Page 1 of 1

frustrating wireless issues (xr3)

Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 12:52 am
by tomswenson
We keep seeing the same issues over and over. Anyone see this before:

Using 411 boards with Xr3 cards. We go to do an install, rssi's look ok, so we do the install, run the cat5, etc, etc. We then go back to see how it looks and it won't connect anymore. You can do a scan and it will see the access point, but never connect to it. We go get a new radio and it works ok. We take the "bad" one back to the office and it connects right up to our test AP.

We did once find a couple of issues with our cat5 connectors a couple of times, but recrimping fixed it. I'm pretty sure we may be making a mistake by using solid cat5 cable with possibly stranded connectors. Not really sure about that. I'm thinking this may be more of an issue, but my installer doesn't seem to think so.

We had one once that could scan and see the AP, but couldn't connect and resetting the configuration fixed it, but the recent ones it hasn't helped at all. I complete reinstall of software didn't help.

Just not sure where to go next on this problem, it sure does cause lots of problems and really backs up installations.

Thanks for any advice I can get.

Tom

Re: frustrating issues

Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 6:58 am
by jwcn
Tom,

First lets keep things legal. If you are in the US can you confirm you are licensed to use this frequency?

Re: frustrating issues

Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 7:05 am
by tomswenson
Yes, I have a nationwide license and 11 locations registered.

Tom

Re: frustrating wireless issues (xr3)

Posted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:28 am
by jwcn
Ok. Upward and onward!

Could you be having a temp issue with the cards? There was issues with the SR9's back in the day with cold temps...

Re: frustrating wireless issues (xr3)

Posted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 7:02 am
by tomswenson
I sure hope not. It is -18 F right now, so far the ones we have installed are still working. We have had this issue for a while however, even back when it was warmer, so I'm thinking this is not the case. I do understand the cold issue, having been working with Waverider for many years, their access points can't go below freezing. I have to put heaters in the boxes at all my access points.

Tom

Re: frustrating wireless issues (xr3)

Posted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 8:39 am
by normis
most wireless cards can't work at these temperatures. please ask the manufacturer to make sure

Re: frustrating wireless issues (xr3)

Posted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 3:08 pm
by tomswenson
The XR3 is rated at -45 C to +85 C, spec wise shouldn't be a problem.

Tom

Re: frustrating wireless issues (xr3)

Posted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 3:12 pm
by normis
Temperature specs could also be wrong. You should experiment with heating and see what's going on inside the box, maybe there is moisture/ice. Try to warm it up somehow, and see if it improves

Re: frustrating wireless issues (xr3)

Posted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 3:26 pm
by roc-noc.com
most wireless cards can't work at these temperatures. please ask the manufacturer to make sure
Please define "most" Normis.

It is -20F here this morning and all of my radios are still working. That includes many R52, some R52H, a pair of xr3-3.7 (yes jwcn, I have a license), an R5H, a few other xr cards and a handful of off brand cards that I picked up over the years.

I respectfully disagree with you Normis as in my experience, most wireless cards do work at these temperatures. (whether they are rated for it or not)

Tom

Re: frustrating wireless issues (xr3)

Posted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 3:37 pm
by normis
good to hear that :) i was just a little pessimistic about these round number specs

Re: frustrating wireless issues (xr3)

Posted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:12 pm
by tomswenson
Like I mentioned, this was happening even before it got cold here. It just gets more frustrating each time it happens. Today, I took the radio that my installer couldn't get to connect two days ago and set it up in my office, connected up just fine to my test AP. Signal at -39.

More frustrations. One of my clients went down today. Wednesday, in trying to fix this same problem, I did a firmware upgrade on one of my access points, and after rebooting, I can't get to it anymore. I may still be able to get into it from the wireless side as I was able to see it by scanning from my home, but couldn't connect to it. Will have to take a radio out closer to the AP and see if that will work, or we will have to climb the grain elevator and reboot or replace the radio. That is the first time that has happened to me. Too bad it had to be an AP that did it.

Tom

Re: frustrating wireless issues (xr3)

Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:50 pm
by tomswenson
Followup:

I went to a site today that was getting installed. It looked ok, till we were finalizing the settings, had an issue because mac telnet didn't work with it. Anyway, it no longer would connect. I played and played with it. It would scan the AP, but the RSSI seemed to be about 10 db lower than before. During my playing with it, I went into the tx power area and went to set fixed rates. It was then that I noticed the the power settings were bouncing, it would go from 16 to 0 to 16 to 0 to 16. I'm sure this might mean something to someone, but not to me, but it sure seems like it has something to do with this problem.

It has been weird that after we swap out these radios and bring them back to the office, they seem to work fine. So, I decided to turn the radio off for about 5 minutes. I then brought it back up and it worked just fine and is still working.

Tom

Re: frustrating wireless issues (xr3)

Posted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 6:49 am
by dallas
Run a continuous bandwidth test to one use on the XR3 card. I found this to keep the radio away and the signal will go up 10-15 dbm after a couple hours for some reason. Anyways it works.

Re: frustrating wireless issues (xr3)

Posted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 10:11 pm
by Tbird
Seems to be quite some issues reported on the UBNT-forum for this also - why not consider WiMAX systems - related to spectrum or...?

Seems to be plenty 802.16d systems available in 3.5 GHz, and the one we have tested is rock-stable - 7 months up-time now. Freezing cold here to... and prizing is the same as WiFi anyway.

Re: frustrating wireless issues (xr3)

Posted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 10:36 pm
by tomswenson
I looked at all that was out there when I started the xr3 based system. The pricing was WAY higher per AP. Somewhere around 6 to 10k per sector. I have 9 sectors up in my town already and two in another town. That would be up to 110k for the access points alone. Those kinds of numbers were out of the realm of possibilities for us.

Tom

Re: frustrating wireless issues (xr3)

Posted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 11:32 pm
by Tbird
Woow, that's crazy prizing! The BTS I'm using is 1500 to 2000 (USD) pr sector - depending on antenna version. These are complete BTS-kit - BTS w integrated antenna, POE-injector and mounting-kit. CPE is almost down to 200 USD. All running in 3.4 to 3.6GHz - and providing up to 5 Mbps customers-services on 3.5 MHz channel-width.

Re: frustrating wireless issues (xr3)

Posted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 12:53 am
by tomswenson
That doesn't sound too bad, what mfg is that? Those prices I could live with. I just say today that Tranzeo has just announced their 3.65 US version of their pico station or something like that. I think the pricing should be similiar.

It would be kinda hard to replace what I have up now, but who knows.

Tom

Re: frustrating wireless issues (xr3)

Posted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:16 am
by Tbird
The setup is Mikrotik gateway doing Radius-based MAC authentication, connected to several WiMAX BTS sectors (via managed POE SWITCH). All controlled by RIMS (Radius ISP Management System).

The WiMAX gear is Witelcom Strix WiMAX (both BTS and CPEs), but these are 3.4 to 3.6 GHz. Are you using the 3.65?

Re: frustrating wireless issues (xr3)

Posted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 1:57 pm
by tomswenson
Yes, I'm using 3.65 in the US.

Tom

Re: frustrating wireless issues (xr3)

Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 10:33 pm
by dallas
Call me, I can tell you how to make it work great. I have a success setup in many towns.
402-534-2502 ext 22
402-641-7692

Re: frustrating wireless issues (xr3)

Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 7:32 pm
by dallas
Interesting. I worked with my install. He had a customer 1 miles away. When scanning he got -65 signal. But the radio could not transmit any data. Nuked the settings. No difference. He stuck up a new radio and it worked fine. Later on today I am going to test the radio after it has warmed up. Its 30 degrees outside. Like I said I will let you know. Remind me if I forget to post.

dallas

Re: frustrating wireless issues (xr3)

Posted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 1:37 am
by jwcn
Why are you resurrecting a dead post and now apparently talking to yourself???

Re: frustrating wireless issues (xr3)

Posted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 5:45 am
by dallas
Didn't have time to check the radio anyways