Community discussions

 
wireless12
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 295
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 10:49 am

a humble request!!!!!

Wed Aug 19, 2009 4:17 pm

hii..

it would be great if mikrotik add a feautre where its shows airial distance between two mikrotik units in a point to point wireless link.

and also if it possible the distance of all CPE connected to a mikrotik AP-bridge.

thxxx..
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24278
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: a humble request!!!!!

Thu Aug 20, 2009 8:56 am

how would it know this distance :shock: ?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
RK
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Winnipeg, Canada and Central America

Re: a humble request!!!!!

Thu Aug 20, 2009 4:23 pm

how would it know this distance :shock: ?
Based on the dynamic ack timeout that it already calculates!
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24278
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: a humble request!!!!!

Thu Aug 20, 2009 4:25 pm

bad links will be very very wrong based on ACK, and even good links will be not precise. what's the use of such imprecise information?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
valypetre
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:15 pm
Location: Oltenita - Romania

Re: a humble request!!!!!

Thu Aug 20, 2009 4:38 pm

alvarion has this feature. and it's very precise. I believe it tests the latency with different ack settings, chooses the best one and evaluates the distance. just a guess.
 
wireless12
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 295
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 10:49 am

Re: a humble request!!!!!

Thu Aug 20, 2009 4:40 pm

hii..

i think radwin and motorla also got this feautre..


regards..
 
User avatar
m4rk0
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:30 pm
Location: BA

Re: a humble request!!!!!

Thu Aug 20, 2009 4:49 pm

alvarion has this feature. and it's very precise. I believe it tests the latency with different ack settings, chooses the best one and evaluates the distance. just a guess.
I can also confirm for Alvarion. And it's pretty precise...
http://www.mreza-wisp.ba/
Please, give Karma if I fix your problem
Certified MTCNA
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3426
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: a humble request!!!!!

Thu Aug 20, 2009 4:56 pm

I think they are not using 802.11 standard but some proprietary standard and with that maybe they can get more precise results.
 
Muqatil
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:03 pm
Location: London - UK
Contact:

Re: a humble request!!!!!

Thu Aug 20, 2009 5:45 pm

i second this request.
Renato Bernardi

skype: medtech5
 
User avatar
samir494
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 236
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 11:27 am
Location: India

Re: a humble request!!!!!

Wed Sep 02, 2009 2:10 pm

can anyone explain the case, calculation of ack setting and distance
Mistry Samir
Unique and Different
India
9920670022

Give me more Karma
 
User avatar
jp
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 5:06 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: a humble request!!!!!

Fri Sep 04, 2009 4:34 am

Why do you want it to show the distance? So you don't have to draw a line between two points in google earth to see a distance?

Alvarion's implementation is very accurate. UBNT and trango are less accurate.

If MT used it, I'd want them to do more than just display it.
 
vik1988
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 235
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 2:18 pm
Location: India

Re: a humble request!!!!!

Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:35 am

MT Added this feature in ROS 5+ by enabling NV2.
 
0ldman
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1446
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:01 am

Re: a humble request!!!!!

Thu Aug 25, 2011 4:22 pm

This thread is nearly two years old.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 17 guests