Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Giovanny
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 10:25 pm

PPPoE over wireless link

Thu Jun 04, 2009 10:45 pm

I have the following escenary:

RB450 (PPPoE Server)-----RB400 (wireless link/ bridge mode)-------RB400 (wireless link/bridge mode)------RB450(PPPoE client)


In the RB450 (PPPoE client) log show dialing,disconected,dialing,disconected.........

The Server PPPoE configuration is Ok and the client is OK too

Please help me
 
popcorrin
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 12:55 am

Re: PPPoE over wireless link

Fri Jun 05, 2009 3:44 am

I believe you need to have wds enabled on your wireless link for this to work.
 
Giovanny
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 10:25 pm

Re: PPPoE over wireless link

Fri Jun 05, 2009 6:23 pm

I have enable WDS in both radios, but PPPoE service don't work
 
dingsingo
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 9:47 pm
Location: Germany

Re: PPPoE over wireless link

Mon Jun 08, 2009 1:54 pm

Hi,

PPPoE ist Layer 2. A WDS oder AP-Cleint is Layer3. Use an EoIP oder VPLS Tunnel from PPPoE-Server-Interface to the AP (RB400). The User Client as Client-Psudobridge, build an Bridge on it. In the Bridge put the Wlan an ether-Interface.


dingsingo
 
User avatar
BrianHiggins
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 600
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:07 am
Location: Norwalk, CT
Contact:

Re: PPPoE over wireless link

Mon Jun 08, 2009 6:44 pm

I believe you need to have wds enabled on your wireless link for this to work.

FALSE

(I have deployed 1000's of clients in this configuration without WDS with flawless results)

change your config to the following:

RB450 (PPPoE Server)-----RB400 (wireless link/ bridge or AP Bridge mode)-------RB400 (station psudobridge mode)------RB450(PPPoE client)

do NOT enable WDS unless you plan to add more than one PPPoE Client device connected to the RB400 Client radio, as it will only add overhead and slow down the link, and add time to a reconnect should it drop the wireless link for any reason.
-Brian

http://www.aditumims.com
Complete web based ISP in-a-box solution, designed specifically for Multi-Tenant properties, works great for WISPs too.
 
User avatar
BrianHiggins
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 600
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:07 am
Location: Norwalk, CT
Contact:

Re: PPPoE over wireless link

Mon Jun 08, 2009 6:51 pm

PPPoE ist Layer 2. A WDS oder AP-Cleint is Layer3.
Also False...

WDS is a Layer 2 transport protocol (essentially ethernet over wireless, where the RF link is layer 1), and PPPoE is a layer 3 protocol to encapsulate layer 4 transport protocols such as TCP and UDP

read up on your OSI models....
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OSI_model
-Brian

http://www.aditumims.com
Complete web based ISP in-a-box solution, designed specifically for Multi-Tenant properties, works great for WISPs too.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gyurielf and 19 guests