Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
parrini
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 5:11 am
Location: Bahia, Brazil

Help fine-tuning XR2 TxPower

Thu May 08, 2008 5:22 am

Hi all,

I need to adjust an Ubiquity XR2 TxPower from the original 28dBm to about 20dBm in a RB600.

I know the adjustments in the wireless interface can go from 1dBm up to 26dBm but they are relative and I think the default (17dBm) is the card's factory default resulting in 28dBm from the card, am I right?

If so, where should I put the TxPower to obtain the desired 20dBm output? Is there any reference table around?

Any hint would be of great help.

Thanks! :D
 
User avatar
tgrand
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 2:57 am
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Re: Help fine-tuning XR2 TxPower

Thu May 08, 2008 5:27 am

Use card rates and set value to 20 db
 
User avatar
parrini
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 5:11 am
Location: Bahia, Brazil

Re: Help fine-tuning XR2 TxPower

Thu May 08, 2008 5:36 am

That's it?

I didn't know RouterOS could control the exact power of the card because there are so many card options...

It works for any card?

Thanks a lot!
 
User avatar
Letni
Member
Member
Posts: 375
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 5:16 am
Location: South Carolina

Re: Help fine-tuning XR2 TxPower

Thu May 08, 2008 5:50 am

The XR2 has a 10db offset in MT. Here is the link to show you
http://ubnt.com/downloads/ubi_mtik_power.pdf

To get the desired 20 db output you would want to set it to 10 db.

-Louis
 
User avatar
parrini
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 5:11 am
Location: Bahia, Brazil

Re: Help fine-tuning XR2 TxPower

Thu May 08, 2008 5:55 am

Beautiful...

Much more than I could ever ask.

Thank you!
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Help fine-tuning XR2 TxPower

Thu May 08, 2008 6:59 am

That offset was compensated for in Version 3
 
User avatar
parrini
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 5:11 am
Location: Bahia, Brazil

Re: Help fine-tuning XR2 TxPower

Thu May 08, 2008 2:27 pm

Hmm, that´s good to know. Because of RB600 I'm using ROS 3.7.

Thanks.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: RogerWilco, server8 and 36 guests