Community discussions

 
pellumb
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 2:11 pm

Trendnet compatibility with Mikrotik routers

Sat Feb 14, 2009 11:27 pm

I had all the wireless set up with trendnet access point and it working good but not good enough. So I decided to change the main access point with a Microtik router which worked much better. All clients using Trendnet AP client connected successfully besides 2 ones working as repeater-Ap client and 2 ones as repeaters only. I am new with mikrotik and can not figure out why the repeaters do not work even though they see and connect with mikrotik router they cant either transmit any internet as Ap client neither as repeaters.

If someone faced the same problem and solved it please let me know?
 
galaxynet
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 648
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 2:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Trendnet compatibility with Mikrotik routers

Mon Feb 16, 2009 4:01 pm

pellumb -

Sounds like you are trying to use a feature known as WDS (Wirelss Distribution System).

Does the Trendnet support WDS? Check on their firmware - make sure you have their latest firmware (Trendnet).

Look at the MT docs on WDS - this will tell you how to set the AP (AP-WDS mode) and how other APs/WDS clients (repeaters) should be setup.

R/

Thom
Thom Lawless
General Manager
RapidWiFi, LLC
thom.lawless [at] rapidwifi.com
 
pellumb
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 2:11 pm

Re: Trendnet compatibility with Mikrotik routers

Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:28 am

Trendnet AP supports WDS and I already read the MT manual and it seems that there is no relation to programing but might be a problem with compatibilities. Even though it seems strange that all Trendnet AP (clients) connect to the MT router and have access to internet whereas the Trendnet AP-repeater connects to MT router but have no access to internet neither as wired client nor wireless client. I am pretty sure that the Trendnet AP-repeater is set up correctly as I worked with them for a long time. There should be something with the MT router which I can not figure out.
 
GuJack20
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:44 pm
Location: Tirana
Contact:

Re: Trendnet compatibility with Mikrotik routers

Wed Feb 18, 2009 9:54 pm

AFAIK there is no problem of compatibility between MikroTik and TrendNet. I have many clients that have passed from Trendnet to MT after having so much trouble with the outdoor use of trendnet. Until now i haven't faced any problem, except the fact that i have needed to change the way they spoke of wireless terms.

The problem you are facing is a problem of config i think. Post here your config, and i can do an on-bench test to check.
--Do you remember that guy who gave up? Neither does anybody else!
 
pellumb
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 2:11 pm

Re: Trendnet compatibility with Mikrotik routers

Fri Feb 20, 2009 8:40 pm

Hi GuJack20,

Here is how it looks like:
# Address Network Broadcast Interface
0 10.0.0.2/26 10.0.0.0 10.0.0.63 Bridge1
1 10.0.0.63/26 10.0.0.0 10.0.0.63 Vlan1
2 10.0.0.64/26 10.0.0.64 10.0.0.127 ether1
3 10.0.0.65/26 10.0.0.64 10.0.0.127 ether2
4 10.0.0.66/26 10.0.0.64 10.0.0.127 ether3

Last night I could manage to get trendnet repeater connect to the MT router and get access to the internet and I did it through winbox by creating in the wireless table a new virtualAP with the macaddress of the Trendnet. After that the signal from the MT router is weakened tremendously and had to remove the virtualAP once again.
Am I doing something wrong or is that the only way to do it?
 
User avatar
Caci99
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1064
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 2:26 pm
Location: Tirane
Contact:

Re: Trendnet compatibility with Mikrotik routers

Sat Feb 21, 2009 11:51 am

Hi Pellumb
Definitly this is a WDS issue, I know that TrendNet supports WDS
but don't know the way it is configured.
Try to configure WDS dynamic on MT Side and not static, hopefully
Trendnet supports a dynamic WDS.

Anyway, in our experience, many clients have switched from Trendnet
into MikroTik, the reason is simple, mutch greater stability and flexibility
and for sure better performance. One thing I also noticed, but can not
be 100% sure yet, is that when you try to change only the AP with a
MikroTik routerboard and keep your clients with some Trendnet AP you do
have so little performance and decrese of the Routerboard itself. As I said
I'm not yet totally sure. I will be when those clients will decide to change
all of their Trendnet clients :)

Regards Toni
-Toni-
Don't crash the ambulance, whatever you do
 
pellumb
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 2:11 pm

Re: Trendnet compatibility with Mikrotik routers

Thu Mar 05, 2009 9:57 am

Hi,

Toni seems to have the same setup as me. All clients have trendnet tew-430 or 432 and the router is mikrotik. The management software I am using is IpCop. I had the trendnet access point replaced with mikrotik router for a at least a month now and last night had the first problems with it. It was working perfectly and when I used to ping a client had the ping at 1 constantly, now the ping number has gone too high and some clients cant connect at all.

Does it have to do with interferences or is there a crash between IpCop and Mikrotik routers?

IpCop's ip(gateway for clients) is 10.0.0.1, Mikrotik's ip is 10.0.0.2 and clients ip's above that. Can someone make suggestions if I need to change the setup or give me a better idea on the equipment?

Please feel free to share your ideas and thoughts.
 
User avatar
Caci99
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1064
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 2:26 pm
Location: Tirane
Contact:

Re: Trendnet compatibility with Mikrotik routers

Thu Mar 05, 2009 10:56 am

Hi Pellumb
My guess is due to traffic you have an increased ping from AP to CPE. This is normal
on 2.4 specially and of course, this is normal on trendnet equipment.
My other guess is that you are located in Albania, if that's the case you can write
to ENS in Tirana and have a better support there. I am one of those guys :)
Best regards
-Toni-
Don't crash the ambulance, whatever you do

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 41 guests