Community discussions

 
engineertote
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 1:36 pm

can i do 45 Mb full duplex on point to point

Tue May 19, 2009 5:10 pm

Dear All ,,

I need to transfer 45 Mb full duplex on point to point link using RB433AH for distance 20 Km ..

I have 2 RB433AH , 2 R52H and 2 flat penal antenna " 20 dbi and/or 29 dbi " i made a test for shorter distance and lower bandwidth transfer .. its made 20 Mb file transfer speed and the point to point link is configured as Ap-bridge to WDS-STATION " . the questions are :

1- How i can increase the BW that i can carry it on this link to be 45 Mb full duplex ?
2- is the above hardware is ok to transmint and recieve in distance 20 Km for 45 Mb full duplex ?
3- when i made my test ,, the latency between the clinte side to the AP side was bit high its go for 15 and 20 msec when i run the tranfering of the data with speed 20 Mb .. but if its without any load i have smooth latency 1 msec .. how i can keep the latency smooth with the load ?



Thanks
Ahmed
MTCNA , MTCTCE , MTCRE , MTCINE
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1789
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: can i do 45 Mb full duplex on point to point

Tue May 19, 2009 6:04 pm

You never see more than ~65MBit Aggregated using one Card/Antenna per side.
This is what you get under ideal conditions in Lab. So to get 45FDX you need
2 Cards/Antennas per side.

Stefan
 
engineertote
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 1:36 pm

Re: can i do 45 Mb full duplex on point to point

Wed May 20, 2009 9:40 am

Stefan ,,

the max speed i get is 20 Mbit .. how can i reach the 65 Mbit ? is there any specific configuration .

My current coniguration is like this example : http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Transpare ... o_Networks


Thanks

You never see more than ~65MBit Aggregated using one Card/Antenna per side.
This is what you get under ideal conditions in Lab. So to get 45FDX you need
2 Cards/Antennas per side.

Stefan
Ahmed
MTCNA , MTCTCE , MTCRE , MTCINE
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1789
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: can i do 45 Mb full duplex on point to point

Wed May 20, 2009 10:43 am

Stefan ,,

the max speed i get is 20 Mbit .. how can i reach the 65 Mbit ? is there any specific configuration .

My current coniguration is like this example : http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Transpare ... o_Networks


Thanks

You never see more than ~65MBit Aggregated using one Card/Antenna per side.
This is what you get under ideal conditions in Lab. So to get 45FDX you need
2 Cards/Antennas per side.

Stefan
I dont know if it's possible to reach 65MBit at 20km. It's the max to get in Lab.
To maximize througput:
- optimize Signal (short or no Koax/Compartment Antenna, HighGain Antenna, LOS!!)
- Look for interference (Scan using ROS-Scan or use Wispy/Spectrum Analyzer) and avoid it
- use good Card. R52H is ok (R5H is told to be better if you operate in 5GHz)
- use turbo-mode (40MHz Channels). Using only 20MHz Channel your max is ~35MBit.
- use nstreme
- we use routing to avoid unnessary traffic and to keep problems local

Stefan
 
engineertote
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 1:36 pm

Re: can i do 45 Mb full duplex on point to point

Wed May 20, 2009 10:56 am

Stefan ,,

Thanks for your kind advice boss ..

i just have small issue ,, when i make it on turbo mode i lost the connection and i was not able to reconnect again untill i back it to the 5 Ghz with freq. 5805 , is there any specific changes i have to do it when i change to turbo mode ??



Stefan ,,

the max speed i get is 20 Mbit .. how can i reach the 65 Mbit ? is there any specific configuration .

My current coniguration is like this example : http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Transpare ... o_Networks


Thanks

You never see more than ~65MBit Aggregated using one Card/Antenna per side.
This is what you get under ideal conditions in Lab. So to get 45FDX you need
2 Cards/Antennas per side.

Stefan
I dont know if it's possible to reach 65MBit at 20km. It's the max to get in Lab.
To maximize througput:
- optimize Signal (short or no Koax/Compartment Antenna, HighGain Antenna, LOS!!)
- Look for interference (Scan using ROS-Scan or use Wispy/Spectrum Analyzer) and avoid it
- use good Card. R52H is ok (R5H is told to be better if you operate in 5GHz)
- use turbo-mode (40MHz Channels). Using only 20MHz Channel your max is ~35MBit.
- use nstreme
- we use routing to avoid unnessary traffic and to keep problems local

Stefan
Ahmed
MTCNA , MTCTCE , MTCRE , MTCINE
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1962
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: can i do 45 Mb full duplex on point to point

Wed May 20, 2009 2:08 pm

you told us nothing till now
-SNR
-Signal
-CCQ
we will ask the god of rain to help you...
 
tyronzn
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: Durban,South Africa
Contact:

Re: can i do 45 Mb full duplex on point to point

Wed May 20, 2009 4:36 pm

if my opinion means anything,from tests in the past i've found that when doing dual nstreme links,i've noticed that the R52's offer considerably better performance/throughput than the R52H's.I've even tested with other R52H's just in case the others were defected in some way but came to the same conclusion.Perhaps anyone has any feedback on doing dual nstreme with the new R5H's?
 
netrat
Member
Member
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 1:16 pm
Location: Virginia

Re: can i do 45 Mb full duplex on point to point

Wed Jan 27, 2010 3:35 pm

Did you change both the station and the ap to turbo?
 
valypetre
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:15 pm
Location: Oltenita - Romania

Re: can i do 45 Mb full duplex on point to point

Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:52 am

lose the pannels. try directional antennas, California Amplifier like.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests