Community discussions

 
Rbj
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 9:19 pm

how select frequency ?

Mon Mar 30, 2009 11:26 pm

hello my dear
this picture of frequency usage !
how we select good channel for my clients ?
note:curve moving increase and reduce (what is the better thing ?

please give me information about pic in down :)

thanx
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24276
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: how select frequency ?

Tue Mar 31, 2009 9:26 am

well .. use 2427MHz and let it be :)
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
jpjust
newbie
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 11:00 pm
Location: Feira de Santana, BA, Brazil
Contact:

Re: how select frequency ?

Tue Mar 31, 2009 5:13 pm

So, channel usage is more important than noise? I've made some tests here and found out that noisy channels with few networks are better than clean channels with lots of networks. Am I right?
Joao Paulo Just
RG3.Net and Justsoft
FCP - Furukawa Certified Professional
Blog - jpjust.blogspot.com
 
User avatar
taglio
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:55 pm
Location: 34T, Barcelona, Spain

Re: how select frequency ?

Tue Mar 31, 2009 5:32 pm

I personal prefer a balance between noise floor and freq usage.
.mhavoc world
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24276
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: how select frequency ?

Wed Apr 01, 2009 9:14 am

It all depends, there is no definitive andwer. Just test and see.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: how select frequency ?

Thu Apr 02, 2009 2:19 pm

noise = some random radio interference on the frequency you are listening on, all unrecognized signal is thrown here
usage = 802.11 frames that can be recognized.

so if you have device that does no understand either of signals - it all will be noise, well, after all, it is noise.
 
User avatar
Aug
Member
Member
Posts: 313
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 2:10 am

Re: how select frequency ?

Thu Apr 02, 2009 5:05 pm

I prefer to use scan.
It give you a better look at whats out there.
Also you can sort by signal strenght, frequency, etc.
Aug
 
angboontiong
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1115
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:59 am

Re: how select frequency ?

Fri Apr 03, 2009 4:49 am

I would suggest..
You should try 1 by 1 channel and see which one can provide more high throughput with good ping latency...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests