Page 1 of 1

Help! Clients appear to be switching between 2 ap's constant

Posted: Wed Nov 28, 2007 4:23 pm
by lcrhea25
I have a hot spot with 5 AP's set up in a hotel. There are about 4 rooms where the service seems to be very poor. After some testing it looks like the problems is they are switching between 2 ap's. How can I make them not switch between these 2 but just pick one and stick with it. The SSID's are all the same would this cause a problem?

Re: Help! Clients appear to be switching between 2 ap's constant

Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 1:41 pm
by doush
change the ssids and conf the highest signal AP as default connect on the CPE side. (assuming windows on client side)

Re: Help! Clients appear to be switching between 2 ap's constant

Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 6:27 pm
by 0ldman
he's right. Change the SSID's. I've had this problem before in hotels. It also makes it easier to identify which AP someone is connected to if they each have their own SSID. I just did *hotelname*1, *hotelname*2, etc...