Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
mikrotikgrrl
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 9:59 pm
Location: Oklahoma

Multiple Mikrotik's responding as one hotspot

Tue Jul 14, 2009 4:23 pm

Hello :)

I have been reading about WDS and how to extend the coverage area of a wireless hotspot. I have successfully setup a hotspot and it has been running without fail for a couple of months now. I am looking to setup another in an area that will require more than one mikrotik to get the best coverage. I plan to use POE, so each one will be hardwired. Is there a way to do something similar to what is described here (http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Wireless_repeater) via the LAN? I was thinking that since the network connection is going to be there anyway to take advantage of it, but I would like all of the mikrotik's in the area to respond as one hotspot and not separate.

Thanx in advance for any suggestions - I'm not allergic to reading, just need a direction :)

Darci
 
User avatar
Ibersystems
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1685
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Cabrils, Barcelona - Spain
Contact:

Re: Multiple Mikrotik's responding as one hotspot

Tue Jul 14, 2009 5:33 pm

Easy. Put the hotspot in a 450, or 493. Put the hotspot in a bridge with 3, 4 or 5 ethernets in and connect the APs there with POE... The 4xx will validate all costumers going across the APs...

The bridge has to be (example) 10.5.50.1 and the APs 10.5.50.x. You have to put IP and MAC of the APs in IPbindings hotspot.


Good luck!
Martín Ruiz
martinruiz at ibersystems.es
Experto en redes WiFi y enlaces WiFi.

Facebook: @Ibersystems
Twitter: @Ibersystems

Certified in:
MTCNA - MTCTCE - MTCWE - MTCINE - MTCUME - MTCRE - MTCSE
 
User avatar
mikrotikgrrl
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 9:59 pm
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Multiple Mikrotik's responding as one hotspot

Tue Jul 14, 2009 5:39 pm

Thanx for the direction - I'm obviously new to all of this, but I get to go to MUM :) I'm a programmer that is wading through learning routing......I'm waiting for a PO before I can order my stuffs, but I hope to be knee deep in equipment and fun soon!

Darci
 
User avatar
Ibersystems
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1685
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Cabrils, Barcelona - Spain
Contact:

Re: Multiple Mikrotik's responding as one hotspot

Tue Jul 14, 2009 6:13 pm

You are welcome!
Martín Ruiz
martinruiz at ibersystems.es
Experto en redes WiFi y enlaces WiFi.

Facebook: @Ibersystems
Twitter: @Ibersystems

Certified in:
MTCNA - MTCTCE - MTCWE - MTCINE - MTCUME - MTCRE - MTCSE
 
User avatar
mikrotikgrrl
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 9:59 pm
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Multiple Mikrotik's responding as one hotspot

Mon Aug 17, 2009 10:54 pm

Well, I've finally got all of my boxes built, and have tried this. I think I'm missing something, everything works great until a client tries to connect- and it's not able to pass DHCP along each AP. I tried a DHCP relay on the AP's without any luck (unless I didn't do that right either) - any suggestions?

If there is any info I can provide, I'd be more than happy!

Darci
 
User avatar
mikrotikgrrl
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 9:59 pm
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Multiple Mikrotik's responding as one hotspot

Thu Aug 20, 2009 12:35 am

I figured it out - I was over-thinking the problem ;)

Darci

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: heidarren and 26 guests