Page 1 of 1

GPS Garmin Issues RB433 v 5.0

Posted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 4:52 pm
by brof
Hi Guys,
Hardware RB433 running 5.0beta4.......
My main issue is I am unable to get any traffic from the garmin GPS 16x. The GPS is set to NMEA 2.30
My serial port is enabled...baud set to 4800...when i try /system gps enable it errors out with "device is busy, check port" ????????? what have i missed ???

[admin@Oaky_Scada] /port> ..
[admin@Oaky_Scada] > system gps monitor
date-and-time: nov/30/1999 00:00:00
longitude: "none"
latitude: "none"
altitude: "none"
speed: "none"
valid: no
satellites: 0

[admin@Oaky_Scada] >


[admin@Oaky_Scada] /system gps> print
enabled: no
port: serial1
channel: 1
set-system-time: no
[admin@Oaky_Scada] /system gps> set enabled=yes
device is busy, check /port
[admin@Oaky_Scada] /system gps> set enabled=yes
device is busy, check /port
[admin@Oaky_Scada] /system gps>

Any ideas guys,,,thanks

Re: GPS Garmin Issues RB433 v 5.0

Posted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 4:54 pm
by uldis
what do you see in the 'port print' output?

Re: GPS Garmin Issues RB433 v 5.0

Posted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 4:56 pm
by brof
Port print

Flags: I - inactive
# NAME CHANNELS USED-BY BAUD-RATE
0 serial1 1 Serial Console 4800
[admin@Oaky_Scada] /port>

Re: GPS Garmin Issues RB433 v 5.0

Posted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 5:03 pm
by uldis
if the gps is connected to the serial port then you need to disable the console which is running on the serial port.
Go into the 'system console' and disable it.

Re: GPS Garmin Issues RB433 v 5.0

Posted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 5:19 pm
by brof
[admin@Oaky_Scada] > system
[admin@Oaky_Scada] /system> console
[admin@Oaky_Scada] /system console> print
Flags: X - disabled, U - used, F - free
# PORT TERM
0 X serial1 vt102
---------------------------------------------
[admin@Oaky_Scada] /system console> /
[admin@Oaky_Scada] > port
[admin@Oaky_Scada] /port> print
Flags: I - inactive
# NAME CHANNELS USED-BY BAUD-RATE
0 serial1 1 4800
---------------------------------------------

[admin@Oaky_Scada] /port> /system gps print
enabled: no
port: serial1
channel: 1
set-system-time: no
[admin@Oaky_Scada] /port> /system gps set enabled=yes
device is busy, check /port
[admin@Oaky_Scada] /port>

Still no Joy, not ready to give up just yet,,,i will head off to bed and check back tomorrow,,,,thanks mate...

Re: GPS Garmin Issues RB433 v 5.0

Posted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 5:21 pm
by uldis
make the support output file and send it to support@mikrotik.com

Re: GPS Garmin Issues RB433 v 5.0

Posted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 1:03 am
by brof
A new day and a fresh start and its working, I reset router and disabled the console first.
Does this mean I am unable to use winbox now ??
Thanks for you help

Re: GPS Garmin Issues RB433 v 5.0

Posted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 4:48 am
by brof
Ok next step, if anyone can help i would most grateful.
I would like to setup a script where the router can email each day with the current Lat/Long from the GPS ....
Anyone know where a script is for this or something similar???
Thanks