Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
pampi
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:28 pm
Location: Hungary / Pecs

problem with bandwidth on using two cards at the same time

Wed Jun 18, 2008 2:38 pm

Hi!

Somebody got any experience about this situtation?

There are two x86 PC-s with 1Ghz intel processor and two SR5 cards in per pc.
In the first situation they are connected like ap-bridge / station style.
The interfaces got wlan1: 192.168.1.1 / wlan2: 192.168.2.1 on R1 and
wlan1: 192.168.1.2 / wlan2: 192.168.2.2 on R2
When I try the bw-test between the two wlan1 interfaces from R1 it's got around 40mbit tcp, at wlan2 it's got 36mbit or somehow.
If I run the bandwidth-test from R1 on wlan1 and R2 on wlan2 it's got only 20mbit tcp(R1) and 12mbit tcp(R2)

The cards are configured as wlan1 5180mhz , wlan2 5825mhz and turbo mode without nstream.
When I stop one of the bw-test , the orignal 40 / 36mbit comes back..

I also try to put this interfaces to bridge + static wds and bond together with ethernet, but in bw-test I only got 15mbit tcp transfer, if I try direction=both

Waiting for u'r experiences..

I also got this problem if I try to set up links like A point - > <- B point -> <- C point
From A point to B point I got 40mbit and also from B point to C point but if I try A to C point I got only 10-15mbit randomly.
It's a routed network with ospf but I also try with bridged network, but no difference..

Thanks!
 
odie
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 8:31 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: problem with bandwidth on using two cards at the same time

Wed Jun 18, 2008 3:07 pm

user stronger CPU !!
 
pampi
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:28 pm
Location: Hungary / Pecs

Re: problem with bandwidth on using two cards at the same time

Wed Jun 18, 2008 3:26 pm

same thing with 2Ghz intel P4 processors only 1 or 1,5mbit change..
 
odie
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 8:31 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: problem with bandwidth on using two cards at the same time

Wed Jun 18, 2008 3:36 pm

are the cards sharing the same interupt ?
 
bushy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 140
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 11:56 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: problem with bandwidth on using two cards at the same time

Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:58 pm

Its a problem with wifi , i have a link setup like this :

A <------5ghz-----------> B==ethernet==C <--------2.4ghz ----------- D


A to B gives about 10meg , C to D gives about 10 meg , A to D gives about 7 meg

B and C are two separate boards .

Its ok , but the two cards and B & C must be hearing each other .
 
pampi
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:28 pm
Location: Hungary / Pecs

Re: problem with bandwidth on using two cards at the same time

Wed Jun 18, 2008 8:18 pm

are the cards sharing the same interupt ?
i will check this, tomorrow, im out of the office yet
 
pampi
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:28 pm
Location: Hungary / Pecs

Re: problem with bandwidth on using two cards at the same time

Wed Jun 18, 2008 8:22 pm

Its a problem with wifi , i have a link setup like this :

A <------5ghz-----------> B==ethernet==C <--------2.4ghz ----------- D


A to B gives about 10meg , C to D gives about 10 meg , A to D gives about 7 meg

B and C are two separate boards .

Its ok , but the two cards and B & C must be hearing each other .
i don't think this is a normal behavior in a router. maybe i will accept 2-3 mbit loss, but not half of the bandwidth from 40mbit

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 40 guests