Page 1 of 1

RouterOS v3.1 High cpu usage

Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 3:11 pm
by Ag3NT_K
Since upgrading to version 3.1 most of my routerboards (ranging from 100 series to 500 series) are displaying high cpu usage. Some disconnect randomly and others are just extremely slow. Is it possible to downgrade back to the version that was stable? If so where can I download version 2.49 from as I cant seem to find it anywhere.

Re: RouterOS v3.1 High cpu usage

Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 4:15 pm
by jordantrx
Well you can downgrade to 2.51, that is availible on the mikrotik website.. Now if you reallly need that specific version, i suggesting getting a P2P program such as bittorent and do a search for it, Many it can be a torrent filel still going around out there for that router-os version. And there mite also be a list of all the router-os packages on the mikrotik website but i havent been able to find them. Best bet if 2.51 isnt what you want Use a P2P program and do a search with it. -Jordan



Edit. I forgot to mention, the reason your having all of those problems possibly is because 3.1 and 2.49 are not very compatible, soo upgrading all of your other routerboards to the updated version of Router-os should make your problems go away, but it is up to you what you wish to do. :-)

Re: RouterOS v3.1 High cpu usage

Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 4:21 pm
by Ag3NT_K
Well you can downgrade to 2.51, that is availible on the mikrotik website.. Now if you reallly need that specific version, i suggesting getting a P2P program such as bittorent and do a search for it, Many it can be a torrent filel still going around out there for that router-os version. And there mite also be a list of all the router-os packages on the mikrotik website but i havent been able to find them. Best bet if 2.51 isnt what you want Use a P2P program and do a search with it. -Jordan



Edit. I forgot to mention, the reason your having all of those problems possibly is because 3.1 and 2.49 are not very compatible, soo upgrading all of your other routerboards to the updated version of Router-os should make your problems go away, but it is up to you what you wish to do. :-)
Thanks for the speedy reply. I have already upgraded all the routerboards and still have the same problem. I will see if I can find 2.49 on the p2p networks thanks for your help.

Re: RouterOS v3.1 High cpu usage

Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 5:48 pm
by Gerard
I have a Mikrotik archive at http://www.shelbywireless.com/files/mikrotik/

-Gerard

51? I don't see that available yet..

Re: RouterOS v3.1 High cpu usage

Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 7:08 pm
by jordantrx

51? I don't see that available yet..
Your right i do not know why i thought it was.. Must have looked at something wrong.... Well 2.50 then.. -Jordan

Re: RouterOS v3.1 High cpu usage

Posted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 7:39 pm
by Ag3NT_K
Thanks Gerard you really helped me out of a tight spot. Good idea keeping an archive.

Re: RouterOS v3.1 High cpu usage

Posted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 8:22 pm
by npbrasil
Yes Gerard!! Very good idea, this can be a life saver. Hi Ag3NT_K, try the 3.0 rc13 version.

Re: RouterOS v3.1 High cpu usage

Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 3:58 pm
by Ag3NT_K
Well I finally downgraded all my routerboards down to v 2.9.50. They seem to be stable now at least, although the entire network is still slower than it was with v 2.9.49 I guess it's true what they say, "If it's not broken....don't fix it"

Re: RouterOS v3.1 High cpu usage

Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 5:13 pm
by jordantrx
Well I finally downgraded all my routerboards down to v 2.9.50. They seem to be stable now at least, although the entire network is still slower than it was with v 2.9.49 I guess it's true what they say, "If it's not broken....don't fix it"
You mite wish to try to format the Nand, and use netinstall to installed a completly new version of your prefered OS, some say there is carry over from 3.0 to 2.50 if downgrading... Not sure mite be worth a try though.. Good luck. -Jordan