Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
jacoblydon
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:51 pm
Location: Arkansas

This question is Awesome!

Tue Nov 18, 2008 2:48 am

No, not really but. I have about 60 clients connected to an AP 433ah and 8602+S with 12dbi omni for broadcast. I have 3 120 degree 20 dbi sectors that I will be replacing the omni with. I want to hook up three separate router boards, RB433ah and seneo 8602+S. My question is should I name all of the broadcast one name. If so should the frequencies be separated 8) or the same? Will client radio switch AP's based on signal strengths? Or should wds mesh be used? Thanks for any comments.
 
valens
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 246
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 5:42 pm
Location: INDONESIA
Contact:

Re: This question is Awesome!

Tue Nov 18, 2008 2:18 pm

Please make a proper title for your next topic.

For your wireless, I suggest you use same SSID with different frequency. You don't need to use mesh or wds.
 
User avatar
jacoblydon
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:51 pm
Location: Arkansas

Re: This question is Awesome!

Wed Nov 19, 2008 4:51 am

Will the client radios associate with the strongest signal?
 
valens
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 246
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 5:42 pm
Location: INDONESIA
Contact:

Re: This question is Awesome!

Wed Nov 19, 2008 8:29 am

if you want the client automatically choose the AP, use same SSID.
if you want to do it manually, use different SSID
 
User avatar
jacoblydon
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:51 pm
Location: Arkansas

Re: This question is Awesome!

Thu Nov 20, 2008 2:51 am

Okay thanks
 
User avatar
Dragonmen
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 6:20 pm
Location: Sabac, Serbia
Contact:

Re: This question is Awesome!

Thu Nov 20, 2008 10:44 am

If i understood well, you want to put 3 omni antennas instead of one, on the same place with on 3 RB?
First of all, why not one Routerboard instead of 3?
Second, i don't recommend same SSID but different ones (like "ssid1", "ssid2", "ssid3") becouse if you have the same SSID you may have a problem with clients constantly switching the omnis (becouse they use same SSID).
Clients will switch on SSID based on strength, but sometime will choose worser for some reason, and if your omnis are on the nearby, the chances are that this switching will increase dramatically and start to flood the AP.
If you chose the same frequency your wireless performance will drop if the antennas are nearby.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24366
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: This question is Awesome!

Thu Nov 20, 2008 10:48 am

he will use sectors, so the mentioned problems should not exist.

As far as I understand, using 3 RBs is to decrease load per machine.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Dragonmen
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 6:20 pm
Location: Sabac, Serbia
Contact:

Re: This question is Awesome!

Thu Nov 20, 2008 12:08 pm

he will use sectors, so the mentioned problems should not exist.

As far as I understand, using 3 RBs is to decrease load per machine.
He wrote the question very unclearly, not the mention the topic name.
More detailed info would bring better answer.
BTW, the problem exist with sectors if there are 60 connected users, we had that problem on many places and it was pretty bad idea - besides that clients switched to sectors with lower signal, it happened that if AP is restarted the radios couldn't start to work for hours on busy APs (with 60-80 connected users) becouse clients switched the sectors constantly. After changing the SSID names all worked fine.
 
User avatar
jacoblydon
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:51 pm
Location: Arkansas

Re: This question is Awesome!

Thu Nov 20, 2008 3:24 pm

The reason for the topic, is so I could get so many wonderful replies. Didn't mean to create such a grouchy topic.
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: This question is Awesome!

Thu Nov 20, 2008 7:35 pm

So if one of your customers needs support help they should send you an email with a subject line like "This question is Awesome!" so that you read it? Otherwise you might ignore their request for help if they are articulate in the subject line?

I think something is broken in your logic. It does not have anything to do with being grumpy.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
User avatar
Dragonmen
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 6:20 pm
Location: Sabac, Serbia
Contact:

Re: This question is Awesome!

Fri Nov 21, 2008 11:10 am

roc-noc has the point...
 
User avatar
jacoblydon
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:51 pm
Location: Arkansas

Re: This question is Awesome!

Fri Nov 21, 2008 5:06 pm

***********
 
User avatar
jacoblydon
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:51 pm
Location: Arkansas

Re: This question is Awesome!

Fri Nov 21, 2008 8:26 pm

normis and valens don't have to, but roc-noc and dragonhead should.
 
User avatar
Dragonmen
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 6:20 pm
Location: Sabac, Serbia
Contact:

Re: This question is Awesome!

Sat Nov 22, 2008 11:16 am

I would ban him if he writes something like that on my forum...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 23 guests