Page 1 of 1

mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:51 pm
by vlada1
Im just put 4.4 on Base stations , and all test on link got very bad ,
rates drops on 6Mbps , ccq is worse than ever
nstreme dont works , links with nstreme disc .

great work mt team.

Re: mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 4:06 pm
by uldis
from what version you upgraded?

Re: mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 4:08 pm
by vlada1
from 3.30

Re: mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 4:11 pm
by uldis
increase the hw-retries setting on the wireless interface.
Have you tried v3.30 with wireless-test package installed?

Re: mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 4:12 pm
by vlada1
sry uldis but i dont like test packages .

i just back all to v3.30 and all works perfectly .

bandwidth-test with 4.4 was 800Kbps/1.5 Mbps on link and now when i return to 3.30 it is 15Mbps/20Mbps ( up /down )

Re: mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 4:15 pm
by normis
vlada, v3.30-test is EXACTLY the same as v4 regular package ;)

Re: mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 4:18 pm
by vlada1
sry normis , but cant play with links
i didnt change frequncy , i didnt change anything , just upload 4.4 , and reboot , and at first login to mikrotik with ssh
i noticed that i have big latency when typing
then i started tests ....

Re: mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 5:24 pm
by infowest
Were there any wireless changes in 4.4? I have some test links with r52n's I can try.

Re: mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 10:25 pm
by professor
I'm running r52n link 18km. x86 with r52n 27dbi grid on one end and rb600 r52n 23dbi grid on the other end single chains. Link seems to be very stable with 4.4. Don’t know if there was any changes to N but I’m happy with the link. 60mb single duplex and 32mb full duplex udp. 50mb single duplex and 22mb full duplex tcp. rx/tx -72. Admittedly I could get better throughput with a stronger grid on the other end but link not running too bad I think.

Re: mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 1:58 am
by astounding
I'm running 4.4 on a RB411 as a wireless client, and 3.28 on an RB411 on the other side as wireless AP. So far, so good on this link. Tonight I'm going to try 4.4 on the AP side.

Oh, radio cards are AR5413-based R5Hs on both sides.

Aaron out.

Re: mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 8:34 am
by CarulloS
Normis,


vlada or whoever that was said they did not use 3.30-test just 3.30. I have heard this dozens of times from many different people in many different areas. Some good things happened from 3.30 to 3.30 wireless test as far as nstream goes with polling I know but I think some bad things happened as well.

We need someone with a link these MT guys can log into and test both versions to see this happen themselves so this can get resolved. Frankly I'm surprised it hasn't been addressed yet and resolved as large of a problem as it is. I also don't blame MT for this if they can't get access to a link with a problem so they can figure out whats up. MT not magic - if you can't see the problem you can't fix it. Someone help them see it please :)

Scott

Re: mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 10:49 am
by vlada1
im agreed , but mt need to be more serious.

i can give access to mt on network to they see whats happening.
if u want normis , contact me.

Re: mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Fri Dec 25, 2009 5:08 am
by Belyivulk
We have noticed issues with 3.30 & test with CM9 cards - we frequently get disconnections with the message 'not polled for too long' - if we go back to normal wireless package on the client, the issue stops, but we can keep running wireless-test on the AP.

Wierd huh!

Re: mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 2:00 am
by nickb
I upgraded a v3.30 (not using wireless-test) to v4.4 and had many problems with high packet loss on non-MT stations:
	MAC	        Packet loss @ 1200 bytes / 50 packets	sig
CB3	32:DF:17	76%	                                               -81
CB3	32:DF:1A	42%	                                               -71
CB3	34:68:05	52%	                                               -78
CB3	35:A6:46	72%	                                               -70
CB3	36:BB:BF	72%	                                               -73
CB3	36:BF:D0	74%	                                               -72
CB3	3B:EB:FF	20%	                                               -64
CB3	3E:98:3A	66%	                                               -58
CB3	41:53:B0	72%	                                               -71
CB3	41:F1:BB	68%	                                               -74
CB3	45:B9:EC	100%                                               	-87
CB3	46:12:07	33%	                                               -60
CB3	48:0F:2A	47%	                                               -59
CB3	49:CB:BD	57%	                                               -63
CB3	49:CE:72	76%	                                               -70
MT    52:E5:FB	0%	                                               -55
MT    39:E1:F3	3%	                                               -86
* during all tests traffic on the interface was virtually non-existent (peaks of 40kbps perhaps)
* test was a simple 1200 byte ping for 50 packets then taking the stats at the bottom of the ping window

After switching back to v3.30, all packet loss measurements went to 0-1% and complaint phone calls dried up.

I think it is very interesting to note that this problem only effected non-MT client stations!

Re: mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 2:55 am
by tgrand
Try this:

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Fix_Broke ... an_Upgrade

If it is an AP you have upgraded then do it through ssh instead of a script.

Re: mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 8:29 pm
by nickb
Nice script. I didn't think to actually reset the settings on the interface - I'm pretty sure I twiddled every setting but that!

Re: mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 8:41 pm
by Muqatil
Does it work?
I'm pretty sure i had issues even with a fresh new 4.4 board (without conf)..

Re: mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 2:51 pm
by tgrand
I do not recall EVER receiving a board with 4.4 preinstalled.
This script has worked for me on many radios.

If anybody tries this please post your results.

Re: mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 6:28 pm
by Muqatil
I meant i upgraded to 4.4 before applying any config...
I am bit scared of testing it sorry..

Re: mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:22 pm
by staslabs
After upgrade from 4.3 to 4.4, I obligged downgrade to 4.3 cause "n" nstreme link on 4.4 was terrible. Now on 4.3 10km link with 55cm dishes work well and stable. RB433AH + R52N

Re: mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 10:32 pm
by Muqatil
tgrand's fix looks good on my testing AP with 4.4 :shock:

Re: mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:40 pm
by tgrand
Wouldn't have added it to the wiki if it didn't. :D

Re: mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 9:44 am
by normis
just make sure that after tgrands reset, you re-apply the HWRETRIES setting, ie. increase the number to 7-10

Re: mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:15 am
by Muqatil
I'm fine with 4 HW-RETRIES, i was using wireless-test since the first release and i loved it. I had some issues with 4.x and 802.11a but looks fine after a reset-configuration
Increasing HW-RETRIES increases the latency in the whole sector, and some of our customers are online gamers..
I increased to 10 the HW-RETRIES some time ago, i got 2 calls after 3 hours about latency.. :lol:

Re: mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 8:35 pm
by ldvaden
just make sure that after tgrands reset, you re-apply the HWRETRIES setting, ie. increase the number to 7-10
Thanks, Normis. That may be some of the best advice I've ever read in this forum. Time will tell.

Re: mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Sun Jan 24, 2010 9:15 pm
by Muqatil
why ROS 4.x would need more HW-retries than 3.30 test?

Re: mikrotik v4.4 wireless is worse than ever

Posted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 8:43 am
by normis
why ROS 4.x would need more HW-retries than 3.30 test?
because: http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... =1#p190531

I will lock this thread because it seems that there is the same discussion going on.