Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
rickashe
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 4:39 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Client Connection issues on 3.x

Mon May 26, 2008 7:26 pm

Hi,

I have a good few RB532's 532a's and 333's out in the field, we are using them for backhaul as well as client AP's ( 2.4 & 5.8 )

One thing I have noticed is when I upgrade to version 3.anything is I have serious problems with the clients on the 2.4 AP's. these would be mostly omnis (12 - 16db) with an assortment of cards, (cm9, sr2 & xr2)

what I have noticed is that on any of the 2.4 ap's once I upgrade to 3.x I get a huge drop off of connections, its like the power output is being massivly reduced by the software for some reason, the only difference is the OS version, once I downgrade back to 2.9.51 they all come back.

This has not been an issue up until now as I have simply left all the boards on 2.9.51 but a board blew today due to water damage and the only thing I have to replace it with is an RB333, version 2.x does not seem to exist for this board, I have tried multiple versions of v3 on it and the same results each time, there were 11 associations on the old RB532a and the best I can get is 3 associations on the new board, I have tried the original XR2 as well as a new XR2 with the same results so the card itself is not damaged.

Is there something I am missing with the V3 software??????

Hope someone can help,

Many thanks in advance
 
jcremin
Member
Member
Posts: 360
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 7:57 am

Re: Client Connection issues on 3.x

Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:14 am

Are your client's running ROS?
 
mickeymouse690
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 3:08 am

Re: Client Connection issues on 3.x

Tue Jun 17, 2008 12:58 am

I have been wanting to post this issue aswell.. My 2 main towers at one a lake im at,, with 2.951 the have good signal, but once I upgraded them both 2 3.10 or any v3, the signal drops almost by 10 ponts.. WTF casing me huge headache.. Cause know I cant revert the second tower back to 2.9 because all 900mhz clients I upgraded them all to v3 running 10 mhz, With the SR9 if I put tower 2 back to 2.9 the dont talk to each v2.9 10 mhz and v3 10mhz.. Between tower 1 and 2 the are running XR2`s, thats the connection that droped nearly 10 points and now cuts out a couple times a day.. GRRRRRRRR

I had never set country on them, v2 or v3
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Client Connection issues on 3.x

Tue Jun 17, 2008 1:06 am

1. What are your power settings in 2.9.51?

2. The only compatibility issue with SR9's and 2.9.51 and 3.x is on 20mhz as far as I'm aware.
 
mickeymouse690
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 3:08 am

Re: Client Connection issues on 3.x

Tue Jun 17, 2008 1:14 am

1. What are your power settings in 2.9.51?

2. The only compatibility issue with SR9's and 2.9.51 and 3.x is on 20mhz as far as I'm aware.
thx for the reply, either or,, my real problem is the 2.4 XR2 LINK BETWEEN TOWER 1 AND 2 THAt has dropped almost 10 points,, all power ratings are at default,,, Before if I needed to, I could raise manual tx to 18 on both ends during like a big storm or something and all held up very well. Now with v3 if I even try to put one end at 18tx they cant even see eachother at all. This is definitly something with software... PLs help MT
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Client Connection issues on 3.x

Tue Jun 17, 2008 1:17 am

But if you downgrade using identical software the problem goes away?
 
mickeymouse690
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 3:08 am

Re: Client Connection issues on 3.x

Tue Jun 17, 2008 5:01 am

correct, if I downgrade both to 2.9x problem goes away, problem is, now I have some 411`s in that cell and they only do 3.o so I loose out on some band options cause some settings are compatible with 2.9
 
mickeymouse690
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 3:08 am

Re: Client Connection issues on 3.x

Wed Jun 18, 2008 2:47 am

need some serious answer pls on this, this is an issue.!
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Client Connection issues on 3.x

Wed Jun 18, 2008 3:47 am

Are you running at default power in V3? V3 compensates for the offset automatically so where 18 would equal 28 in 2.9 it only equals 18 in 3.x. Try running the 3.x at 28 instead of 18.
 
mickeymouse690
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 3:08 am

Re: Client Connection issues on 3.x

Thu Jun 19, 2008 7:35 am

Yes, all running at default ,, Ill give your suggestion a try.. BUT,..! Why should I have to do this, default is suppose to be default like it was before in terms of signal strenght. Would like an MK guy to respond to this also.......
 
mickeymouse690
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 3:08 am

Re: Client Connection issues on 3.x

Thu Jun 19, 2008 7:39 am

just tried 28 and 29, same SHITY signal....If I revert back both 2 2.9 signal is back like it was.. I upgraded all my CPE in that area to 3.xx... WHAT GIVES pls... and why signal this sugnal change only with the XR2, my SR9 signals are the same as with 2.9... GRRRRRRRRR
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Client Connection issues on 3.x

Thu Jun 19, 2008 5:21 pm

That is weird. Haven't had the problem but again I'm not using the XR2's only SR2's. Might be something Ubiquiti is aware of they have a forum also.
 
User avatar
CommNet2
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:34 pm
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Contact:

Re: Client Connection issues on 3.x

Mon Jun 23, 2008 7:11 pm

Same issue here. Found it last Thursday when I did a network wide update to 3.9 (3.10 seems to crash the BIOS on me randomly, but that's another story).

Here is a log of the different client CPEs we have on the network and what happened after the upgrade to the AP (indicated by the blue line). From what I can tell the CLIENTs signal dropped, not the APs. So I'm not sure if it's a negotation issue between clients and the AP or what happened. Like the topic poster I was AOK until I did this, then signals dropped like mad. Unless this is a known problem with a fix I'll be downgrading all of my APs to 2.9.51 (which worked flawlessly). The colors indicate ping response time, light green being average 30ms or less no packet loss, dark green 30ms or less and less than 5% packet loss, yellow 30ms or less and less than 10% packet loss, red is 50ms or less and 20% packet loss or less, brown is 50% packet loss, and black is 100% packet loss. I don't have signal data for before/after, but I do know all client side signals dropped about 5-15pts just by looking at it.


Image


These are all 5.8GHZ APs running SR5s for cards. On the client side Routerboards, we still see a drop in signal but they appear to have handled the change more effectively. They also haev SR5s.
Community Networks Inc.
Rural WISP - 2000+ clients
http://home.efirehose.net/
 
mickeymouse690
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 3:08 am

Re: Client Connection issues on 3.x

Tue Jun 24, 2008 9:49 pm

bump
 
User avatar
CommNet2
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:34 pm
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Contact:

Re: Client Connection issues on 3.x

Fri Jun 27, 2008 12:41 am

Just got a support ticket back from Ubiquiti (as the RBs on the network actually have marginally improved with the new 3.10 firmware).

They use 2.9.51 firmware in their test environments so they are unaware of any issues in compatibility to v3.* They said they didn't really like the 3.* up to this point as they were a bit unstable. They're going to try 3.9 for us and see what happens.


(attacking the snake at both ends here)
Community Networks Inc.
Rural WISP - 2000+ clients
http://home.efirehose.net/
 
mickeymouse690
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 3:08 am

Re: Client Connection issues on 3.x

Fri Jun 27, 2008 7:35 am

Much appreciated... UBNT is stepping up to the plate here, not even there game, happy to hear it from them... Would like to get feedback from MT here.. It is THERE forum, im extremely dissapointed in the lack attention from MT here.. This IS a software issue, and THEY NEED TO ADDRESS IT! IMPISSED!!! DO i have to open a support damn ticket??
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Client Connection issues on 3.x

Fri Jun 27, 2008 8:02 am

DO i have to open a support damn ticket??
That would be the intelligent thing to do.
 
User avatar
CommNet2
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:34 pm
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Contact:

Re: Client Connection issues on 3.x

Fri Jun 27, 2008 6:32 pm

I've already opened one, but feel free to open one as well. Maybe enough tickets will flag them to an issue.

From my ticket I've gotten suggestions like "Disable Connection Tracking" (been that way since we installed our equipment)
And to manually set transmit rates to lower bit rates if the connection signal is not so good (so we can solve the latency issue by cutting our available bandwidth to each board? I don't think so.)

So far nothing of 'note' except that I don't think MT believes there is an issue.

Again, it's true the client RBs are performing better, but since the bulk of our client CPE network is Ubiquiti LS5 based, that doesn't really fly for us. Unless this gets addressed/resolved we'll have to rethink our infrastructure design.


Just a note though: In the RBs that I noticed a signal drop across backhaul links (RB to RB) we are also using Ubiquiti SR5 cards. Not sure if this is a MT issue, or a UBNT issue. I just know there is an issue, signals are worse, latencies are worse, and connections overall are worse than before upgrading firmware.

I COULD downgrade back to 2.9.51, but I do like to have the latest version of firmware on all infrastructure equipment.
Community Networks Inc.
Rural WISP - 2000+ clients
http://home.efirehose.net/
 
User avatar
tjohnson
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 7:01 am

Re: Client Connection issues on 3.x

Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:43 am

I have about 50 ptp backhaul links with RB532's and RB333's all with SR5 cards. The upgrades from 2.9 to 3.x have all been flawless with no changes in signal levels at all.
Travis
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Client Connection issues on 3.x

Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:53 am

I think that version 3 reports signal levels more accurately than 2.9...
 
Tanker
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 10:46 am

Re: Client Connection issues on 3.x

Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:28 pm

I have about 50 ptp backhaul links with RB532's and RB333's all with SR5 cards. The upgrades from 2.9 to 3.x have all been flawless with no changes in signal levels at all.

same here.....

Rock solid & no problems....


T
 
User avatar
CommNet2
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:34 pm
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Contact:

Re: Client Connection issues on 3.x

Mon Jul 07, 2008 7:08 pm

I think that version 3 reports signal levels more accurately than 2.9...
I thought this might be the case, but it doesn't explain why LS5s on our network visably get worse since the upgrade of firmware. That is ping log data, not signal data. If it was just a reporting differential there should have been no change.
Community Networks Inc.
Rural WISP - 2000+ clients
http://home.efirehose.net/
 
JR
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:27 am

Re: Client Connection issues on 3.x

Thu Sep 25, 2008 1:18 am

Is this happening for PtMP only?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: didis81, gotsprings and 25 guests