Page 1 of 1

Lowest Possible Tx-Power R5H

Posted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 11:52 am
by doush
Is there a value not to exceed decreasing the Tx Power ?

For mine, even when I set it to 0 , I can establish links. Any limit that can damage the card ?

Re: Lowest Possible Tx-Power R5H

Posted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 11:57 am
by doush
anyone please ?

Re: Lowest Possible Tx-Power R5H

Posted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 11:10 pm
by aaa
I not understand your idea, why you need decrease output power? What you doing with 0dBm or 1dBm output power?

Re: Lowest Possible Tx-Power R5H

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 1:06 am
by doush
I have oversaturation of signals like -30 -40 or -50. I want to stabilize the links at -65 to get the max throughput thats why I have to decrease the txpower. (Changing the antennas is not an option in my case)

Re: Lowest Possible Tx-Power R5H

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 7:49 am
by 0ldman
I can't see where lowering the tx can damage the card. Eventually, you'll just get to the point where it doesn't transmit.

I don't know if the R5H has an external amp or not, I imagine so, so eventually, I think the amp is just going to quit boosting signal. As in, you turn it down 1dB more and you lose signal entirely (rx -65, down 1dB, nothing).

Just a moderately educated guess tho... I don't know if you can even put negative numbers in the tx power tho.

Re: Lowest Possible Tx-Power R5H

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 5:42 pm
by Nuke
0dbm is 1mW so it will still connect, try setting it to something in the minus range eg. -10dbm is 0.1mW

Re: Lowest Possible Tx-Power R5H

Posted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 12:42 am
by doush
thanks nuke. it helped a lot.