Community discussions

 
nmbugua
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 3:09 pm

Amplifier

Mon Feb 04, 2008 11:56 am

Hello, I have an Outdoor 2.4Ghz AP (RBKAO) with 15dbi omni antenna on a 30m tower. Is it possible to use an amplifier to amplifier the signal so that my P2MP can get a boost in distance coverage? Which amplifier can work? or have been tested to work... Thank you. Nate
 
pedja
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 684
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 5:37 am

Re: Amplifier

Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:39 pm

What you want to do is most certainly illegal.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Amplifier

Mon Feb 04, 2008 1:53 pm

it is not recommended, you will get a lot of noise and your clients will not be satisfied. also this will force your competition to do the same, and you will suffer even more.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
ericsooter
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 6:16 pm
Location: Oklahoma USA

Re: Amplifier

Tue Feb 05, 2008 5:55 am

I used to use amplifiers in the early days. But they do seem to be problematic. Also, links can attain greater throughput without them. With the advent of high-powered cards, they are less needed. But if you really think an amp is necessary, I've had the most luck with rflinx bidirectional amps. I've noticed them performing pretty good with prism cards. Most atheros cards I've tested seem to be crap when amped; i'm guessing it has to do with their better receive sensitivity. Most of my client base is in rural areas, so I've not been involved in amp wars, but I can see it would not be a good thing. IMHO, if you need the best coverage get a XR5 card.
 
provoshane
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 7:17 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: Amplifier

Sun Feb 10, 2008 6:17 am

You are also likely to see the performance of your radio cards degrade over time as the amp will overdrive the cards. You will end up replacing cards and amps repeatedly. You are better off using a highpower card without the amp. Also, as mentioned in other replies, you will just amp up the noise in addition to your own signal
 
User avatar
nickb
Member
Member
Posts: 407
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:24 pm
Location: Southeast Kansas
Contact:

Re: Amplifier

Thu Feb 28, 2008 11:01 pm

I used to use amps too, and I can tell you from my experiance, don't use them.

Amplifiers aren't too bad with PRISM or HERMES based cards, but I have never had one work worth a piss on any Atheros based cards.
 
GuJack20
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:44 pm
Location: Tirana
Contact:

Re: Amplifier

Fri Feb 29, 2008 1:06 am

I see that the RBKAO has a 65mw card. You can safely change it with a R52H that is a 350mw card. With this change you'll have a noticeable increase in performance. Also important are the CPE. What CPE (routerboard and antenas) r u using?? and what is the distance you want to cover??
--Do you remember that guy who gave up? Neither does anybody else!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], MSN [Bot] and 34 guests