Community discussions

 
lcrhea25
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 4:30 pm

Help! Clients appear to be switching between 2 ap's constant

Wed Nov 28, 2007 4:23 pm

I have a hot spot with 5 AP's set up in a hotel. There are about 4 rooms where the service seems to be very poor. After some testing it looks like the problems is they are switching between 2 ap's. How can I make them not switch between these 2 but just pick one and stick with it. The SSID's are all the same would this cause a problem?
 
doush
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 622
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 3:11 pm

Re: Help! Clients appear to be switching between 2 ap's constant

Thu Nov 29, 2007 1:41 pm

change the ssids and conf the highest signal AP as default connect on the CPE side. (assuming windows on client side)
 
0ldman
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1446
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:01 am

Re: Help! Clients appear to be switching between 2 ap's constant

Mon Dec 03, 2007 6:27 pm

he's right. Change the SSID's. I've had this problem before in hotels. It also makes it easier to identify which AP someone is connected to if they each have their own SSID. I just did *hotelname*1, *hotelname*2, etc...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests