Page 1 of 1

Wireless connection problem

Posted: Tue May 20, 2008 10:37 pm
by GP01Fb
Is it possible to connect the router board 133c3 to regular wireless router? (e.g. linksys, d-link, etc...) If so, how to configure the router board and/or the regular router so that my pc can surf the web wirelessly? Below is the setup which I want to construct:

PC ---(cable)--- Router Board 133c3 ---(wireless)--- router ---(cable)--- DSL modem (internet)

Please help. I've spent a week to setup this simple network and it still doesn't work. This is only the phase 1 of my project. If it's not gonna work, I need to consider other solutions as the due date is approaching. Thank you very much.

Re: Wireless connection problem

Posted: Tue May 20, 2008 11:40 pm
by jwcn
Do you have a wireless card and antenna in the 133c?

Re: Wireless connection problem

Posted: Tue May 20, 2008 11:42 pm
by GP01Fb
Yes.

Re: Wireless connection problem

Posted: Wed May 21, 2008 1:39 am
by jwcn
So you need to setup wlan1 as a station, if there is any security set it up.
run dhcp-client on wlan1
add a ip nat masquerade rule and setup ether1 on a different subnet with dhcp if desired.

Re: Wireless connection problem

Posted: Wed May 21, 2008 10:14 am
by GP01Fb
I cannot see the dhcp-client at winbox. Is there any other solution? Thank you.

Re: Wireless connection problem

Posted: Wed May 21, 2008 1:19 pm
by Tanker
It might not be loaded - not sure what version ROS you are using, but you might have to download the All Packages for the latest version of your ROS.. unzip it and then copy the DHCP module into the Files ...

Reboot the router and when you go back into winBOX you'll find that the DHCP module is now visual under IP in winBOX

Hope this helps

T

Re: Wireless connection problem

Posted: Wed May 21, 2008 2:05 pm
by jwcn
go under system packages and make sure dhcp is enabled.

Re: Wireless connection problem

Posted: Wed May 21, 2008 4:51 pm
by GP01Fb
Thank you very much. But I cannot setup the dhcp server correctly. I followed the doc but it's not working. Can anyone provide a step-by-step setup instruction. Your help will be appreciated.

Re: Wireless connection problem

Posted: Wed May 21, 2008 10:13 pm
by NetworkMeUp
Thank you very much. But I cannot setup the dhcp server correctly. I followed the doc but it's not working. Can anyone provide a step-by-step setup instruction. Your help will be appreciated.
Here is a step-by-step guide (with pictures) to accomplish either going wireless or to set up your router.

Also, if that doesn't help, here is a list of Hot-To Videos to help as well.

The best solution is to only use one router. If you need more wired ports, use a hub or a switch.

If you must use two routers, there are a couple things to try.

*Some routers can be configured to behave as a switch instead of a router. This is often called "bridge-mode", and involves disabling the NAT and DHCP functions on the router.

*If your modem is acting as a router, another option is to contact your Internet Service Provider (ISP) for assistance switching your modem out of router mode and into bridge mode.

*Another option is to connect the 2nd router to the 1st (where the first is the modem/router combo or VoIP hardware) then connect all of the computers through the 2nd router.