Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
marcelocbf
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 2:31 am

How to reduce tx-power NL-2511MP (prism) Card

Sun Apr 20, 2008 7:46 am

Hello,

I just bought a Senao NL-2511MP miniPCI (200mW) that works with the Prism Chipset ...
I have an 15dbi antenna attached to this card and I cannot have this card's output power because of my regulatory domain ... So I have to reduce the card's output power to 100mW.

I have another card that uses the Atheros Chipset, and I see the option to set it manually (on the Winbox) to all-rates-fixed, but there is no such option for this Prism chipset, but besides this I see another option that says prism-cardtype ...

My question is ... setting prism-cardtype=100mw will do the trick ? Can I set it the same way as Atheros' ?

Thanks
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: How to reduce tx-power NL-2511MP (prism) Card

Sun Apr 20, 2008 6:53 pm

You cannot adjust the power output on a prism card. Use a long jumper...
 
marcelocbf
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 2:31 am

Re: How to reduce tx-power NL-2511MP (prism) Card

Mon Apr 21, 2008 7:13 am

You cannot adjust the power output on a prism card. Use a long jumper...
is that true ?

While waiting ... I tried to set the manual-tx-power-table to the values I'd like to ... and I'll try to monitor the interface tomorrow but after what you said ... this is bad ...

What you mean with "long jumper ...." ?

Thanks
 
User avatar
parrini
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 5:11 am
Location: Bahia, Brazil

Re: How to reduce tx-power NL-2511MP (prism) Card

Thu May 08, 2008 4:16 am

You cannot adjust the power output on a prism card. Use a long jumper...
What you mean with "long jumper ...." ?
I think he means to use an extra long cable (jumper) to connect the antenna to obtain signal attenuation trough cable loss which is usually known and well documented.
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: How to reduce tx-power NL-2511MP (prism) Card

Thu May 08, 2008 4:22 am

Correct.
 
User avatar
nickb
Member
Member
Posts: 407
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:24 pm
Location: Southeast Kansas
Contact:

Re: How to reduce tx-power NL-2511MP (prism) Card

Sun May 11, 2008 9:06 pm

Yes, you can reduce prism TX power; it just has to be done from the terminal window.

See my last reply in this threat.

I have used this method in production since then several times, successfully reducing power levels for short links.
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: How to reduce tx-power NL-2511MP (prism) Card

Mon May 12, 2008 1:45 am

Have you confirmed the signal strengths change when you adjust it?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 37 guests