Community discussions

 
el berto
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 10:53 am

RB411 on my own access point: how do it?

Tue Nov 04, 2008 5:26 pm

Hi, I hope to post in the right place!

I've been using RB411: one as access point (ap bridge), the others as "end point" (WDS station).

Now I want use a RB411 with my D-LINK access point I have at home.
I tried as "WDS station" mode, and it doesn't work.
I tried all modes, finally in "station" mode I see the radio running (connected to ESS).
I can see data excanged in graphic, but I can't ping and I can't go on internet.
Maybe I'm using a wrong wireless configuration.
May someone give me an hand?
Which configuratione are you using?
Thanks.
 
cinemadude
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 10:16 pm

Re: RB411 on my own access point: how do it?

Thu Nov 13, 2008 10:23 pm

I would love to know too because that's also what I'm trying to do

I'm trying to run a rb411a as a 5.8 turbo 802.11A access point and with the ethernet port connected to a linksys router AP who also control the internet

the 411a can give DHCP address to the 802.11A laptops from the DHCP address bank on its own set of network address it could gets its own address under DHCP reservation from the linksys

all the laptops can ping each others , the 411a and the linksys

but no one can have access to the internet or others computer connected 802.11b/g or ethernet on the Linksys

someone told me it could be related to the NAT

also the wireless port could be setup under AP bridge station etc
could it be related to a wrong settting ?
 
csickles
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1257
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 8:46 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: RB411 on my own access point: how do it?

Sat Nov 15, 2008 2:19 am

SRC NAT...
You need to create a SRCNAT on your router for the network "behind" the routerboard.

also make sure the network "behind" the routerboard can be routed / nated to the dlink network..
IE if the dlink issues a 192.XXX.XXX.XXX address then use a 10.XXX.XXX.XXX on the routerboard.
(Makes folowing the network easyer)..

something like SRC=10.0.0.0/16 dst 0.0.0.0/0 action SRCNAT..
Things that make you go "Hmmmmmmmm"...

Craig
 
csickles
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1257
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 8:46 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: RB411 on my own access point: how do it?

Sun Nov 16, 2008 8:01 am

anothe option (and prob prefered...)

Action = Masquerade
Things that make you go "Hmmmmmmmm"...

Craig

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests