Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
parrini
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 5:11 am
Location: Bahia, Brazil

Reduce power in test environment ?

Thu May 22, 2008 5:43 pm

Hi,

I've done my share of stupidities, including activating an XR2 for a long time without any antenna attached. Now I am aware of the consequences but I still have one question:

Sometimes I need to configure the wireless interface in test environments where is very awkward to attach antennas. Is it safe to reduce the card TX Power to something like 1dBm to prevent damaging the card amplifier until the testing of the configuration is done?

I mean, I don't need to do any associations, just mess around in RouterOS with the interface up...

Anyone?

Thanks ! :wink:
 
User avatar
parrini
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 5:11 am
Location: Bahia, Brazil

Re: Reduce power in test environment ?

Thu May 22, 2008 11:10 pm

Can anyone help me with this?
 
User avatar
jp
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 5:06 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Reduce power in test environment ?

Fri May 23, 2008 3:11 am

Not sure about that particular radio card, but you could turn it down well below 1dbm. CM9 cards let me do -10 and don't complain.

I attach a piece of cat-5 conductor to the center of the N connector on the pigtail. A couple inches is all you need to for half or quarter wavelength.

If you want to test power between radios without antennas, get an attenuator kit to simulate free space loss.
 
User avatar
parrini
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 5:11 am
Location: Bahia, Brazil

Re: Reduce power in test environment ?

Fri May 23, 2008 6:41 pm

Hi JP,

Actually I'm not using XR2 anymore, switched to R52H.

Besides reducing power, I'm going to implement your idea. Much more practical.

Thanks!
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Re: Reduce power in test environment ?

Sat May 24, 2008 11:10 am

Can you just configre with the card disbaled?

Hard to test though I admit.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests