 1/active-backup/.
make sure you put miimon and if one of your board fails the other will take it's place within less than a second.
I've done this using Linux haven't tested it yet with mikrotik but I'm looking forward to replace my current equipment with mikrotiks.