Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
ericsooter
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 6:16 pm
Location: Oklahoma USA

Adaptive Noise Immunity

Wed May 07, 2008 9:52 pm

Is there a benefit to this setting? I noticed some posts regarding how turning on Noise Immunity causes CPU usage to go
high. Going by the name, ANI seems like a good thing. Anyone have any thoughts on this?

Eric
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Adaptive Noise Immunity

Thu May 08, 2008 3:26 am

I noticed an immediate benefit in throughput. I have it running on a 532 with WLM54G Compex card a 532 with SR2 and a 112 with SR2 all working flawlessly.
 
ericsooter
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 6:16 pm
Location: Oklahoma USA

Re: Adaptive Noise Immunity

Thu May 08, 2008 5:06 pm

Sounds great. I just saw this post in the routerboard forum and it concerned me. Are we going to have ultra-high cpu loads from doing this? Here are clips of that thread:


QPox:
I'm running RouterOS 3.7 on a Routerboard 333 with 3x R52.
And my CPU load jump from 70% to 100% (about an average of 50% on graph)

I've try'd to reboot alot of times, but it just jumps to a 100% again after it reboots.
But when i disable wlan2 i falls for a bit, then after some time it's a 80% again.
And there is no trafic!
uldis:
please set the wireless cards setting 'adaptive-noise-immunity' to 'no'
QPox:
Yes that did the trick!
Thank you!!!
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Adaptive Noise Immunity

Fri May 09, 2008 9:33 am

I believe this is an isolated problem with the R52 cards...
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24317
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Adaptive Noise Immunity

Fri May 09, 2008 10:38 am

No, this depends on two things - CPU power and Noise in your area. If there is a lot of noise, the ANI will work harder, and will hit on low-speed device resources. For fast RouterBOARDs this will not be an issue.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Adaptive Noise Immunity

Fri May 09, 2008 5:20 pm

Makes sense. Thanks for the clarification.
 
User avatar
jose
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2005 4:56 am

Adaptive Noise Immunity

Thu May 15, 2008 2:21 am

In v.3.9 In the "Adaptive Noise Immunity" I see the following fields
-AP and client mode
-client mode

What is the difference between them?
 
User avatar
thavinci
Member
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 4:40 pm
Location: Johannessburg
Contact:

Re: Adaptive Noise Immunity

Wed May 21, 2008 12:12 pm

*bump*
http://www.thavinci.za.net

echo "Demo license expired!"
echo "Please reinstall the router."
echo
kill -WINCH 1
exit
 
Eliminateur
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 7:38 am

Re: Adaptive Noise Immunity

Thu May 29, 2008 1:36 pm

*bump for the last question*
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3427
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: Adaptive Noise Immunity

Thu May 29, 2008 2:02 pm

- none - disabled,
- client-mode - ANI will be enabled only if the interface mode will be station or station-wds,
- ap-and-client-mode - ANI will be enabled on all the interface modes
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Re: Adaptive Noise Immunity

Fri May 30, 2008 2:52 am

What cards does ANI work with ?

r52? cm9? xr2?

Thanks :-)

Anyone think this works well?
How does it work?
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Adaptive Noise Immunity

Fri May 30, 2008 7:25 am

Works with Atheros based radios.
 
techmonkey1
newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 8:01 pm

Re: Adaptive Noise Immunity

Mon Jun 02, 2008 5:39 pm

Will ANI work in a Hotspot senario with laptop clients?
 
User avatar
hulk-bd
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 227
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 7:19 pm
Location: Uttara, Dhaka, Bangladesh

Re: Adaptive Noise Immunity

Thu Jun 05, 2008 10:56 pm

Is this option is only in Ver 3.x?

Thanks
Don't worry, be happy :) .......
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Adaptive Noise Immunity

Fri Jun 06, 2008 2:34 am

Yes
 
User avatar
tjohnson
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 7:01 am

Re: Adaptive Noise Immunity

Thu Jun 26, 2008 4:53 am

Does this need to be enabled on the AP and client side to be effective? If we are running station-psuedobridge on the client side, I assume we would have to use the "AP and client mode" setting, correct?
Travis
 
User avatar
thavinci
Member
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 4:40 pm
Location: Johannessburg
Contact:

Re: Adaptive Noise Immunity

Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:57 am

Yes it does need too be enabled both sides too be affective....
Station-psuedobridge, will probably need client mode, however i just make a habit of enabling "AP And client mode", thus accommodating for both cases.


I have found that this makes a HUGE difference in noisy areas, but yes you're CPU Usage is directly related to how noisy you're area is and how many clients you have.

ie

Image

This is a 3.2Ghz PC and look at the CPU Usage, this is all due too the noise in that area!
So you will have to investigate if you're routerboard has the beef too cope with the noise in that area if it is noisy!


my 2p
http://www.thavinci.za.net

echo "Demo license expired!"
echo "Please reinstall the router."
echo
kill -WINCH 1
exit

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests