Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
tukangwifi
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:40 am

Band 2GHZ-5MHz, 2GHz-10MHz

Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:51 am

Hello forum,
On mikrotik wireless interface configuration, there are several type of band options. They are 2GHz-5Mhz, 2GHz-10Mhz, 5GHz-5MHz, 5GHz-10MHz. Anyone can explain about these band, and when are we suppose to use these type of band.
Thank you in advance
 
angboontiong
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1115
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:59 am

Re: Band 2GHZ-5MHz, 2GHz-10MHz

Fri Jan 30, 2009 8:09 am

I think you are new in the wireless ...
You may have to study on the channel bandwidth, channel planning such thing from wiki then only come back to the here...
 
tukangwifi
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:40 am

Re: Band 2GHZ-5MHz, 2GHz-10MHz

Sat Jan 31, 2009 5:07 pm

Could you pls advice where or what website should visit to know deeply about channel planning?
Thx a lot
 
User avatar
jordantrx
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 8:58 pm
Location: WAY upstate NY

Re: Band 2GHZ-5MHz, 2GHz-10MHz

Sat Jan 31, 2009 6:41 pm

Could you pls advice where or what website should visit to know deeply about channel planning?
Thx a lot
2ghz, 5mhz 10 mhz and 20mhz take up certain portions of all of the channels in the spectrum your using, It splits them up into smaller sizes and bigger sizes, The bigger the size usually faster, That's why G-turbo uses the 20mhz through 40 Mhz spectrum. I may have some of this incorrect but that is what I have gathered from it. Check the wikie out for more info look at Channel spacing. \Well good luck. -Jordan
~Agricultural WISP "ZONE"~ Beware of oncoming cattle and dont hit the farmer!!! I need to ask him about using his silo for an AP first"~

*Automated Billing Installer* http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/AutomatedBilling Built by Krige ;-)
 
User avatar
webformix
newbie
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:59 pm
Location: Bend, Oregon
Contact:

Re: Band 2GHZ-5MHz, 2GHz-10MHz

Sun Feb 01, 2009 9:31 pm

802.11A/G translates to roughly 1.25 bit per hertz spectral efficiency at the highest modulation (54mbps). So a 20mhz channel width, connected at 54mbps will provide about 25mbps net throughput.

If you use a 5mhz channel width, and are connected at 54mbps, you're net throughput would be about 6.25mbps.

You would typically run a 5 or 10mhz channel width if you wanted:

-On a 2.4ghz site, run more then 3 AP's, and didn't want to use overlapping frequencies. The normal 20mhz channel width only gives you 3 non-overlapping channels (1,6,11). With 5 or 10mhz channel widths, the number of non-overlapping channels is quadrupled and doubled (respectively).

-To deal with a site that has quite a bit of interference, and you can't stably use a traditional 20mhz channel width. On the flip side, you have to use 802.11A/G only with 5/10mhz channel widths. You cannot use 802.11B with 5/10mhz channel widths. 802.11A/G does not handle interference as well as 802.11B, and it also requires a much better SnR to achieve it's complex OFDM modulation schemes.

You'll need to do some testing and find out if the reduced amount of bandwidth results in better performance over a traditional 802.11B/20mhz channel width.
 
tukangwifi
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:40 am

Re: Band 2GHZ-5MHz, 2GHz-10MHz

Mon Feb 02, 2009 3:15 am

A good explanation webformix. Thx also to others for replying.
In my experience, if I set up AP to 2GHz-10MHz band, only CPE that set in 2GHz-10MHz band, can find the AP. If CPE set to band 2.4GHz-B/G, 2.4GHz-only-G, 2.4GHz-B, 2.4GHz-G-turbo...
scanning result, CPE could not find AP that set to 2GHz-5MHz nor 2GHz-10MHz.
How do you think about that?
 
angboontiong
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1115
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:59 am

Re: Band 2GHZ-5MHz, 2GHz-10MHz

Mon Feb 02, 2009 4:10 am

In this case..
you have to understand standard 802.11b and 802.11g is running what channel bandwidth?

i would say, the 2.4Ghz with 10Mhz channel bandwidth is only work with the mikrotik due to the so-called channel bandwidth allocation.
 
tukangwifi
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:40 am

Re: Band 2GHZ-5MHz, 2GHz-10MHz

Mon Feb 02, 2009 6:13 am

If I scanning AP band 2GHz-10MHz, lets say freq is set on 2474 MHz, my CPE using band 2.4GHz B/G, scanning range 2300-2500, can not find SSID of the AP.
I just wanna make sure, that 2GHz-10MHz or 2GHz-5MHz is different band with 2.4 B/G and can not work each other
pls CMIIW
 
User avatar
kameelperdza
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 11:45 am
Location: Oudtshoorn, South Africa

Re: Band 2GHZ-5MHz, 2GHz-10MHz

Wed Feb 11, 2009 12:56 pm

check out the pdf of your mini pci card. I have download the pdf for r5h. It says that in 5ghz-20mhz i will get -75dbm@54mbps and on the 5ghz-5mhz i will get -82dbm@54mbps. I still testing to see whether i willl get better throughput with each channel. With turbo i get -93 but with the crrebt 10mhz im getting about-81 to -75. :D
Give me some karma
 
User avatar
jordantrx
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 8:58 pm
Location: WAY upstate NY

Re: Band 2GHZ-5MHz, 2GHz-10MHz

Wed Feb 11, 2009 3:58 pm

If I scanning AP band 2GHz-10MHz, lets say freq is set on 2474 MHz, my CPE using band 2.4GHz B/G, scanning range 2300-2500, can not find SSID of the AP.
I just wanna make sure, that 2GHz-10MHz or 2GHz-5MHz is different band with 2.4 B/G and can not work each other
pls CMIIW
If your AP or CPE is on 2ghz 10 mhz your AP has to be at 2ghz 10mhz, They have to be on the same channel width to communicate or see eachother.
~Agricultural WISP "ZONE"~ Beware of oncoming cattle and dont hit the farmer!!! I need to ask him about using his silo for an AP first"~

*Automated Billing Installer* http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/AutomatedBilling Built by Krige ;-)
 
tukangwifi
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:40 am

Re: Band 2GHZ-5MHz, 2GHz-10MHz

Sat Feb 14, 2009 2:39 pm

correct :D
CPE with band 2GHz-10MHz only detect AP with band 2GHz-10MHz.
CPE with band 2GHz-5MHz only detect AP with band 2GHz-5MHz

Now my question are : Why band 2GHz-10MHz/5MHz can not see/working with 2.4 GHz B/G ?
what is the difference between 2GHz-10MHz/5MHz with 2.4GHz B/G ?

Thx
 
wireless12
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 295
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 10:49 am

Re: Band 2GHZ-5MHz, 2GHz-10MHz

Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:41 pm

Now my question are : Why band 2GHz-10MHz/5MHz can not see/working with 2.4 GHz B/G ?
what is the difference between 2GHz-10MHz/5MHz with 2.4GHz B/G ?

Thx[/quote]


hee heee heeeee....

i also wanna know the same thing but no one is giving right answer to ur question. why we see 2GHz-10MHz/5MHz along with 2.4 GHz B/G? if all these bands are same then why we see seperately...in what respects these bands are different frm each other..?
 
missinlnk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 8:10 pm

Re: Band 2GHZ-5MHz, 2GHz-10MHz

Mon Feb 16, 2009 6:23 pm

i also wanna know the same thing but no one is giving right answer to ur question. why we see 2GHz-10MHz/5MHz along with 2.4 GHz B/G? if all these bands are same then why we see seperately...in what respects these bands are different frm each other..?
The standard channel width is 20MHz. All of the other options you see listed use the default 20MHz wide channel.

Keep in mind that your other units that connect to the Mikrotik have to be manually set to use the smaller channel width as well. Some units do not support this mode.
 
dipson
newbie
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 7:05 pm

Re: Band 2GHZ-5MHz, 2GHz-10MHz

Thu Feb 19, 2009 12:13 pm

Hope someone will answer this very question from Mikrotik. Meanwhile, can wireless devices like laptops connect to an AP running on either 2GHz-5MHz or 2GHz-10MHz?
Best Regards,
Oladipupo Salako
Double D Communications Engineering Services,
Lagos, Nigeria.
 
User avatar
jordantrx
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 8:58 pm
Location: WAY upstate NY

Re: Band 2GHZ-5MHz, 2GHz-10MHz

Thu Feb 19, 2009 4:59 pm

Hope someone will answer this very question from Mikrotik. Meanwhile, can wireless devices like laptops connect to an AP running on either 2GHz-5MHz or 2GHz-10MHz?
No not regular laptops. but maybe if you pop in a different wireless card into the laptop like an internal mini pci card maybe then you can set it to work on those spackings. but they are regularly on the normal B/G spacing.
~Agricultural WISP "ZONE"~ Beware of oncoming cattle and dont hit the farmer!!! I need to ask him about using his silo for an AP first"~

*Automated Billing Installer* http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/AutomatedBilling Built by Krige ;-)
 
dipson
newbie
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 7:05 pm

Re: Band 2GHZ-5MHz, 2GHz-10MHz

Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:45 pm

Thank you for the clarification.
Best Regards,
Oladipupo Salako
Double D Communications Engineering Services,
Lagos, Nigeria.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: lpt2007 and 36 guests