Community discussions

 
lcrhea25
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 4:30 pm

Reassociating Wireless Connection

Mon Dec 22, 2008 5:02 pm

I have some clients on different towers that keep having their wireless signals reassociate. In the log is says lost connection, no beacons received. When I look at the debug logs on the wiki it says that no beacons means - no beacons received from remote end of WDS link. This is not a WDS link I am running here. Does anybody know why I am getting this message?

Thanks
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24191
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Reassociating Wireless Connection

Tue Dec 23, 2008 10:21 am

can you enable wireless debug log, and then post output of the disconnection log here? what is the signal there, and how often does it happen? what kind of devices are the clients?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
lcrhea25
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 4:30 pm

Re: Reassociating Wireless Connection

Wed Dec 24, 2008 5:27 pm

The signal is in the mid 70's with SNR of around 25 CCQ in the 80's and 90's. This is happening on a few others. They are around the same signal. Equipment is pretty much different. One tower is using a 532 board another is on a 433 board. Clients have 133 and 411 boards. I would say it happens at least two or three times an hour. They usually reconnect pretty quick so sometimes they don't even notice it. But sometimes it does take a little be longer to reconnect. Log is below. It is basically the same on all client units that are doing this. This is the log from the client unit. The ap doesn't really show any problems in its log. It just says where it disconnected and reconnected.

09:11:08 wireless,info 00:15:6D:63:11:0F@wlan1: lost connection, no beacons
09:11:08 wireless,debug wlan1: STA starts scanning
09:11:10 wireless,debug wlan1: STA scan over, results:
09:11:10 wireless,debug 00:60:B3:5C:BE:47: on 2412 SSID StarnetGT81 caps
0x421 rates 0xf basic 0x1 MT: yes
09:11:10 wireless,debug 00:15:6D:63:11:0F: on 2437 SSID StarnetGT83 caps
0x421 rates 0xf basic 0x3 MT: yes
09:11:10 wireless,debug 06:1C:DF:03:6A:52: on 2437 SSID guest caps 0x431
rates 0xff0f basic 0xf MT: no
09:11:10 wireless,debug 00:1C:DF:03:6A:52: on 2437 SSID GeauxTigers caps
0x431 rates 0xff0f basic 0xf MT: no
09:11:10 wireless,debug 00:1E:E5:6E:76:01: on 2437 SSID hlmaynardntx caps
0x411 rates 0xff0f basic 0xf MT: no
09:11:10 wireless,debug wlan1: must select network
09:11:10 wireless,debug wlan1: no network that satisfies connect-list, by
default choose with strongest signal
09:11:10 wireless,debug wlan1: selected 00:15:6D:63:11:0F, SSID StarnetGT83
on 2437
09:11:10 wireless,info 00:15:6D:63:11:0F@wlan1: failed to connect, join
timeout
09:11:10 wireless,debug wlan1: must select network
09:11:10 wireless,debug wlan1: 00:15:6D:63:11:0F failed to join recently
09:11:10 wireless,debug wlan1: no network that satisfies connect-list, by
default choose with strongest signal
09:11:10 wireless,debug wlan1: failed to select network
09:11:10 wireless,debug wlan1: delaying scanning
09:11:11 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: terminating... - disconnected
09:11:11 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: disconnected
09:11:11 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: initializing...
09:11:11 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: dialing...
09:11:11 wireless,debug wlan1: STA starts scanning
09:11:13 wireless,debug wlan1: STA scan over, results:
09:11:13 wireless,debug 00:60:B3:5C:BE:47: on 2412 SSID StarnetGT81 caps
0x421 rates 0xf basic 0x1 MT: yes
09:11:13 wireless,debug 00:15:6D:63:11:0F: on 2437 SSID StarnetGT83 caps
0x421 rates 0xf basic 0x3 MT: yes
09:11:13 wireless,debug 06:1C:DF:03:6A:52: on 2437 SSID guest caps 0x431
rates 0xff0f basic 0xf MT: no
09:11:13 wireless,debug 00:1C:DF:03:6A:52: on 2437 SSID GeauxTigers caps
0x431 rates 0xff0f basic 0xf MT: no
09:11:13 wireless,debug wlan1: must select network
09:11:13 wireless,debug wlan1: 00:15:6D:63:11:0F failed to join recently
09:11:13 wireless,debug wlan1: no network that satisfies connect-list, by
default choose with strongest signal
09:11:13 wireless,debug wlan1: failed to select network
09:11:13 wireless,debug wlan1: delaying scanning
09:11:14 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: terminating... - disconnected
09:11:14 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: disconnected
09:11:14 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: initializing...
09:11:14 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: dialing...
09:11:14 wireless,debug wlan1: STA starts scanning
09:11:16 wireless,debug wlan1: STA scan over, results:
09:11:16 wireless,debug 00:60:B3:5C:BE:47: on 2412 SSID StarnetGT81 caps
0x421 rates 0xf basic 0x1 MT: yes
09:11:16 wireless,debug 00:15:6D:63:11:0F: on 2437 SSID StarnetGT83 caps
0x421 rates 0xf basic 0x3 MT: yes
09:11:16 wireless,debug 06:1C:DF:03:6A:52: on 2437 SSID guest caps 0x431
rates 0xff0f basic 0xf MT: no
09:11:16 wireless,debug 00:1C:DF:03:6A:52: on 2437 SSID GeauxTigers caps
0x431 rates 0xff0f basic 0xf MT: no
09:11:16 wireless,debug wlan1: must select network
09:11:16 wireless,debug wlan1: 00:15:6D:63:11:0F failed to join recently
09:11:16 wireless,debug wlan1: no network that satisfies connect-list, by
default choose with strongest signal
09:11:16 wireless,debug wlan1: failed to select network
09:11:16 wireless,debug wlan1: delaying scanning
09:11:17 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: terminating... - disconnected
09:11:17 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: disconnected
09:11:17 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: initializing...
09:11:17 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: dialing...
09:11:17 wireless,debug wlan1: STA starts scanning
09:11:19 wireless,debug wlan1: STA scan over, results:
09:11:19 wireless,debug 00:60:B3:5C:BE:47: on 2412 SSID StarnetGT81 caps
0x421 rates 0xf basic 0x1 MT: yes
09:11:19 wireless,debug 00:15:6D:63:11:0F: on 2437 SSID StarnetGT83 caps
0x421 rates 0xf basic 0x3 MT: yes
09:11:19 wireless,debug 06:1C:DF:03:6A:52: on 2437 SSID guest caps 0x431
rates 0xff0f basic 0xf MT: no
09:11:19 wireless,debug 00:1C:DF:03:6A:52: on 2437 SSID GeauxTigers caps
0x431 rates 0xff0f basic 0xf MT: no
09:11:19 wireless,debug wlan1: must select network
09:11:19 wireless,debug wlan1: 00:15:6D:63:11:0F failed to join recently
09:11:19 wireless,debug wlan1: no network that satisfies connect-list, by
default choose with strongest signal
09:11:19 wireless,debug wlan1: failed to select network
09:11:19 wireless,debug wlan1: delaying scanning
09:11:20 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: terminating... - disconnected
09:11:20 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: disconnected
09:11:20 wireless,debug wlan1: STA starts scanning
09:11:21 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: initializing...
09:11:21 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: dialing...
09:11:22 wireless,debug wlan1: STA scan over, results:
09:11:22 wireless,debug 00:60:B3:5C:BE:47: on 2412 SSID StarnetGT81 caps
0x421 rates 0xf basic 0x1 MT: yes
09:11:22 wireless,debug 00:15:6D:63:11:0F: on 2437 SSID StarnetGT83 caps
0x421 rates 0xf basic 0x3 MT: yes
09:11:22 wireless,debug 06:1C:DF:03:6A:52: on 2437 SSID guest caps 0x431
rates 0xff0f basic 0xf MT: no
09:11:22 wireless,debug 00:1C:DF:03:6A:52: on 2437 SSID GeauxTigers caps
0x431 rates 0xff0f basic 0xf MT: no
09:11:22 wireless,debug wlan1: must select network
09:11:22 wireless,debug wlan1: no network that satisfies connect-list, by
default choose with strongest signal
09:11:22 wireless,debug wlan1: selected 00:15:6D:63:11:0F, SSID StarnetGT83
on 2437
09:11:22 wireless,info 00:15:6D:63:11:0F@wlan1 established connection on 2437,
SSID StarnetGT83
09:11:24 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: authenticated
09:11:24 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: connected
09:14:42 wireless,info 00:15:6D:63:11:0F@wlan1: lost connection, no beacons
09:14:42 wireless,debug wlan1: STA starts scanning
09:14:43 wireless,debug wlan1: STA scan over, results:
09:14:43 wireless,debug 00:60:B3:5C:BE:47: on 2412 SSID StarnetGT81 caps
0x421 rates 0xf basic 0x1 MT: yes
09:14:43 wireless,debug 00:15:6D:63:11:0F: on 2437 SSID StarnetGT83 caps
0x421 rates 0xf basic 0x3 MT: yes
09:14:43 wireless,debug 06:1C:DF:03:6A:52: on 2437 SSID guest caps 0x431
rates 0xff0f basic 0xf MT: no
09:14:43 wireless,debug 00:1C:DF:03:6A:52: on 2437 SSID GeauxTigers caps
0x431 rates 0xff0f basic 0xf MT: no
09:14:43 wireless,debug 00:1E:E5:6E:76:01: on 2437 SSID hlmaynardntx caps
0x411 rates 0xff0f basic 0xf MT: no
09:14:43 wireless,debug wlan1: must select network
09:14:43 wireless,debug wlan1: no network that satisfies connect-list, by
default choose with strongest signal
09:14:43 wireless,debug wlan1: selected 00:15:6D:63:11:0F, SSID StarnetGT83
on 2437
09:14:44 wireless,info 00:15:6D:63:11:0F@wlan1 established connection on 2437,
SSID StarnetGT83
 
chadd
Member
Member
Posts: 347
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 2:40 am

Re: Reassociating Wireless Connection

Sun Feb 01, 2009 9:01 pm

Did you find anything out on this?

I have been having this exact same issue for quite a while, only some clients do it but they all have the same message in the log "lost connection, no beacons received". These are MT ap's and CPE's with no WDS running on the links that this is happening to, all have good signals and CCQ's. It is and has been happening on both AP/CPE's running the latest version of ROS and also ones running the older 2.9.51 version of ROS.

I would appreciate any help and or suggestions you guys could provide.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24191
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Reassociating Wireless Connection

Mon Feb 02, 2009 9:59 am

show us your wireless card configuration, especially basic rates and supported rates. I suspect a problem there
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
lcrhea25
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 4:30 pm

Re: Reassociating Wireless Connection

Mon Feb 02, 2009 5:08 pm

Well with mine I ended up changing frequencies that my radio was running on and it cleared the problem up for me.
 
chadd
Member
Member
Posts: 347
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 2:40 am

Re: Reassociating Wireless Connection

Mon Feb 02, 2009 9:12 pm

The data rates are set to default for all of the radio's. Is there anything in particular you want me to check besides that? All are set to 2.4Ghz 10Mhz channels. TX power is manually set "card rates" to stay within US power limits. Noise floor is set to give ~15dB fade margin on the lowest client signal.

Here is the wireless info for the AP interface of one of the 2.9.46 AP's

R name="AP" mtu=1500 mac-address=00:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx arp=enabled
disable-running-check=no interface-type=Atheros AR5413
radio-name="agua" mode=ap-bridge ssid="xxxxxxx" area=""
frequency-mode=manual-txpower country=no_country_set antenna-gain=0
frequency=2427 band=2ghz-10mhz scan-list=default rate-set=default
supported-rates-b=1Mbps,2Mbps,5.5Mbps,11Mbps
supported-rates-a/g=6Mbps,9Mbps,12Mbps,18Mbps,24Mbps,36Mbps,48Mbps,
54Mbps
basic-rates-b=1Mbps basic-rates-a/g=6Mbps max-station-count=2007
ack-timeout=dynamic tx-power=15 tx-power-mode=card-rates
noise-floor-threshold=-85 periodic-calibration=default
periodic-calibration-interval=60 burst-time=disabled dfs-mode=none
antenna-mode=ant-a wds-mode=dynamic wds-default-bridge=bridge1
wds-default-cost=100 wds-cost-range=50-150 wds-ignore-ssid=no
update-stats-interval=disabled default-authentication=yes
default-forwarding=yes default-ap-tx-limit=0 default-client-tx-limit=0
proprietary-extensions=post-2.9.25 hide-ssid=yes
security-profile=default disconnect-timeout=3s on-fail-retry-time=100ms
hw-retries=15 preamble-mode=both compression=no allow-sharedkey=no

Here is the info for one of the 3.20 AP's

name="wlan1" mtu=1500 mac-address=00:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx arp=enabled
disable-running-check=no interface-type=Atheros AR5413
radio-name="POP1 SE" mode=ap-bridge ssid="XXXXXXX" area=""
frequency-mode=manual-txpower country=no_country_set antenna-gain=0
frequency=2447 band=2ghz-10mhz scan-list=default rate-set=default
supported-rates-b=1Mbps,2Mbps,5.5Mbps,11Mbps
supported-rates-a/g=6Mbps,9Mbps,12Mbps,18Mbps,24Mbps,36Mbps,48Mbps,
54Mbps
basic-rates-b=1Mbps basic-rates-a/g=6Mbps max-station-count=2007
ack-timeout=dynamic tx-power=22 tx-power-mode=card-rates
noise-floor-threshold=-80 periodic-calibration=default
periodic-calibration-interval=60 burst-time=disabled dfs-mode=none
antenna-mode=ant-a wds-mode=dynamic wds-default-bridge=bridge1
wds-default-cost=100 wds-cost-range=50-150 wds-ignore-ssid=no
update-stats-interval=disabled default-authentication=yes
default-forwarding=yes default-ap-tx-limit=0 default-client-tx-limit=0
proprietary-extensions=post-2.9.25 wmm-support=disabled hide-ssid=yes
security-profile=default disconnect-timeout=3s on-fail-retry-time=100ms
preamble-mode=both compression=no allow-sharedkey=no
station-bridge-clone-mac=00:00:00:00:00:00 hw-retries=4
frame-lifetime=0 adaptive-noise-immunity=none



show us your wireless card configuration, especially basic rates and supported rates. I suspect a problem there

Thanks,
Chadd
 
galaxynet
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 646
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 2:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Reassociating Wireless Connection

Tue Feb 03, 2009 12:29 am

chadd -

Do these towers 'see' each well? I know you are using 10mhz channels but the cards 'listen' at 20mhz channel width and TX on 10mhz channels. I see that they are just at the limits of 20mhz between the two towers.... Is it possible to move one of these higher or lower in frequency to get them past the 20mhz channel spacing - like 30mhz channel spacing.

Another thing to consider - when you use the 5 & 10mhz channels you do know that you are using 802.11g protocols not the 802.11b protocols. I have often found that 802.11g can become useless outdoors once a few 'consumer' grade wireless routers are up and running in the area. Consequently - almost all of my 802.11 gear in the 2.4ghz band is run in 802.11b ONLY mode - with 20mhz channels. 802.11b seems to be more noise tolerant than 802.11g. Although I had to install a few more APs to maintain client throughput (from the client perspective) it was worth in the end - a LOT LESS complaints from the clients....

You could also try knocking the supported rates down to one below the lowest connecting client...this will help maintain connectivity to that client (and since that is the 'worst' client) all clients will connect at that rate - this stops 'data=speed' and protocol 'hopping'. I.e., your slowest client connects at 36mbps, so set the supported rate to 24mbps on the AP. That should make them all connect at 24mbps.

R/

Thom
Thom Lawless
General Manager
RapidWiFi, LLC
thom.lawless [at] rapidwifi.com
 
chadd
Member
Member
Posts: 347
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 2:40 am

Re: Reassociating Wireless Connection

Tue Feb 03, 2009 3:00 am

These two towers are about 25 miles apart don't see each other. The AP running the older 2.9.46 is showing a -96 noise floor while the one running the 3.20 -97, I am not sure that these are accurate numbers though because this area has several WISPS within a 45 mile radius of here who don't pay any attention to TX power limits on their AP's. I am very particular about hooking up new subs and won't install anyone who I can't get a signal str in the mid to high -60's with a good CCQ.

I am not seeing what I would call any type of noise related issues. Latency is good and consistant "under 10ms from my NOC to the clients, throughput is good. The only problem I have is with random client disconnect/reconnect and the logs on the client side show "no beacons received" errors again this is on clients who are not using WDS and according to the wiki this error should only show up on WDS links. The AP side log just shows the client disconnecting and reconnecting.

I have caught a client disconnect and reconnect while running a steady ping 128 byte to it and everytime it would happen I the ping time would be a steady 6-8ms then it would drop pings while the client reconnected and as soon as they reconnected the pings would be right back at 6-8ms.

One question I do have regarding the 10Mhz channels is. I have always assumed that it transmits 5Mhz on either side of the selected. Is this correct or does it go 10 above or 10 below?

chadd -

Do these towers 'see' each well? I know you are using 10mhz channels but the cards 'listen' at 20mhz channel width and TX on 10mhz channels. I see that they are just at the limits of 20mhz between the two towers.... Is it possible to move one of these higher or lower in frequency to get them past the 20mhz channel spacing - like 30mhz channel spacing.


Thom
Thanks,
Chadd
 
galaxynet
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 646
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 2:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Reassociating Wireless Connection

Tue Feb 03, 2009 3:38 pm

chadd -

Well it certainly isn't the towers being too close....

As to the 10mhz channel - the radio broadcasts at 5mhz above and below the center frequuency for a total of 10mhz channel width....

As to diconnects - have you per chance mixed ROS versions? ROS 2.9.46 on the AP and ROS 3.x on the clients? I found that 2.9.50 and .51 worked better with the 3.x clients. I eventually changed the AP over to 3.x - I replaced it, then programmed the old RB564 to ROS 3.x and put it back up....seems happy now.

I know the wiki says the lost beacons is for WDS only, but I know that is not true.... I have seen that exact phrase used by other (CPE brands) and according to their info the lost beacon had to do with the CDMA (802.11 polling mechanism), in fact the one I saw recently did not even have WDS capability.... Figure that :)

I have also seen disconnects similar to what you are describing - this is normally caused by interference at the client location....a old 2.4ghz phone near the client, or the garage door opener....well you get the picture. If you can establish a pattern (a group of clients clustered in a particular area or perhaps a paticualr 'arc' within you AP range) that will perhaps help you figure out the interference pattern. See those old phones, etc, do not necessarily show up in the client noise figures...I have seen this first hand with one of our clients, I ended up taking a spectrum analyzer out to their location and finding the source of their issue.... It was an old phone, and the folks had actually connected an 'external' antenna to the base so it could broadcast across the large yard area......what a pain in the neck!!

Anyway I hope some of this helps.

R/

Thom
Thom Lawless
General Manager
RapidWiFi, LLC
thom.lawless [at] rapidwifi.com
 
chadd
Member
Member
Posts: 347
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 2:40 am

Re: Reassociating Wireless Connection

Tue Feb 03, 2009 6:26 pm

Thanks for the tips. I have already checked a few of the locations for cordless phones, baby monitors etc and have not found anything in the 2.4Ghz range unless something is throwing out some out of band noise and I suppose that is possible.

I guess it is just another one of those MT oddities that I may or may not eventually find the cause of. I really like MT and have migrated our network over from Raylink, Alvarion, and Trango to MT for the flexiblity that MT offers. Every manufacture has some quirks to it but this "no beacons received" is one of the last remaining things that bugs me about MT. Well that and the form factor change on some of the RB's forcing you to change enclosures to upgrade boards sometimes. I wish there was a better way to troubleshoot wireless problems like this in MT than just looking at the log files, maybe there is and I just don't know about it.

I would still be interested in hearing more from the MT guys on this to see if they have anymore ideas for me.
chadd -

Anyway I hope some of this helps.

R/

Thom
Thanks,
Chadd
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24191
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Reassociating Wireless Connection

Wed Feb 04, 2009 3:54 pm

This no beacons problem can be caused either by interference, or by a bad wireless card. I don't know any other options here :(
No answer to your question? How to write posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests