Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
Belyivulk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Contact:

UBNT detecting as Mikrotik

Fri Dec 04, 2009 9:39 am

Hey all,

We have recently come across a recently issue - we scan for 2.4Ghz networks and find a 'Mikrotik' device with the radio name of 'UBNT' - but its not actually Mikrotik.

Does anyone know why this is?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24422
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: UBNT detecting as Mikrotik

Fri Dec 04, 2009 9:41 am

can you make a screenshot please? there was a recent discussion about something similar in SNMP walks ...
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24422
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: UBNT detecting as Mikrotik

Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:37 am

you should contact ubiquity and complain about this, it's confusing the users.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Belyivulk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: UBNT detecting as Mikrotik

Sun Dec 06, 2009 12:03 am

Will do on Monday :)
 
Inssomniak
Member
Member
Posts: 326
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 11:21 pm

Re: UBNT detecting as Mikrotik

Sun Dec 06, 2009 3:44 am

Will do on Monday :)

Ubiquiti products have always detected as a mikrotik for as long as I have been using them

RouterOS 3.2 to be exact.
 
User avatar
Belyivulk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: UBNT detecting as Mikrotik

Sun Dec 06, 2009 4:40 am

That sounds about right :) i see ROS 3.2 and radio name UBNT

Why is this? very strange really - would have thought the Mikrotik protocol would have been ... locked down.
 
Inssomniak
Member
Member
Posts: 326
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 11:21 pm

Re: UBNT detecting as Mikrotik

Sun Dec 06, 2009 4:42 am

That sounds about right :) i see ROS 3.2 and radio name UBNT

Why is this? very strange really - would have thought the Mikrotik protocol would have been ... locked down.

I think its simply the "extra data reporting" capability of atheros devices.
 
User avatar
Belyivulk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: UBNT detecting as Mikrotik

Sun Dec 06, 2009 4:51 am

Ah

Is AirOS upto 3.2?
 
User avatar
Belyivulk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: UBNT detecting as Mikrotik

Sun Dec 06, 2009 4:54 am

nvm, looked it up myself :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 48 guests