Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
xezen
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 628
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 10:23 am
Location: South Africa

communication

Sat Aug 16, 2008 2:19 pm

How can I communicate with the serial port as I am having a bid demand to convert allot of rs232 and 485 system has anyone thought of adding a app to the router board to communicate with the serial port
Something like HyperTerminal and a way to pull off the data maybe something like log print
Or a program that works like HyperTerminal but over ip to the boards serial


Example pc-----rb---------wireless---------------wireless-----rb-serial rs232 coms

Program can read the info if you add in the rb ip address/serial0
If i dont No Ask someone That Does!
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3818
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: communication

Sat Aug 16, 2008 6:46 pm

you can assign a special-login to attach to the serial port when you telnet / ssh in using that login. Then you will be connected to serial port after entering user/password.
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
User avatar
jp
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 603
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 5:06 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: communication

Sat Aug 16, 2008 8:39 pm

Lantronix makes lots of little inexpensive boxes for transferring serial data over IP networks too.
 
RK
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Winnipeg, Canada and Central America

Re: communication

Sun Aug 17, 2008 4:57 am

jp is right, there are serial over IP devices.
Perhaps you could write your own app to use the built-in serial port, but it's not the simplest solution.
 
User avatar
roadrunner
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 11:22 pm
Location: US

Re: communication

Fri Oct 03, 2008 10:49 pm

I remember Orinoco's Ethernet & Serial converters from about 10 years ago.

ORiNOCO/EC-S

It only does 802.11b with WEP and no WPA, but it should allow you to telnet from the pc to serial port of the unit.
I have used some of the non-serial units with just a single PC connected to the Ethernet Converter but haven't used the serial units.
You should get better results with a routerboard and an terminal adapter like jp suggested.
 
xezen
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 628
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 10:23 am
Location: South Africa

Re: communication

Sun Oct 05, 2008 12:56 pm

well with time i got it right to just use the board no need for converters so no extra expence

less problems with extra equipment easy to mange
If i dont No Ask someone That Does!
 
xezen
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 628
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 10:23 am
Location: South Africa

Re: communication

Wed Apr 13, 2011 5:08 pm

does any one know if mikrotik does 485?


on the serial port
If i dont No Ask someone That Does!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests