Community discussions

 
User avatar
dunga
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 254
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 9:51 am
Location: Nigeria

MIKROTIK RADIO (RB 532) FOR WIRELESS AND HOTSPOT

Wed Sep 02, 2009 2:23 pm

hello,
I have a routerboard that i want to use to run as acess point and hotspot, the routerboard is RB532. I have chkeed in it there is not user manager installed and this is what i want to achieve using the radio.

1. I want to use it as AP, so that people that sees it will connect thru hotspot
2. Hotspot for authentications
3. Transparent web proxy
4. user manager so that somoen can use the user manager to create time and credit for users.

all these to be achieved in the same box.

thanks
 
User avatar
skillful
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 557
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Abuja, Nigeria
Contact:

Re: MIKROTIK RADIO (RB 532) FOR WIRELESS AND HOTSPOT

Wed Sep 02, 2009 7:36 pm

All your desires can be achieved on RB532 but you will require an external proxy server for cache as there is not enough memory on the RB532 for web cache.
 
User avatar
dunga
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 254
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 9:51 am
Location: Nigeria

Re: MIKROTIK RADIO (RB 532) FOR WIRELESS AND HOTSPOT

Wed Sep 02, 2009 10:44 pm

Skillful,
How can i achieve that at least 3 of the above steps, as for usermanager, the package is not installed in the board.

How do i go about it, i need detailed step by step of acheiving such.

Thanks
 
User avatar
skillful
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 557
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Abuja, Nigeria
Contact:

Re: MIKROTIK RADIO (RB 532) FOR WIRELESS AND HOTSPOT

Thu Sep 03, 2009 12:04 am

Download the latest appropriate version of ROS from the mikrotik site. The "All Packages" contains user manager as well. If your license is too old, use net-install to upgrade the Router.

As for detail steps, search the wiki, every information you need is there.
 
User avatar
dunga
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 254
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 9:51 am
Location: Nigeria

Re: MIKROTIK RADIO (RB 532) FOR WIRELESS AND HOTSPOT

Tue Sep 15, 2009 10:43 am

i have done that, trying to upgrade the routerboard, but when i go to log, it displays routerboard cannot be upgraded. I want to ask, does it mean that routerboard, without daughterboard cannot be upgraded?

I am in need to upgrade this radio, because i am at the risk of refunding for the cost if i dont give them what they want. i dont want to allow them access the radio with winbox, cus that the only way users can be created in that board.

i need your help.
 
User avatar
skillful
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 557
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Abuja, Nigeria
Contact:

Re: MIKROTIK RADIO (RB 532) FOR WIRELESS AND HOTSPOT

Tue Sep 15, 2009 2:19 pm

Use netinstall to upgrade the Router Board.
 
User avatar
dunga
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 254
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 9:51 am
Location: Nigeria

Re: MIKROTIK RADIO (RB 532) FOR WIRELESS AND HOTSPOT

Tue Sep 15, 2009 9:44 pm

Will try that as soon as i am thru with some issues when i come back from site.

Just take a look at this picture and advice me. i have this radio, whihc i want to use as an access point, but when i change it to Ap+Bridge, it shows license do es not support ap+bridge mode. i have upgraded the router boarrd hoping it will solve the problem yet it did not solve it. Will leaving it in bridge mode as the picture make it as access point so that clients can connect to it.
rb411 picture.jpg
Thanks hoping to get your help.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
eneimi
Member
Member
Posts: 388
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 12:55 pm

Re: MIKROTIK RADIO (RB 532) FOR WIRELESS AND HOTSPOT

Tue Sep 15, 2009 11:44 pm

A level 3 license, like you have in that RB411 can work as a wireless client, but not AP. Even if you upgrade routeros on it to v4.x you still have a level 3 license.
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/License_levels

Leaving the radio in bridge mode will allow only 1 client associate with it.
http://www.mikrotik.com/testdocs/ros/3. ... reless.php

I would stick with the RB532 you mentioned earlier.
 
User avatar
dunga
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 254
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 9:51 am
Location: Nigeria

Re: MIKROTIK RADIO (RB 532) FOR WIRELESS AND HOTSPOT

Wed Sep 16, 2009 10:58 am

Thanks for your advice.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests