Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
jsuter
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 6:36 am
Location: Grapeland, TX

is the Routerboard 112 'extra slow'?

Fri Aug 15, 2008 2:53 pm

Alright, I've had a 'rash' of weird issues and they all seem to involve the RB112... It may be software, or power, or maybe capacitor failure. Basically they get very slow - less than 2mbit/sec throughput, extremely long waiting times for the prompt to show up in terminal, takes forever for interfaces to list when logging in with winbox, etc etc.

Usually the CPU will linger between 15% and 80%. Under much load it'll show 99% or 100%. They seem to act a LOT happier if all the wifi is disabled (idle down to 1-2% cpu, 35mbit+ on a one-way bandwidth test). Yes, adaptive interference stuff is disabled (it munches CPU on the 100-series)

Now, most of these had been upgraded to 3.x (95% of my clients are at 3.10 and 3.11) and modern copies of routerboot so I'm not sure if its a version-bloat issue or what. My APs are all 3.10 and 3.11, and seem to hate 2.9 now, so downgrading isn't a good option.


So far, I have only seen this on the 112, and we have considerably more 133/133c3's than we do 112's. Is the Ram/Flash/etc especially slow on the 112? Is there a suggested way to get them to 'act right' again?

Thanks!
 
htdbnbj
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 10:42 am
Location: Durban, South Africa
Contact:

Re: is the Routerboard 112 'extra slow'?

Tue Aug 19, 2008 12:17 am

Yes I have had the same problem. Try V3.13 and also remove any packages you do not actually need to free up memory. That has definitely improved things on our RB112 PPPoE Client Link.
Hi-Technology (KZN) (Pty) Ltd. South Africa
 
User avatar
Chofex
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 7:03 am
Location: San Rafael, Mendoza, Argentina

Re: is the Routerboard 112 'extra slow'?

Tue Aug 19, 2008 2:10 am

I have more than 50 RB112 working as APs, and they work fine. I did install ROuterOS 3.x on them and DOWNGRADED to RouterOS 2.9.51
When I used V3.x they worked REALLY slow. I had many issues due to poor performance. I decided to downgrade, and since then everything's fine.
You should try downgrading!

Chofex
 
Jeeva
newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 12:53 am
Location: Stellenbosch, South Africa
Contact:

Re: is the Routerboard 112 'extra slow'?

Fri Aug 22, 2008 8:06 pm

Is there any speed comparisons for the RB112. Just want to see how they measure up against the new 433/600. Since i still have a few 112's.

Just for interest sake.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 49 guests