Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
iam8up
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 312
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Troy, OH
Contact:

Netinstall won't install

Tue Dec 30, 2008 12:56 am

I'm using an RB532 and last week I plugged this router in and found that it wouldn't boot. Come to find out RouterOS is gone and it is trying to pull DHCP on the ether1 port.

Using the console I get this much...

RouterBOOT booter 2.6

RouterBoard 532

CPU frequency: 399 MHz
  Memory size:  32 MB

Press any key within 2 seconds to enter setup..
kernel not found
trying bootp protocol... OK
Got IP address: 192.168.10.15
resolved mac address 00:16:36:6A:49:3A
transfer started ...................... transfer ok, time=1.31s
setting up elf image... OK
jumping to kernel code
Welcome to MikroTik Router Software remote installation
Press Ctrl-Alt-Delete to abort

mac-address: 00:0C:42:08:D2:3B

software-id: UMJD-3TT key:
RtGc4WgrKW9jEr9rsIaFf02tManqAZL0HY/yGFDXIx6KCL+GHuhZVKzHAxU7Y7/Jr96GAgP+eLbqUMqbVYQqAA==

Waiting for installation server...
Found server at 00:50:56:C0:00:08

Formatting disk...
ERROR: could not format partitions
Press ENTER to reboot
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6621
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: Netinstall won't install

Tue Dec 30, 2008 3:25 pm

Try to upgrade RouterBOOT (RouterBOARD) firmware, it is possible in the following way,

run Hyperterminal program (Windows) or Minicom (Linux),
1) switch on the RouterBOARD, hit any key to enter to the RouterBOOT;
2) click 'g' - upgrade firmware;
3) select 's' - upgrade firmware over serial port (use option Send File from
HyperTerminal program), use Xmodem protocol.
 
iam8up
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 312
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Troy, OH
Contact:

Re: Netinstall won't install

Fri Jan 02, 2009 9:47 pm

Do you know of an application that I can do this in Linux? Using Fedora/Gnome.
 
iam8up
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 312
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Troy, OH
Contact:

Re: Netinstall won't install

Fri Jan 02, 2009 11:21 pm

Using a Windows machine I copied routeros-rb500-2.9.51.npk via serial and did netinstall with ethernet and it complains...
Upgrade firmware options:
   e - upgrade firmware over ethernet
   s - upgrade firmware over serial port
your choice: e - upgrade firmware over ethernet


trying bootp protocol... OK
Got IP address: 192.168.10.15
resolved mac address 00:16:36:6A:49:3A
transfer started ...................... transfer ok, time=1.20s
invalid upgrade file id
 
aaa
Member
Member
Posts: 458
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 11:54 am
Location: Latvia, Baltezers

Re: Netinstall won't install

Sat Jan 03, 2009 2:11 pm

Hit any key and goes to BIOS , then format NAND , then "yes" And last try put RouterOS by Netinstall.
Helpful can be latest BIOS upgrade via /system routerboard upgrade. It seems it's 2.18 or 2.19 version.
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: Netinstall won't install

Sat Jan 03, 2009 6:17 pm

Using a Windows machine I copied routeros-rb500-2.9.51.npk via serial and did netinstall with ethernet and it complains...
Upgrade firmware options:
   e - upgrade firmware over ethernet
   s - upgrade firmware over serial port
your choice: e - upgrade firmware over ethernet


trying bootp protocol... OK
Got IP address: 192.168.10.15
resolved mac address 00:16:36:6A:49:3A
transfer started ...................... transfer ok, time=1.20s
invalid upgrade file id
Serge was suggesting that you upgrade the firmware aka BIOS. You are trying to use a RouterOS image not a firmware image.

Try this image which is correct for a RB532:

http://www.routerboard.com/files/rb-2.1 ... 4-2.13.fwf

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: Netinstall won't install

Sat Jan 03, 2009 6:21 pm

-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
iam8up
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 312
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Troy, OH
Contact:

Re: Netinstall won't install

Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:07 am

I knew that the firmware was part of the NPKs - didn't know it came separate. How did you find that link?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24424
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Netinstall won't install

Thu Jan 15, 2009 11:00 am

I knew that the firmware was part of the NPKs - didn't know it came separate. How did you find that link?
http://www.routerboard.com/comparison_archive.html

And by the way, that's an old link, here is the new one:
http://www.routerboard.com/files/rb-2.1 ... 0-2.18.fwf
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
iam8up
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 312
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Troy, OH
Contact:

Re: Netinstall won't install

Sun Jan 25, 2009 10:24 am

Awesome - looks like I am good to go. Thank you very much!
 
letabawireless
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 5:11 pm

Re: Netinstall won't install

Wed Aug 27, 2014 1:11 pm

I have a board with a blown ether1 port. The POE still works, so I can use it, but I can't make netinstall use ether2 instead of ether1. Is there any way, i can recover this board ?
 
labalaba
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 2:43 pm

Re: Netinstall won't install

Sat Nov 08, 2014 1:43 pm

I have a board with a blown ether1 port. The POE still works, so I can use it, but I can't make netinstall use ether2 instead of ether1. Is there any way, i can recover this board ?
me to, netinstall only working on ether 1, can't do netinstall on ether 2/3/4/5. i need clarification on this issue, can i do netinstall on other ether. i already read wiki, forum and manual, i cant get any answer for this.

btw, i do netinstall on ether 1 then do quick setup, quick setup default to ether 1 and ether 2. hm... i would like to install mikrotik from ether 4/5 then do quick setup for ISP and LAN on ether 1 and 2.

something like
ether 1 -> plug ISP line
ether 2 -> plug LAN line 1
ether 3 -> plug LAN line 2
ether 4 -> netinstall from laptop/PC
ether 5 -> netinstall from laptop/PC
new router didn't have serial console, i like serial console for install, maybe mikrotik must provide one port/ether for install or USB port for install (replacing serial port), i like serial console

btw i also want to rename mikrotik software version, can i do this? i dont want people know what routher i'm using.
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7602
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Netinstall won't install

Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:20 am

I already asked for this in feature request: http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=90689.
You can support it...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 10 guests