Community discussions

 
popcorrin
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 12:55 am

Do you limit client distances from access point?

Tue Mar 24, 2009 10:45 pm

On a PtMP setup, how far away from an access point is too far, regardless of signal strength?

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm assuming that if a client connects from too great of distance even if it has a good signal it will negatively affect throughput for the other clients that are much closer, due to timing issues and such. I was wondering if there was a rule of thumb to go by.
 
RK
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Winnipeg, Canada and Central America

Re: Do you limit client distances from access point?

Wed Mar 25, 2009 9:57 am

There is no such thing as "too far". If they have a good enough signal and are willing to pay for the connection to make it worthwhile, I'm fine with having just 2 or 3 customers per AP.

With good network design and a solid business plan, there is no reason to turn away any customers. It's always possible to put up more APs.
Mikrotik will be happy to sell you more routerboards.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24259
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Do you limit client distances from access point?

Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:03 am

you can use the access list to make rules that limit signal strength. ie. users with signal below a certain threshold would not be allowed on your AP.
2009-03-25_1002.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
popcorrin
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 12:55 am

Re: Do you limit client distances from access point?

Wed Mar 25, 2009 3:31 pm

I think my post was a little confusing. Let me try to explain myself better. I'll try to give an example.

Let's say I have an access point where most of the clients are 2-5 miles away. There is a potential customer that lives 15-20 miles away. From his location the signal strength is very decent. My concern is that having a client connect at this distance may negatively impact the clients in the 2-5 mile range due to timing issues?

I am right or wrong to assume that?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24259
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Do you limit client distances from access point?

Wed Mar 25, 2009 3:35 pm

Nope, it shouldn't matter at all
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
popcorrin
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 12:55 am

Re: Do you limit client distances from access point?

Wed Mar 25, 2009 4:08 pm

Thank you.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24259
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Do you limit client distances from access point?

Wed Mar 25, 2009 4:11 pm

Just make sure he doesn't disconnect/connect all the time. If he stays connected, it's ok
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
RK
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Winnipeg, Canada and Central America

Re: Do you limit client distances from access point?

Fri Mar 27, 2009 10:41 am

I think my post was a little confusing. Let me try to explain myself better. I'll try to give an example.

Let's say I have an access point where most of the clients are 2-5 miles away. There is a potential customer that lives 15-20 miles away. From his location the signal strength is very decent. My concern is that having a client connect at this distance may negatively impact the clients in the 2-5 mile range due to timing issues?

I am right or wrong to assume that?
There will be an impact, but it's a small one.
It takes longer for the AP to get an ACK from 20 miles away than from 2 miles away.
This is wasted time when it could be serving another client instead.
 
Jrslick22
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 3:25 am

Re: Do you limit client distances from access point?

Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:36 am

you can use the access list to make rules that limit signal strength. ie. users with signal below a certain threshold would not be allowed on your AP.
2009-03-25_1002.png
So this example will allow only clients with less than -80dbi to connect

Regards
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24259
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Do you limit client distances from access point?

Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:19 am

no, unchecked "authenticate" means that they will _not_ connect.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Jrslick22
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 3:25 am

Re: Do you limit client distances from access point?

Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:17 pm

Sorry i was refering to the -120..-80
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24259
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Do you limit client distances from access point?

Fri Apr 24, 2009 9:42 am

those settings work together. you must read it as "if signal is between -120 and -80 (meaning "bad") the AP will not let this device authenticate"
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Jrslick22
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 3:25 am

Re: Do you limit client distances from access point?

Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:01 am

Thanks mate, helps alot.
 
Kingsline
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 3:06 pm

Re: Do you limit client distances from access point?

Tue Apr 28, 2009 12:40 pm

I setup a wireless network with Mikrotik AP with three wireless interface and three sector antennas on the first day of setup its fast when i connect from the wireless but after 2 day and a rain fall it became very slow to connect browsing is slow and the signal strength became weak.. please help me solve this problem.
 
popcorrin
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 12:55 am

Re: Do you limit client distances from access point?

Tue Apr 28, 2009 4:07 pm

I setup a wireless network with Mikrotik AP with three wireless interface and three sector antennas on the first day of setup its fast when i connect from the wireless but after 2 day and a rain fall it became very slow to connect browsing is slow and the signal strength became weak.. please help me solve this problem.
I am in a similar situation and from what I gather it is moisture in your connections or it is a blown card due to electrical storm/lightning.
 
oikorb
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 4:03 pm

Re: Do you limit client distances from access point?

Tue Apr 28, 2009 4:11 pm

Is there any way to do this in 2.9.6? I mean limiting the signal strengths that can be connected?
 
titius
Member
Member
Posts: 338
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 11:43 am
Location: Titel Serbia

Re: Do you limit client distances from access point?

Tue Apr 28, 2009 4:52 pm

:) why using cracked MikroTik?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests