Page 1 of 1

Planning for a 5.8 Ghz Pt-MTP sloutions.

Posted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 7:38 pm
by wireless12
hii all..
while 2.4 Ghz is getting crowded day by day, its very difficult to mange wireless ISP, scanning shows 100's of networks..result is poor services to the coustomers.
so i hav decided to use 5.8 Ghz to deliver internet to my main & certain big coustomers.
But i m confused in planning it. though i m running a 2.4 Ghz wireless ISP for 4-5 years.

i hav decided to 4 5.8 GHz secotrs 90 degree for 360 deg coverage.

i will use 411AH with XR5 with each sector.
i will use 411 wityh R52 at client side.
clients are as near as 500 mtrs and as far as 10 km frm my MAST.

how shd i configure RB411AH which is hanged with each sector intially i will allow 20 users per sector.
how shd i configure client Side. for optimal results

shd i use Nstream in my network, how to configure my AP and my client CPE to fit in Nstream
till now i use to configure my side as simple AP-bridge and i just hang a very low cost CPE and configure it as client mode to connect to my AP-Bridge.(2.4 GHz band)

plz suggest me how to bulit a smooth and a powerful 5.8 Ghz which ROS version i shd use for Nstream bec there hav been a lot of discussion of poor performance of Nstream in ROS 4xx .

Thx..

Re: Planning for a 5.8 Ghz Pt-MTP sloutions.

Posted: Sat Jun 05, 2010 5:58 am
by wireless12
humm...really a tough question, its hard to suggest right????

Re: Planning for a 5.8 Ghz Pt-MTP sloutions.

Posted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 4:09 am
by wireless12
still waiting for response

Re: Planning for a 5.8 Ghz Pt-MTP sloutions.

Posted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 1:59 pm
by wisperer
I use only 5.8 for customers: I am in urban setting. Have a few on 2.4 but its too crowded.

I use XR5 on 411 as ap with normal settings and clients are mostly Ubnt, some 411's set as client or wds and all is fine. No Nstreme

I would use Mikrotik clients everywhere for the functionality but its hard to beat the price of a Nanostation5 and they work, and work and...

Re: Planning for a 5.8 Ghz Pt-MTP sloutions.

Posted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 5:30 pm
by wireless12
thx for reply.

i cant go for ubiquity products, they are not easily available in my country and if some how i got them then they got issue of warranty cover.

so i like to go wid mikrotik.

Re: Planning for a 5.8 Ghz Pt-MTP sloutions.

Posted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 7:22 pm
by wireless12
hello...

why all genius are silent over this question. does a point to mulit point solution dont work good in 5.7-5.8 GHz? why exprets and veteran mikrotik users. are not giving suggestion.. plz help..
@ normis,ste, aaa,colebert,desert admin,media net,chupaka,MRZ,jainisk,tom...,changeip...i m screaming out for ur help.

Thx..

Re: Planning for a 5.8 Ghz Pt-MTP sloutions.

Posted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:38 pm
by sergejs
I do not see any problems to use the same configuration, as you were using at 2.4GHz (if devices were all MikroTik).
Use regular ap-bridge <--> station network for the wireless and use routing for each sector. If you are afraid about using Nstreme, run tests with Nstreme on one of the sectors and compare to the sector without Nstreme. Do not forget to enable polling for Nstreme.

Re: Planning for a 5.8 Ghz Pt-MTP sloutions.

Posted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:13 pm
by G-lox
Hi,

I've got around 200 individual clients on a 5.8Ghz only WISP spread over 12 or so highsites. I'm using all mikrotik. Highsites are RB433 on lower density sites with RB52H for sector coverage. highsite sectors are bridged and act as a pppoe server, radius does the auth from a central location, clients are rb112 (yes we've been around awhile) up to RB411's acting as customer router with ppoe, dhcp and nat on the customer side. So far no major problems over the years. We have provisioned VOIP over the network and it works well on around 50 clients so far. If you are serious about network design i'll share mine off board.

Re: Planning for a 5.8 Ghz Pt-MTP sloutions.

Posted: Sat Oct 02, 2010 9:00 am
by RobertCooperBell
G-lox,

I need to re-design my existing network (Legacy and inherited), I have been asked to do exactly what you are doing. Please assist with information. I need the following...

Client RB config, Highsite RB config and Backbone RB config. Can you send me the backup, with standard username and password