Page 1 of 1

Wireless FAQ

Posted: Wed May 28, 2008 4:10 pm
by normis
We made a simple wireless FAQ here:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Wireless_FAQ

let us know if there is anything else that needs to be clarified in a similar way. Note that the full manual is coming also, so this should be kept simple

for suggestions and questions, use this forum, or the TALK page of the wiki. Do not write nonrelated stuff into the article itself.

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Thu May 29, 2008 1:31 am
by ghmorris
Very useful info!

Thanks!!

George

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 4:12 am
by Gunzoid
Very nice Normis-long time coming.

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:51 pm
by ilius168
Nice one!! :D

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 9:25 am
by ste
Hi,

what about a standard ap/client configuration for WISPs with discussed additions.
There are a lot of things to decide:
- preferred channel width 5/10/20/40 MHz
- nstream on/off
- movement strategy how to change config on all clients of an ap
(e.g. to switch a non nstream segment to a nstream segment without downtime)
- rts/cts
- fast setup of a new assembled clients
- how to update all clients

So some sort of best practice guide for WISPs.

Stefan

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:29 am
by randallr
I had never compared the frames / hw frames before. I'm noticing the TX comparision follows pretty close to what I expected 1.6 x on a good link, 2.1 x on a not so great link.

However, the RX comparison is way, way out of whack. The RX HW is 2200 x higher on one that I looked at, but always way higher, even on great links.

To determine links, do I need to only compare TX Frame numbers on each end?

Randall

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 12:40 pm
by beatblam
Hi
I would like to ask for help guys.

I have a basestation with a RB333 configured with 3xR52 cards for three antennas running on different channels i.e 1,3 and 11. but what happens is that there's one card that registers 13 client and then it shows that some client's signal strength has gone up to -110dbm keeps fluctuating and then when I change the TX power to card rate from default it changes for some hours or even days then brings the same signal strength over and over again.

I have tried to upgrade the OS from 3.16 to 3.24 stable version but still without sucess. please assist guys what do I do with the link.

Clients Premises Equipment is NS2.

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 12:50 pm
by normis
Hi
I would like to ask for help guys.

I have a basestation with a RB333 configured with 3xR52 cards for three antennas running on different channels i.e 1,3 and 11. but what happens is that there's one card that registers 13 client and then it shows that some client's signal strength has gone up to -110dbm keeps fluctuating and then when I change the TX power to card rate from default it changes for some hours or even days then brings the same signal strength over and over again.

I have tried to upgrade the OS from 3.16 to 3.24 stable version but still without sucess. please assist guys what do I do with the link.

Clients Premises Equipment is NS2.
please make a new thread instead of posting off-topic

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Sat Sep 26, 2009 12:17 pm
by johnswhite
My computer used to connect wirelessly, and then for a few months I used a dongle , back on broadband now but the wireless connection no longer works. I've got a fujitsu notebook and the message i get is wireless networking hardware needs installing but I know I have it and yes it's turned on. Can anyone help?

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:30 pm
by AnRkey
We made a simple wireless FAQ here:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Wireless_FAQ

let us know if there is anything else that needs to be clarified in a similar way. Note that the full manual is coming also, so this should be kept simple

for suggestions and questions, use this forum, or the TALK page of the wiki. Do not write nonrelated stuff into the article itself.
Wow!!! thanks this is awesome!

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 2:04 pm
by nickshore
What sort of practical limits apply to the number of clients which can be simultaneously using a single radio card ?

Anyone got any typical numbers ?


Nick.

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 9:10 pm
by nder
We made a simple wireless FAQ here:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Wireless_FAQ

let us know if there is anything else that needs to be clarified in a similar way. Note that the full manual is coming also, so this should be kept simple

for suggestions and questions, use this forum, or the TALK page of the wiki. Do not write nonrelated stuff into the article itself.
THANKS

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 1:49 am
by Jamesy
Appreciated the link. thanks

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Wed May 04, 2011 7:31 pm
by enuro12
I feel much less noobish now, thanks!

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Sat May 07, 2011 11:30 am
by lazerusrm
is this Hijack thread day or what?

FAQ is nice. Great to see an explanation on this. Would love to see some examples of usage of each feature, for instance, Frame lifetime. --What the value actually represents.. that kind of thing could be useful for tuning links. also things like Burst Time, preamble mode, and noise floor threshold.. some of these are much less well known/documented.

I know however this is supposed to be simplified, but perhaps in the manual would be worth having examples there for each feature. Help people grasp concepts a little better.

-Brad

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Sat May 07, 2011 4:53 pm
by mahnet

I know however this is supposed to be simplified, but perhaps in the manual would be worth having examples there for each feature. Help people grasp concepts a little better.

-Brad
i have similar opinions . i am too confused with NV2 configs and the HT settings HT AMPDU Priorities.

Secondly i want to see good examples of Data Rates configurations.
I thought having fixed data rates to 6 mbps in 5 Ghz band wld actually give me a more robust link but i practically was wrong. The pthroughput went bad and so did the thruput

On the other hand i see a guy who had some config where he had unchecked 6,9,18,24 mbps and had checked the others was having a throughput of 6 mbps. on a 10 km link
More Examples and clarifications please.

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Sat May 07, 2011 6:02 pm
by WirelessRudy
i have similar opinions . i am too confused with NV2 configs and the HT settings HT AMPDU Priorities.
NV2 is proprietary tdma that works with all 802.11a/b/g/n links. HT and HT AMPDU etc. is only for links with ´n´ (or mimo) availability.
If you can't find all info of need in MT wiki manual than try to google it. Most technology used in MT-ROs is standard 802.11 technology that has many explanations and white papers explainations on the internet published.
Secondly i want to see good examples of Data Rates configurations.
I thought having fixed data rates to 6 mbps in 5 Ghz band wld actually give me a more robust link but i practically was wrong. The pthroughput went bad and so did the thruput
The ´rule of thumb´ in througput versus data rates is 50% of the data rate is what a one way transmission of user data could be.
If signals are strong enough you should try higher data rates to acheive higher througputs.
Basically the ´best practise´is to find a data rate the link is still stable (doesn't drop back to a lower level under traffic load conditions) and set that rate as the maximum. Set a 2nd rate one step below and always set the lowest (6mb) to make sure basic rates always connect to have radios speak under all conditions.

NV2 is a little different in that respect that some, including me, on this forum sense it just works better with only one data rate set. Even de basic rate the same as the supported data rate.
On the other hand i see a guy who had some config where he had unchecked 6,9,18,24 mbps and had checked the others was having a throughput of 6 mbps. on a 10 km link
More Examples and clarifications please.
That makes sense: He has 12mb checked and 50% of that is ...... ? :o

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Sun May 08, 2011 6:44 am
by mahnet
i understand that HT and HT AMPDU are settings for Wireless N (Mimo) but the problem is that I am getting a max of 3-4 mbps for less than 2 km link whreas someone in the post has shown me a 90 mbps bandwidth test for similar distance. My LOS is very clear. Frq. is also unused at that locations. I have upgraded the ROS to 5.0 How do increase the bandwidth. even the radios do not connect at more than 54/6 mbps. the 6 mbps by itself keeps changing to 54 mbps and under load the ccq goes down to 6% -10%. Without load I find the CCQ to be 109/97.

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Mon May 09, 2011 3:22 am
by WirelessRudy
i understand that HT and HT AMPDU are settings for Wireless N (Mimo) but the problem is that I am getting a max of 3-4 mbps for less than 2 km link whreas someone in the post has shown me a 90 mbps bandwidth test for similar distance. My LOS is very clear. Frq. is also unused at that locations. I have upgraded the ROS to 5.0 How do increase the bandwidth. even the radios do not connect at more than 54/6 mbps. the 6 mbps by itself keeps changing to 54 mbps and under load the ccq goes down to 6% -10%. Without load I find the CCQ to be 109/97.
Well, 90mbps on 2km is possible yes. But to see what your problems is you have to supply much more info. Do an export command in the console for the ap radio and client and copy and paste it in this forum.
Also show us the signals of the registered units.

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Mon May 23, 2011 7:28 pm
by yuefy
very very good!!
thank you!

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Thu Jun 02, 2011 5:29 pm
by laithmikrotik
thank you very much

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 9:20 am
by katherineeobryan
Basically the wireless bandwidth and the security is slow by the distance , coverage as well as the using . have any drop and speed criticism.

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 5:37 am
by mikepratt
Normis, as to the last topic - the instability of nv2 - I had a problem ticket I have been working with Uldis, and I can say that it is much more stable with 5.14. I still get disconnects on one particular link, but they last less than a second, and seem to occur mostly when there's a lot of data (night 'noise' video streams). Power is way down (5dB on an OmniTik/SXT link) yielding -60, but still dropping 4-8 times a day. Other links up for 4-7+ days. I hope to see more improvement here, as nv2 is a real game changer for these PtmP backhaul links.

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2012 5:45 pm
by christyjame
Seniors,

Thanks.

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2012 9:37 pm
by n21roadie
Nv2 wireless link disconnects very often

When Nv2 wireless link experiences disconnections and in log section most of the messages are 'control frame timeout', then make sure that the router's RouterOS version is at least v5.14. v5.14 introduced several improvements for the Nv2 wireless protocol. Second suggestion is to lower the transmit output power of the wireless cards if the signal of the link is strong. We suggest to use tx-power-mode=card-rates for lowering the tx-power of the wireless card. If the problem continues try to use different wireless frequency that might have less interference. If that also didn't help, please contact support@mikrotik.com with a support output file from the effected AP and the Station which are made after those disconnections.
No mention of co-location interference or RF screening of AP's or Ptp links which prevents NV2 disconnects.

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 11:22 am
by WirelessRudy
No mention of co-location interference or RF screening of AP's or Ptp links which prevents NV2 disconnects.
What do you exactly mean with "co-location interference"?

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 11:26 am
by n21roadie
No mention of co-location interference or RF screening of AP's or Ptp links which prevents NV2 disconnects.
What do you exactly mean with "co-location interference"?
Several AP's or Ptp's in close proximity on a mast.

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 11:33 am
by normis
The above document was meant as FAQ for RouterOS software configuration issues. We currently do not have any hardware related FAQ for wireless tuning. Maybe in the future we will make also something like that, covering antenna types, amplifiers, line of sight, fresnel zone etc.

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 12:13 pm
by n21roadie
The above document was meant as FAQ for RouterOS software configuration issues. We currently do not have any hardware related FAQ for wireless tuning. Maybe in the future we will make also something like that, covering antenna types, amplifiers, line of sight, fresnel zone etc.
Ok - why not then title it as Wireless FAQ (Software)

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 3:26 pm
by ulikroessin
Really helpful FAQ. Thank you.
You should continue and complete it.
Is there planned such a FAQ-List for Usermanager also?

Regards

Uli

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:57 am
by cybernetus
We made a simple wireless FAQ here:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Wireless_FAQ

let us know if there is anything else that needs to be clarified in a similar way. Note that the full manual is coming also, so this should be kept simple

for suggestions and questions, use this forum, or the TALK page of the wiki. Do not write nonrelated stuff into the article itself.
Really helpfull :)

Thanks for this :)

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 7:15 pm
by Basiley
few options, in new ROS and RB - not covered by Wiki, sadly, but it quite handy/helpful.
thank you for making it !
could be nice to see some fundamental advices in Wiki too - like how more handy can become purchasing 12Db/15Db/18Db antenna for ~$30-$70 rather than struggling with Wifi-chips and setting, frequently for WAY better result. heck, even tiny 8Db antenna for $18 can make BIG difference, compared to used in some devices !!
drawback - need to do some cabling. but thats not problem any way[actually finding good place for antenna - is more tricky :]

[off-topic]
p.s.
is there ANY way to render PDF WITH examples(quite handy, btw, sometimes, as much as rest of most Wiki Pages) from Wiki ?]
[/off-topic]

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 4:14 pm
by vpritiskovic
There is no simple explanation nor guide for setting up a (dumb) universal repater mode on MT repating another nonMT AP?

Tnx

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 10:14 am
by khurram514
thanks very nice...............

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Sun Feb 01, 2015 12:31 pm
by pixelkop
nice info thnak you...

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Sat Nov 07, 2015 4:52 am
by fifaover
so great

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2016 10:17 am
by fibernetwork
Great! thanks.

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Sat Feb 13, 2016 11:40 am
by slavik
for suggestions and questions, use this forum, or the TALK page of the wiki. Do not write nonrelated stuff into the article itself.
please include information about station with wpa2-enterprise (with login and password) into this faq, is it supported and how to configure this feature.
http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=37879
inside security profile we have some PEAP related stuff:
eap-methods=eap-ttls-mschapv2 mschapv2-username="peap-user1" mschapv2-password="P@ssword123"
but it doesn't work - "lost connection, 802.1x authentication timeout"

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Fri Feb 26, 2016 1:21 am
by mahmoudrifai
We are planning to setup a point-to-point wireless link using two SEXTANT G 5HPnD. Need advise on the following points.

1. How much maximum practical distance is supported in an urban area?
2. How much bandwidth is supported in this case?
3. Is line of sight must?
4. Any other points to consider?

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:28 am
by fibernetwork
useful! thanks for sharing.

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 5:16 pm
by Zwodka
How/where can I set the Preamble Long or Short under CapsMan?
Or it is possible?

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2016 4:22 pm
by nichky
Very useful info, if you have more plz shear with us

Thanks a lot

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Thu Dec 01, 2016 11:40 am
by Tambakti
Thanks

This was very useful, and I'm looking forward to see more and more detailed FAQ.

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 11:35 am
by ajack46
Good share quite helpful.

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 12:37 pm
by Harzedster
In Mikrotik Wireless device like SXT 5ac can we run OSPF ?

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 4:01 pm
by wowbufer
Hello,

So I have currently Hap lite as router. his eth4 is PPPoE server and SXT lite5 on my roof via that pppoe port, Loco M5 UBNT is reciever on 0.4km link then goes via LAN cable to another SXT lite 5 which is again transmitter and last SXT on 1.2km link is reciever which works as router and PPPoE Client, all other devices are in bridge. So i bought RB2011 UiAS 2HnD-IN and try to set it up insted of haP lite, my current router. but i have problems with that UBNT devies in middle.

I can't mac telnet from hap lite, or SXT to other SXT's after ubnt, and i can't mac telnet from pppoe client to hap lite.... So definitly ubnt is problem, anyone have any idea how to solve that issue?


Everything works but i can't install new Router RB2011 because PPPoE connection is not establish. after i tried 5 times I get mac-telnet is not working. even If i reset hap lit to factory settings i can't get PPPoE connection, ONLY if i restore from backup hapLite then PPPoE connection again works.

I know I'm not really good at explaining but I hope you understand.

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:06 am
by benibilme
Please include wpa2 epa and usermanager usage

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 9:26 am
by minhcoi
HI,
I am using RB951Ui-2Hnd and I`m seting up Hotspot. I can't login the 2nd user same name with 1st one (it said that no more session).
How can i fix that?
Thank you for your support.

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 1:51 pm
by ste
In Mikrotik Wireless device like SXT 5ac can we run OSPF ?
Of course it's normal ROS.

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Sun Feb 04, 2018 12:41 am
by purplecloud
The link seems to be broken. Is the wiki post still there?

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:08 pm
by timothykarpente
Great, they are looking concise knowledge base.

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Mon May 07, 2018 11:21 pm
by anav
Hi Normis,
Perhaps others seeking information will not be so frustrated at not finding out basic info or be told information that is over my head..............
What I couldn't find is
Per device
#SSIDs per Radio and
#VLANs per Radio
Such as for
cAP-AC
hAP-AC2
wAP

I appreciate the brochures and site info noted the number of streams, CPU, chip etc but besides not stating explicity if 2.5=300 or 450mbps or 5=867 or 1300mbps........... was annoying
The show stopper - due to the information above lacking in literature, I am purchasing ubiquiti products........ :-(
It is entirely possible that I missed an obvious source and dont mind being the goat, and you can point me in the right direction. Otherwise, its a gaping black hole that needs to be filled.

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Tue May 08, 2018 5:24 am
by vecernik87
Perhaps others seeking information will not be so frustrated at not finding out basic info or be told useless garbage info from forum users..............
1) #SSID per radio is not limited as far as I know. (I had 20 of them once, just for fun...) However, more SSIDs = more time required for beacons = less time for actual communication = less total throughput. That is simple math applicable for every device.
2) #VLAN per radio is ambiguous question - If you talk about physical radio, then question is irrelevant. One radio can host one or more interfaces (you call those SSIDs). VLANs are always related to interface, not to actual physical radio. Interface is usually set up as either trunk or edge. If it is trunk, limit is 4095 (practically unlimited). If it is edge, it is usually exactly 1 VLAN (well, could be more with specific settings but that is not the point I guess)

I guess you are trying to understand if 1 physical radio can have multiple SSIDs, where each SSID has its own VLAN ID. In that case answer is yes - practically unlimited amount of SSIDs, each with own VLAN ID can be set up. This is Mikrotik. Not some consumer-grade toy :)

3) bronchure should not state things like "2.4=450Mbps". That is oversimplified and imprecise statement.

It is important to understand that setting up Mikrotik devices requires some technical knowledge, same as Cisco or Juniper. I mean absolutely no disrespect, but from your questions I feel you are not an IT guy. Even as a big fan of Mikrotik, I must support your decision to buy some more simple device. Using complicated devices without proper skill may lead to frustration. Frustration leads to anger, anger leads to hate and before you realize, you will join the dark side.

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Tue May 08, 2018 5:57 am
by anav
Thanks vern, input is welcome and I am beginning to understand the term virtual APs. I just had not heard that term before.
I also understand why other vendors put a cap on the number of VAPs at four per radio per example as the wifi math points to anything beyond that as less than useful.
Please spare me about the great wifi by mikrotik as the recent wifi issues are not becoming of a product release (after supposed QC, professional software test be it DTE or ETE, and possible beta test as well). Quite true I am not an IT guy, but an old dog can learn, some more slowly then others........
This is all good news, so that I can place my order for some more gear ( a second hex, one or two switches depending upon whether or not I get 2x cAP-AC or 1xcAP and 1xhAP ac2.

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Tue May 08, 2018 8:42 pm
by anav
Normis, is there anyway to include vecernik87's post#12 to be included somewhere (maybe in the FAQ) or wiki somewhere on the vlan/ssid setup on RouterOS.
Its very good and helpful. (referenced thread is viewtopic.php?f=7&t=134142 )

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Thu May 24, 2018 11:12 am
by bartmann
Hello, we found in latest ROS versions there are two options in wireless access list interface - any and all. What is difference between these two options?

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2018 5:31 am
by July666
This share is very helpful. Thanks!

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 7:12 pm
by alpionscop
am starting a new company and its business module is delivering the adsl service wirelessly ! i know it may be weird or new .. but in my country the adsl service comes with a good data capacity about 200GB and unlimited in another ISP .. in the other hand wireless service and 4g so expensive with a little data capacity 20 or 30 GB !! the problem which we would like t solve that you can't get more the 2 or 3 Mb speed for the adsl if your more than a mile from the telecom center in each town or city! so we like to open a business for who want to get his adsl connection wirelessly .. so my question is how can i merge more than 1 adsl as example 10 or 20 or even 100 into a single wireless network and each end point user get his share or a good connection ? and if that can't work how can we deliver a per to per connection from the user's adsl modem which will be close to the telecom center to his home ?

for more understanding am not starting ISP company ! i just want to deliver the service to the end user "Wirelessly" !! if i have to install an AP for each user ! this going to cost and fill almost every tower !! imagine a 100 AP for each sector .. my plan is to make a close enough office for each telecom center which is less than 300f so i get the best Adsl service as provided .. then deliver it wirelessly! .. this is my idea .. Thanks

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 4:38 pm
by davidgreams
Hi, All

I'm just new to this website and new to the thread as well.

I'm a networking enthusiast, and I just noticed a few things in my college where I have my concerns so that I can ask this to my superirors. If you can able to help on this, I can raise a question from the end.

How can I tell where the wireless network is available on campus?

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 4:04 pm
by Ljubo
Hi,
Please can someone tell me what is real TCP bandwidth with DynaDish 5 at around 2,5-3km ?

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 10:16 pm
by mistry7
Hi,
Please can someone tell me what is real TCP bandwidth with DynaDish 5 at around 2,5-3km ?
Depends on link conditions
- spectrum usage
- eirp
- LOS ( Line of Sight)

Please tell Is your Minimum

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Tue Feb 05, 2019 11:38 am
by Ljubo
Hi mistry7,

Currently i am using QRT5 and i have about 100/100 Mbps, but sometime upload is faster than download but i can not solve it at all.
I do not have a problem with Line of Sight all the points are visible.
Do not ask for a minimum we all want more :)
I'm interested in the expected 2.5-3 km speed with Dyna Dish 5 or maybe maybe another antenna / router for PTP maybe QRT-5ac or?

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 3:11 pm
by Ljubo
So no one is able to provide realistic information for Dyna Dish and QRT 5ac speed

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 6:56 pm
by WirelessRudy
So no one is able to provide realistic information for Dyna Dish and QRT 5ac speed
There are too many variables to just give you an answer like that... Starting with measuring the speed from routers attached behind the antena will free the cpu of the antena to pass the traffic and not at the same time to produce the bandwidth test data.....

Speeds are a factor of the signal strength compared to the noise level. The higher the ratio the better connection rate you get and these predict the max. data that can be transported over the link.
That data includes also overhead and if somewhere in your line other stuff is not tuned properly you'll loose data and thus loose speed...

To get anyone interested in giving you some advice you need to make a telnet dump of all wireless configs on both devices and also a scan taken from both.

Best you could do is read up a bit on the ins and outs of fine tuning radio links....

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 8:18 pm
by Ljubo
Ty WirelessRudy,

Ok, I now use on main point incoming link CCR1009 and have 2 FC link one 500/500 and other is 150/150 but I expect from main point to office 2 point much more than now with QRT5.
My question if now have around 100/100 how many I will get with Dyna Dish or QRT 5ac.
Measure.JPG
QRT5_1_MainPoint.JPG
QRT5_2_SecondPoint.JPG
QRT5_3_ThirdPoint.JPG
QRT5_4_FourPoint.JPG

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Sat Feb 09, 2019 10:52 pm
by WirelessRudy
Ty WirelessRudy,

Ok, I now use on main point incoming link CCR1009 and have 2 FC link one 500/500 and other is 150/150 but I expect from main point to office 2 point much more than now with QRT5.
My question if now have around 100/100 how many I will get with Dyna Dish or QRT 5ac.
Given your high signals and relative good CCQ's any 'ac' radio might give you higher MCS and thus more throughput.
I personally think the QRT's are better then the Dyna's and also cheaper. But since they still sell these I think others might think different....

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 4:00 am
by gallegos09
Hola buenas noches, tal vez alguien me pueda dar una mano. Tengo un enlace de 64 Km y todo funciona de maravilla. Hoy quize instalar uno de 59 Km y los niveles de señal no bajaban de -77 dbm.
Aparte alguien me puede indicar que significa Signal to Noise? Un valor alto es mejor/peor?
Tengo linea de vista al 100% tengo dos torres una a 60 metros y otra de 21 metros ubicada en un cerro de 500 metros de altura.
Los equipos que utilizo son netmetal 5
Gracias por sus sugerencias.
Saludos.

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 1:29 pm
by WirelessRudy
@gallegos09; Este foro esta en Inglès. Pero debes leer un poco sobre la tecnologia. S/N debe ser lo mas alto que puede pero todo baja de 30dB esta muy mal.
Para hacer mas señal con la misma configuracion puedes poner un canal de 40 o de 20Mhz solo. Sube el nivel de señal, aumenta el S/N y puede ser la capaciad de su enlace sube por eso tambien.
Pero es mejor a montar antena mas gordo tambien (34dBi por ejemplo).

This forum is in English. You should readup a bit over the used tecnology. S/N has to be as big as possible but any S/N lower then 30dB is not very good...
To get more signal on the same setup you can reduce the signal bandwidht from 80 to 40Mhz or even 20Mhs. It will increase the signal, ingrease the S/N and thus probably the capacity of the channel as well.
But it is best to fit a bigger antenna, like a 34dBi for instance.

Re: Wireless FAQ

Posted: Mon Jul 15, 2019 6:30 pm
by os62
Would the community be able to recommend proven "speedy" WLAN client cards?

In my case, I've got a hAP ac, and client machines with miniPCIe "half" slots;
I've got very good performance with AC-8265 (M.2 card from Intel); however I'd really like the same (or better :lol: ) performance off of machines with "the old" miniPCIe. Preferably requiring only 3 antennas, as client machines so equipped.