Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
giltor
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 2:14 am

Maximum bandwidth

Sun Jun 07, 2009 2:39 am

Hello people,


Equipment:
2 x 23dbi panel antenas
1 x rb111 and r52 ROS3.1
1 x rb133 and r52 ROS3.7
5.8ghz
5km Point to Point Link


I made a wds link between the equipment there is no routing going on only bridge mode, I also followed this howto http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Bridge_Tr ... usando_WDS , giving that the configuration is the same as in the howto, the noise is almost none and there is perfect LOS. What is the maximum bandwidth you guys achieve in a similiar environment ?

I am achieving 15mb, that means about 10mb download about 5mb upload.


Is it possible to achieve more than the bandwidth Im doing ( I really need more.), is there a better configuration??

Many thanks in advance.
 
0ldman
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1446
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:01 am

Re: Maximum bandwidth

Sun Jun 07, 2009 9:19 am

I can't say for the rb111, but the 133 has always been slow for me.

I'd swap both of those for a 411. I've gotten over 50Mb throughput in turbo with two 411's and r52's.
 
giltor
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 2:14 am

Re: Maximum bandwidth

Sun Jun 07, 2009 8:22 pm

Thanks for the reply, but are you getting 50mb using the configuration I'm using (wds) ?? or a different configuration ??


Thanks.
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: Maximum bandwidth

Sun Jun 07, 2009 10:45 pm

nstreme, disable csma, turbo.
 
0ldman
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1446
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:01 am

Re: Maximum bandwidth

Sun Jun 07, 2009 11:58 pm

I used WDS bridge, no Nstreme, straight 802.11a turbo.
 
giltor
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 2:14 am

Re: Maximum bandwidth

Mon Jun 08, 2009 1:59 am

ok guys thanks for the info, I'll be testing it out tomorow but I have a question, should I disable csma in both of them and enable nstreme and polling on both or just the AP-bridge ??
 
0ldman
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1446
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:01 am

Re: Maximum bandwidth

Mon Jun 08, 2009 4:36 am

I've found that Nstreme and disabled CSMA helps on some links, not on others.

You set Nstreme on both sides. The AP controls the polling and disable CSMA options.
 
Cetalfio
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 224
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 6:19 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Maximum bandwidth

Sat Jun 13, 2009 1:55 pm

I've verified that if I enable Polling and CSMA on the wireless interface and the TX Power parameter set to default values, in the Registration Table the Signal Strength increases while the Tx / Rx Rate is worse, however if I set the parameter TX Power such as All Fixed Rate on 30 and disabling CSAM, it changes the value Signal Strength that it's worse but increases the Tx / Rx Rate.

Is it better to have a better value of the Signal Strength value or a better Tx / Rx Rate?

Cetalfio
 
0ldman
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1446
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:01 am

Re: Maximum bandwidth

Wed Jun 17, 2009 3:21 pm

First, what card are you using that is taking 30dBm tx power?

Second, what are the actual signal levels/connection speeds we're talking?

Generally, 5GHz links, you want to get the CCQ up as close to 100% as possible. CCQ (don't remember what it stands for) is essentially telling you how often the radios are getting the right info on the first try. 80% CCQ means you're having to resend about 20% of the data again. CCQ is showing the connection quality, however, just for reference, it is not as big of an issue on B mode, just works differently than G or A.

Just an example, if you get a 54mb link at -74 with 90% or better CCQ, getting the signal to the -60s won't make a noticeable improvement. If CCQ is around 50%, you can set the data rates to only connect at 36 or 48, often boosts CCQ up to 100%, bandwidth and ping would be much more stable, generally faster, than at 54mb with lower CCQ.
 
popcorrin
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 12:55 am

Re: Maximum bandwidth

Wed Jun 17, 2009 11:53 pm

I believe ccq stands for client connection quality.
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: Maximum bandwidth

Thu Jun 18, 2009 1:30 am

I've found that Nstreme and disabled CSMA helps on some links, not on others.
nstreme and disable csma
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: hakan0725 and 19 guests