Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
heinb
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:24 am
Location: South Africa

Question: Default Forward and Default Authenticate

Sun May 04, 2008 11:16 pm

Just a question:

I have copied all registered MAC addresses to the Access list. I now wish to un-tick Default Authenticate and Default Forward.

As I am connecting to the Mikrotik OS remotely, will I still be able to connect to the AP remotely to manage it? I have copied my MAC address to the Access list.

Also, once I've unticked default authentication, is there still a way to connect to the router, should all else fail?

I'd really appreciate feedback on this.
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Question: Default Forward and Default Authenticate

Mon May 05, 2008 12:04 am

Greetings!

If all is set correctly, you should NOT be able to connect from your MAC before you change the default authenticate to no. The default-authenticate is a flip-flop as I recall. If default authenticate is set to yes, the access list blocks. If set to no, then it allows.

And there is always the serial port if you get blocked.
 
User avatar
savagedavid
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 12:58 pm
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Contact:

Re: Question: Default Forward and Default Authenticate

Mon May 05, 2008 12:18 am

Default Authenticate is not a flip flop! You can set the default behaviour under the wireless menu and then override the default behaviour using access/connect lists.

default-forwarding (on AP) – gives ability to disable the communication between the wireless clients
default-authentication – enables AP to register a client even if it is not in access list. In turn for client it allows to associate with AP not listed in client's connect list

Individual settings for each client in access list will override the interface default settings

Access list entries can be made from the registration table entries by using action 'Copy to Access List'

Hope that helps!
savagedavid
MTCE+T (MikroTik Certified Everything + Trainer)
MikroTik support and training in South Africa
http://www.mikrotiksa.com
david [at] mikrotiksa dot com
 
User avatar
heinb
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:24 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Question: Default Forward and Default Authenticate

Mon May 05, 2008 8:27 am

Thanks for the replies!

Savagedavid: I understand the concept; however, I want to be sure that I can still access the AP once I've disabled default forwarding and authentication (as I connect as a client via winbox to the AP). Will I still be able to do this once I've disabled the default authentication and forwarding options?

Also, what is a rule of thumb for Tx / Rx rates for clients? Although we intend to implement a proxy server, I want to try and throttle some of the clients who abuse the network.
 
User avatar
heinb
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:24 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Question: Default Forward and Default Authenticate

Mon May 05, 2008 8:53 am

Surfertim:
At present, I AM able to connect to the AP, despite MAC addresses being in the Access list and defaults still activated.

Furthermore; the AP is located ontop of a mountain. I'd rather not have to use the serial port if I dont REALLY have to.
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Question: Default Forward and Default Authenticate

Mon May 05, 2008 6:31 pm

Heinb: Listen to savagedavid. He is correct. I misunderstood the docs on the setup. What I interpreted during my setups as a flip-flop was, in fact, a default setting of authenticate=yes in the access-list. The default-authenticate will not affect anything in the access-list. That will override the default-authenticate setting.

savagedavid: Thanks. I knew there was something odd about that. I use CLI and just used
add mac-address=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
and the AP with that MAC connected. I see now the list just added the authenticate=yes by default, and the AP connected.
My bad. I confused the authenticate variable with default-authenticate when I first read the docs.
 
Tanker
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 10:46 am

Re: Question: Default Forward and Default Authenticate

Sun May 11, 2008 5:12 pm

Hein

Send me that email
operations[at]radioactivewifi.co.za and I'll call you...

T
 
User avatar
kameelperdza
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 11:45 am
Location: Oudtshoorn, South Africa

Re: Question: Default Forward and Default Authenticate

Wed Apr 29, 2009 12:38 pm

Hi so tou mean that if i disable default forward then im isolating the wireless users from each other? And when i enable it then they are able to ping each other and share stuff and so in?
Give me some karma
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24420
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Question: Default Forward and Default Authenticate

Wed Apr 29, 2009 12:47 pm

yes
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
tamilmaran
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 9:36 pm

Re: Question: Default Forward and Default Authenticate

Mon Aug 06, 2012 4:46 pm

even i disable the default forward , i can able to ping my neighbour cpe.
i disabled in Default forward & also in access list
If u like my post , then Hit the Karma! Thanks.
-
Thamizh Maran
RF Engineer
ZERONE Tech
India
 
User avatar
hassibi
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:58 am
Location: Iran,Kerman

Re: Question: Default Forward and Default Authenticate

Mon Aug 06, 2012 9:02 pm

even i disable the default forward , i can able to ping my neighbour cpe.
i disabled in Default forward & also in access list
when you unchecked the default forward your wireless clients unable to have layer 2 connectivity together...but you can connect to all of them...be careful when you unchecked the default forward then your clients can not have any layer 2 connectivity together but they can have layer 3 communication.
 
tamilmaran
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 9:36 pm

Re: Question: Default Forward and Default Authenticate

Fri Aug 10, 2012 1:17 pm

even i disable the default forward , i can able to ping my neighbour cpe.
i disabled in Default forward & also in access list
when you unchecked the default forward your wireless clients unable to have layer 2 connectivity together...but you can connect to all of them...be careful when you unchecked the default forward then your clients can not have any layer 2 connectivity together but they can have layer 3 communication.
so i can able ping or not...???
If u like my post , then Hit the Karma! Thanks.
-
Thamizh Maran
RF Engineer
ZERONE Tech
India

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot], yaomacbt and 43 guests