Page 1 of 1

Hotspot and repeater

Posted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 7:58 pm
by m4rk0
Hello,

I have RB433 as Hotspot with 1 wireless card, now I want to make repeater with RB Crossroads for that hotspot. Can someone explain me what do I need to setup on RB CRD to make it as repeater?

This is my wireless diagram:

Image

Re: Hotspot and repeater

Posted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 8:02 pm
by taglio
To build a repeater just put the wireless with same frequency and ssid of the 433. Next create a WDS interface with the mac address of the wlan1 of the 433. In the 433 do the same WDS interface with the mac address of the wlan1 of the Crossroad.

Re: Hotspot and repeater

Posted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:01 pm
by m4rk0
To build a repeater just put the wireless with same frequency and ssid of the 433. Next create a WDS interface with the mac address of the wlan1 of the 433. In the 433 do the same WDS interface with the mac address of the wlan1 of the Crossroad.
/interface wireless>

So CRD should be in mode=bridge?
What wds-mode should be?

/interface wireless wds>

And I must change mac address of WDS interface?
Is that wds-address or mac-address?

Is this correct:

RB433:
 0  RD name="wds1" mtu=1500 mac-address=00:0C:42:28:03:AB arp=enabled 
       master-interface=wlan1 wds-address=00:0C:42:14:1B:13 
RB-CRD:
 0  RD name="wds1" mtu=1500 mac-address=00:0C:42:14:1B:13 arp=enabled 
       master-interface=wlan1 wds-address=00:0C:42:28:03:AB 
Thank You in advance!

Re: Hotspot and repeater

Posted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 11:20 am
by taglio
So CRD should be in mode=bridge?
What wds-mode should be?
/interface wireless set wlan1 wds-mode=static wds-default-bridge=none mode=ap-bridge
Next create a bridge and put in ports wlan1,wds1,[ether1???]
is that wds-address or mac-address?
Do this in the Crossroad:
/interface wireless wds add master-interface=wlan1 name=wds1 wds-address=MAC_WLAN1_433
And this in the 433:
 /interface wireless wds add master-interface=wlan1 name=wds1 wds-address=MAC_WLAN1_CROSSROAD
Is this correct:
I don't know the mac address of yours boards.

Re: Hotspot and repeater

Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 9:08 am
by v00d00
So CRD should be in mode=bridge?
What wds-mode should be?
/interface wireless set wlan1 wds-mode=static wds-default-bridge=none mode=ap-bridge
Next create a bridge and put in ports wlan1,wds1,[ether1???]
is that wds-address or mac-address?
Do this in the Crossroad:
/interface wireless wds add master-interface=wlan1 name=wds1 wds-address=MAC_WLAN1_433
And this in the 433:
 /interface wireless wds add master-interface=wlan1 name=wds1 wds-address=MAC_WLAN1_CROSSROAD
Is this correct:
I don't know the mac address of yours boards.

and on what interface the hostpot server should run? on bridge right ?

Re: Hotspot and repeater

Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 9:48 am
by m4rk0
and on what interface the hostpot server should run? on bridge right ?
Your Hotspot running on first CRD wlan1 as I remember...